Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2009 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 458 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

WERST SUV ON THE MERKET

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: EVERYTHING

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "COMFY"

Cons: "EVERYTHIG ELS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"HATE IT PROBLUM AFTER PROBLUM AFTER PROBLUM"

1 person out of 18 found this review helpful

Love my Pathfinder!

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great price used"

Cons: "I cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my Pathfinder for a few years now and I absolutely love it! Probably my favorite car I've ever had! Reliable, love the 3rd row seating, have never had issues getting stuck in snow. My car is 6 years old and I haven't had to do any major work on it, just replace the tires and the brakes, normal maintenance. I love to drive it, it is not too bulky, handles great, has the perfect amount of power. I bought it used so it wasn't overly expensive."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

15MPG ON PREMIUN GAS

By on Thursday, July 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "ACELERATION."

Cons: "MPG,COMFORT,MECHANICAL PROBLEMS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"TO MANY PROBLEMS,THIS CAR ISN'T REALLY JAPANESE.MEXICO,CANADA,USA,PHILLIPI AND OF COURSE CHINA."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

my best car ever!!!!!! love it!!!

By on Friday, June 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was the best choice for a family like mine. We are 5 people that fit just nice in it and Grandma and Grandpa as well"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great for the family. Which i had it since new

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's strong"

Cons: "Gas AVG 16-23"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bough it used, also a used 2005 base model"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Value for you Money

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Relible, good on gas, comfortabe ride."

Cons: "Needs MP3 input, rear AC controls on all models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great reliable vehicle. Has taken the family on multiple trips without a single problem. Handles great and pretty comfortable. I would definitley recommend this year's model to anyone looking for a great and reliable SUV that doesn't drain your wallet on gas usage. The only thing that I regret is not purchasing the model with the rear AC controls and vents. Living in Florida, it gets really hot and the opptional third row seating, stays warm for a long time."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Would have been nice if Nissan built it right....

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable,drives nicely(or used to),Gas is ok"

Cons: "Horrible engine/transmission/radiator issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Would be a good car if it had been built correctly /: Warning: Nissan did not include dip stick on transmission. Ever so conveniently there is a class action lawsuit currently against Nissan regarding the radiator pumping fluids into the transmission(Can't check for issues prior to break down unless you ARE a mechanic and can do the dirty work yourself). Pros: Its comfortable, drives nicely (or used to), visually appealing, Not too terrible on gas( for an SUV). Consider yourselves warned of their engineering faults."

24 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Needs more room!

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"It says it seats 7, but that must be 5 - 10 yearolds and 2 adults. 7 adults are NOT COMFORTABLE in this vehicle. It needs more room. Two car seats in the back means no room in the front and the very back seats are ridiculously small. Very dependable and drives great, gets about 20 MPG, so not bad."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It is a great mid-size SUV! Reliable,economical

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great SUV with comfortable ride and reliable engine. Only problem is an annoying squeak when going over a bump that no one can pinpoint. Seems to be in the front wheel well area. We tow a 20ft bowrider boat with no problems whatsoever. All we've done is replace the brakes in nearly 7 years!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beware '05-'08 Radiator defect!!

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great used value, super quiet interior, great DVD!"

Cons: "Feels cramped if over 6'4" third row is kids only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The radiators in these have a major defect that destroys the transmission, torque converter and computer that controls both. If not caught before the 80,000 mile warranty will be extremely expensive to repair!!!! We own a 2007 and haven't had the issue yet and hopefully won't. It's been recommended on numerous sites to have the cooler lines that go between the radiator and transmission by-passed to a separate transmission oil cooler that can be installed fairly cheaply by any transmission shop. Anyone who has a Pathfinder and has already Passed 80,000 miles and hasn't had a transmission failure should do it immediately!!! Search on line for further information regarding this issue and a pending litigation between Pathfinder owners and Nissan. NY Times even did an article on this issue if that tells you something! I would only recommend this car if the potential owner knew of this issue and how to get around it."

