Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Nissan Quest

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 113 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Great car for family.

By on Monday, December 14, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this vehicle brand new in 1999. No problems at all with the van; regular oil change and maintained the van. kids enjoyed the video player when they were younger. Comfortable ride and very good handling. Excellent gas consumption."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Owned

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Until this vehicle hit 150k miles, I never spent a nickle on it other than routine maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good and Bad

By on Saturday, November 22, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We've had our 2000 Quest since 2003. For the most part it's been a reliable van but lately it has been expensive to upkeep. With only 111,000 miles, it has developed a rash of electronic problems. First an oxygen sensor replacement, then immediately afterward another oxygen sensor (both @ $275 to repair) and now a "knock sensor" @ $600 - $700 repair. Maybe this is just a fluke...other than that, have no complaints. Been very dependable and uses no oil!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Bang for the Buck

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"After owning this minivan for 6 1/2 years, it has been a very reliable and comfortable vehicle to drive on long trips. It has also provided great service when having to carry bulky items and transporting 7 people. When I purchased this vehicle it was the right choice and no regrets."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Van

By on Friday, July 11, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"1999 Nissan Quest -Trans died at just under 180,000. Purchased it with 69,000. We figure it did not owe us anything, but still wish it would have lasted another 100,000 miles. Wife drove it to go fishing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Value vehicle

By on Monday, May 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have had a Quest since it was new in 2000. Its very comfortable, reasonably quiet, handles well, returns good mileage on the highway. Rear A/C connections aren't great, both corroded creating a very expensive fix. Middle tip out windows don't seat tightly so they make some noise at cruising speed."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent car

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Dependable, good cargo space, great a/c"

Cons: "Poor gas milage, terrible acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this van new with all options. It seems like Nissan uses cheap parts for interior. It has always rattled a lot. The gas mileage is terrible and we did replace the transmission at approx 100k miles a d recently the engine mounts broke but no other major repairs so far."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Happy

By on Sunday, January 09, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I brought my van in Alaska...it has endured the toughest of winters and never let me down. I have drove it across country several times and its great on gas...I have been very satisfied with it so much that I recently purchase another Nissan vehicle. I'm looking to sell my Quest now because two cars isn't necessary right now...but I will truly miss her."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have my Nissan Quest since 2005. It's mileage is more than 110,000 and... never had any problem. This is a great car. It's totally reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

3rd Quest

By on Wednesday, July 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We put over 300,000 miles on our first Nissan Quest then gave it to a young couple who had outgrown their car - they put many more miles on it. Current van has 139,000 miles on it and is still in fabulous condition. We've had terrific luck with these vans!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good value

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Owned a number of Nissans. 140k on this one with out ever stopping. Sure got my money's worth."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

KID MOBILE

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is excellent if you have kids the quad seating keeps the kids far enough away from each other it keeps them from fighting it has plenty of room for all there gear. I would recommend it to anyone with a family. Also we have gymnastics 2 nights a week dance 3 days a week, girlscouts and tutoring it is always on the go. It is good on gas and has never left us stranded."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Solid Vehicle

By on Monday, November 10, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Has been a good van. Wished it had fold under seats, the seat removal is heavy and awkward. Could never see the average 120lb soccer mom switching this out. All and all a good vehicle with ample power. Gas mileage at its age of 7.5 years old and 111,000 miles could be better, getting about 18 miles to the gallon, even mostly commuting on highway daily. Have never had any major problems with any of our 4 Nissans in the past. Alloy wheels are nice too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Monday, November 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had the Quest for 8 years now. It has been a very reliable vehicle. I have had only a few minor repairs needed. Thank you Nissan for a great vehicle. I will buy a Nissan again due to the performance of this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FAMILY FRIENDLY

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Our family loves this van. We were in an accident & it held up great & kept us all safe. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"nice van bad gas milage my town and country got better milage. i have 50k on it windows rattles but the van runs good and the inside looks great"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Value Minivan

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this vehicle brand new and it now has 120,000 miles and has been an excellent vehicle. It still looks good and runs excellent. I have several comments when I have a rider as to how nice the van is. It still drives like new. Only problems I have had is the electric windows (both have been fixed) and the timing belt broke at 112,000 miles. It was replaced along with water pump for less than 800.00 and is back running like new. My next vehicle will be a Nissan."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Purchase

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "driving, comfort, reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought car new in Feb. of 2002. Has had zero mechanical problems, other than replacing worn out parts (front and rear brakes - rear not until 136000 miles). Drives great for a van. Put together tightly, no gaps and rattles. MPG not so great - about 22 on highway and 17 in city."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very reliable... bought the van used in 2008.

By on Sunday, March 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "7 passenger"

Cons: "Exterior was not designed properly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the Van in 2008 from a used lot, with 106,000 miles. No major work was ever needed, change every 3,000 and brakes when needed. All repairs done by me. The only down fall to this van, it is not stylish enough. "If you have a treat it right it will love you back""

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice ride, drives like a car

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive definately!"

Cons: "I can't think of anything I don't like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this van, the look is different and it drives like a car. It's comfortable, has lots of room and the kids love it. It has two sliding doors one on each side which makes it very easy for kids to get in and out. I never wanted a minivan because of the soccer mom look but this van looks more like a wagon van mix and I absolutely love it, mine has over 150,000 miles on it but drives like it has 2. I would definitely recommend this car for any one who needs the space and still want an original look."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

worsed minivan

By on Tuesday, January 29, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"I had it for last four years. body parts are falling down. Nissan USA representative were very rude. I do not want to deal with Nissan any more. All over sales personal talk unprofessionally. When my friends and relative heard my hardship, Six of my contact people did not buy nissan vehicle. Axle ruined after 45000 miles. some nuts and bolts fall down. some parts like window motor broke at 50000 mile and I called Warrenty department, I talk to All America sales person they did not want to replace axle or motor and were very rude. She talk talk so cheap. I never expected such Un-professional behavior from Nissan people. May be they are selling more and attractive Vehicle but i do not rely on them."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great van, minimal repairs

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "easy to park and drive, good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my van since 2000. I purchased from a local dealer, as a program vehicle. It had less than 30,000 miles on it. I have maintain it regularly with oil changes and other required maintenance on a regular basis. When the engine got up to 95,000 miles we started using high-mileage oil. I have found that not all gas is the same and the engine does not like some of the newer blends. Exxon, Shell and Walmart brands seem to run the best. Also, I use Lucas fuel treatment on a regular basis to help keep the fuel injectors clean."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lots of room for passengers as well as storage."

Cons: "Console is not real sturdy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Totally reliable! One owner car that has been maintained on a regular schedule and it runs like a kitten still. Although most of the miles are highway miles, in town driving is great also. Have spent a minimal amount on repairs (sensors, tune-ups, and new struts, etc.) - couldn't be happier with it. The only reason I am even thinking about selling is because my spouse wants a pick-up."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

My second Nissan Quest - First 1995 and now 2001

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Shorter than newer vans, cargo space, comfortable"

Cons: "Great to 110k..then a money pit. Not made to last."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like these vans because they are short enough to fit in my garage and because you can remove the middle seat, slide the back seat all the way up and have tons of room for hauling things. Then when you are done hauling...you slide the bench back and you have seats again. Both of my vans ran great until about 110K miles then they get expensive. 1995 needed all kinds of work including a new transmission. 2001 - I've repaired A/C compressor, multiple check engine lights (knock sensor that won't go away with repairs), multiple motor mounts (they are a bad design that often break)To name a few **sigh** I like my van...but am afraid it is becoming too expensive to keep. I think I will try Honda next time."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Quest near Honolulu. See local deals