Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Nissan Quest

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 98 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Highly Recommend

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased our 1996 brand new in Atlanta, GA. In the military we shipped it to Korea, Germany and back to the U.S. We now have close to 135.000 miles on it. Have had no major problems with the vehicle. We have been very pleased. The kids love the vehicle. The 6-disc CD system works great. The bucket seating is very comfortable. The seats are easy to remove and replace when needing cargo space. We've been looking at purchasing a new vehicle. The Dodge and Chrysler models definitely don't compare. Who knows, we may decide to keep it for another 100,000 miles. Would recommend this vehicle to my worst enemy (if I had one). :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

230k miles and still going!

By on Friday, February 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my Nissan Quest for the past 14 years. It has accumulated 230k miles and its still going strong. I've heard from other owners that their Quest has also reached mileage at or near the 200k mark. It's a great car for families and long road trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, January 08, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this van, runs great, is very comfortable, handles like a dream. Is great on snowy and icy roads. I've had very few mechanical problems with it. I've had this van for 9 years and still love it as much as when I first got it. It has power when needed, climbs mts. with ease, handles well on curves, I highly recommend this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Sunday, November 11, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR 6 YEARS AND HAVE NOT HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS. THE ONLY BAD THING I CAN SAY ABOUT THIS VEHICLE IS THAT THE DOOR LOCKS LOCK AND UNLOCK THE AS THEY PLEASE IT SEEMS TO BE A SHORT IN THE DOOR LOCKS BUT WE DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX IT. THIS VAN IS VERY VERY DEPENDABLE AND RIDES GOOD THE MPG IS ABOUT 20 AROUND TOWN AND 22 HIGHWAY."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"only problem i have is the door locks sometimes will lock on their own. i had to get an extra key with a magnetic holder"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A reliable automobile for 12 years plus

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I am the proud original owner of a 1995 Nissan Quest. Aside from a warranty repair of the transmission (they did not lubricate the gear box properly in the factory) the automobile has been mechanically sound. At 142,000 miles the power steering pump went out and I replaced it along with the water pump and timing belt at the same time. The brakes have been replaced more frequently than normal. There were some minor issues with what I will call "the Ford parts" but this Nissan / Ford joint venture has been a success in this owner's opinion."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Camper Conversion

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This van can easily into a camper with plywood units allowing for cooking and food storage in hatch area so cook in rain protection. Interior sleeps two with storage for personals, clothing iunderneath sleep area. At 80,000 miles lots goes wrong but when all fixed at same time, goes another 100,000 easily. Great van as long as you know about (consumer reports) the 80,000 wear outs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"our 96 has 160000 miles with no major problems. Ride is good and is easy to park."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

THIS QUEST WAS THE BEST!!!

By on Saturday, January 12, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Drove her until she finally died

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got my 1993 Nissan Quest back in 2010 for only $1600, when she had around 183,000 miles on her...She was owned by a family who bought her new back in 1992 or '93, and was a very reliable vehicle to them for the 17 years before I had her. As you can tell by my referring to the vehicle constantly as a "her", I quickly grew to love my Nissan Quest. I even gave her the name Bluejay, and found her to be the easiest to drive vehicle I've ever been behind the wheel of. She handled blizzard conditions as well as some 4-wheel drive pickups I've seen, and could make it through heavy rain and high winds with ease. She stood up to my new driver mistakes and not only got me my driver's license, but my friend as well. The only real problem I had with my Quest before her final breakdown was I needed to replace her A/C unit at around 208k miles, but that wasn't really a big deal. My Quest got me through my entire 2 years in community college, took me on multiple 500 mile round trips to San Francisco, dealt with being used as a mobile hangout zone for me and my friends, etc. She finally died at 214k miles after her timing belt slipped, fatally damaging her engine. For how much I loved this Quest and how well her overall performance was, I would HIGHLY recommend Nissan Quests to ANYONE who comes across one!"

22 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Nissan/Ford hits a home run with this vehicle

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, Ride, Features"

Cons: "It is a bit smaller than most minivans."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We just recently sold our Nissan Quest that we had for the past 13 years. It has seen all three of our kids grow to teenagers, taken us on trips from New York City to the U.P of Michigan, and everywhere in between. The only problem we have ever had with this van is a ruptured radiator hose. These are awesome vans. Even with 156,000 mi, I would have no problem jumping in and driving it anywhere. My youngest daughter cried when we sold it. She likes it better than our brand new Honda van. The only thing I didn't like about this van is that the alloy wheels tend to oxidize, so the tires don't hold air very well. Not a big deal, we just had to put air in the tires about once a month. Anyway, I highly recommend this van. It accelerats fairly well, has a smooth comfortable ride, and has been pretty much bullet proof. Oh, and even after raising 3 kids from babies, to toddlers, to kids, to teens, the interior has held up amazingly well."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, December 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned a 1993 Nissan Qwest since 1992. We have 110,000 miles on it and aside from normal wear and tear replacement, the vehicle has been trouble-free. Very comfortable ride and with 110K on it-it's rattle free. With both rear seats folded down-a piece of sheetrock fits into the van allowing the back hatch to close."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Friday, May 02, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value for the money

By on Tuesday, December 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this one many years ago used (by one owner - garage kept) and for a 1993 it was fully loaded. It has been reliable, comfortable and looks better than another van we bought (1995 voyager) and has had only the usual need for maintenance. Will keep this one until it stops working... still use it for hauling stuff, etc. Wish the new ones made now had this type of ratings and reliability....now going to go with Chrysler's 2008 Town and Country van because of the ratings and all you get for your money. We can get a lot more features (bells and whistles) than nissan, toyota or honda are willing to give for the same money...too bad for them (like their engines but Chrysler is willing to back their transmission for a lifetime and we can't pass up a company that has that kind of confidence in it's product). Hopefully it will be in our family for many years to come!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great van I got it at 168,000 is 245000 now

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable,not problems at all.I paid 2800. The blue book price it at 3900,after 80,000 mi. I could not complaint."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

WE LOVE THIS CAR

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I cant believe it but this will be my THIRD quest minivan that I have purchased. They last for at least 220,000 and are very easy to drive. My boyfriend and I laugh because we actually LOVE our minivan (we are in our late 20's) we got tired of "nicer" cars that break down all the time. THe quest is the MOST RELIABLE vehicle you can get. AND you can haul almost anything in it. They will run untill the wheels rust off or you crash it. I LOVE THIS VAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU NISSAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Wonderful van!!!

By on Monday, August 06, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: she had gone her limit

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great and very reliable!!"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the best vehicle I ever owned. She had 311,000 miles and never any problems. I sure do miss her."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Dependable car

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great to drive"

Cons: "I can not think of anything that was not offered."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for about 5 years, bought it used at a Nissan dealer. It has served me well, living in snow areas and driving it up and down the mountain (6,000ft level) with no problems. Standard maintenance of brakes and oil changes. Also the 60,000 mile requirement of changing the timing belt, I replaced the waterpump at the same time. The rear windows are motorized and the motors seems to last not that long."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

not good

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"water pump went out at 10000 @trans went out at140000 miles .$ 1.200 to fix trans."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

so,so

By on Tuesday, November 10, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"this van is under powered a/c stoped working, motor pings like a there are marbles in the motor and i use high test gas, rides like a truck. gas milage is about 15 city 18 highway, power locks have a mind of there own, its an ok van nothing great,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 27, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Dissatisfied Owner

By on Sunday, July 26, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

"During the 4 years of ownership, this car required constant repairs that totaled $6000+. The driven miles during the 4 years totaled less than 7,000 miles. The service provided by the local dealership was disimal. I suspect that the repair expenses would have been less had I not used the dealership."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, April 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Quest is average

By on Friday, October 19, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have a '97 quest, unlike most cars of its model year, this car has been excelent as far as reliablity. It preforms well for a minivan, but is quite ugly and has uncomfortable seats. I am not pleased with the fact that only one row of seats comes out, making it harder to haul things. It is a good and inexpensive alternative to more flashy, newer minivans."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best mini EVER and most reliable

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well made"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable reliable reliable."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Quest near Honolulu. See local deals