26 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Reliable, consistent, predictable

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,750

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Power, manuverability, towing, controls"

Cons: "Suspension is soft, steering feedback can be rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I own the 2008 Pathfinder LE with 5.6L V8 and fully loaded. The driver controls are convenient and common sense. Head and leg room are adequate for an average person. Kids have no problem in rear seats, never use the thir-row, always use back for storage. Excellent tow performance on my 2300 lb boat, go fishing almost every weekend and long trips towing across Texas in the summer are no problem. Smooth on the road, no problem with freeway traffic. Overall an acceptable SUV that fits my purpose."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

"money pit"

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "looks good"

Cons: "always in garage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had to have transmission,radiator,catalic converter,fuel cap,some type of filter back by fuel tank replaced and check engine light is still on.Will not by another nissan should of bought a toyota which my wife reminds me every day.Stay away from 2005 nissan path finder!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Not Happy

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Uncomfortable, back seats don't lay down flat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Car is uncomfortable, does not have the the features I want or need, and I am generally unhappy with this vehicle. It is reliable, but VERY uncomfortable. Wish I would have gotten a Toyota 4 Runner like I had wanted."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Basic but reliable.

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price, interior space, great 4x4 system"

Cons: "Too basic, nasty gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Pathfinder. My first was a 1993 SE model. I got a 2010 because the previous was a very reliable and comfortable car. The 2010 model is very basic. I drove a Land Rover in between Pathfinders for 4 years and have to admit that going back to a Pathfinder was a huge downgrade in terms of luxury and comfort but at the end of the day, reliability is what I was after and I think I got it. When the LR broke, the repairs would be in the K's and only a handful of people knew how to fix them. With Nissan the opposite is the norm."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "back cup holders not sturdy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my pathfinder. I have had no problems whatsoever. The only items I had to purchase was tires and a battery. It was truly an investment. We have no plans to trade any time soon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I have owned two Pathfinders. They are great!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable interior,drives great!"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I put 150,000 miles on my first one with no problems and very little maintenance. I currently have over 100,000 on my second one and it is doing very well. They are GREAT suv's. Run and drive super smooth with very usable interior. I get about 21 hwy mpg and 18 city. Current one is a LE and I like the leather and memory/heated seats. I got a Pathfinder because of the large rear area as I used to haul stuff for work. The flat floor is great. I HIGHLY recommend these vehicles..."

Lovew my car!

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, spacious"

Cons: "no ipod connection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its pretty, its reliable, hope i can keep it for a long long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Ultimate outdoorsman(or womans) SUV.

By on Friday, February 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my fully loaded pathfinder with 22,000 miles and have NEVER had a problem with it. I must say though, ive maintened it very well, servicing the recommended 30k and 60k with the dealership. The horsepower in teh V6 is plenty, even for towing another vehicle through Colorado. The gadgets always work, great heated seats, could be a little more comfy though, the interior is functional just not as comfy as most American cars. Im 6 ft and theres plenty of room, theres just no good place to put your left arm when driving, but the right arm is satisfied by the huge arm rest. The legroom in the 2nd row is good for 2 6 footers for any ride, but i wouldnt put 3 in there, and the third row is for people 5'7 and under. Mine came with the DVD system which i could play through the AWESOME BOSE system, made for fun in college, my drunk friends would love sitting in the back watching "The Office." It didnt do horrible on gas for a 7 seater, around town in Chicago i got about 14.5 in 2wd, 13.5 in 4wd. Having that change on the fly transmission is essential,u can make your own parking spots in tough winters (im currently in Colorado). If you use cruise control at 70 mph you can get 22 mph, and if you use it at 60 you can get up to 24.5 which i was VERY pleased with. The greatest functions i will say are the ability to lay all of the seats flat, the cargo room is better than that of a short bed truck i think, because your gear is inside and protected, and there are so many little hooks for stablilizing bikes or anything else. There is also a hidden compartment under the second row of seats that is great for a pistol if thats your thing, always be prepared i say. The other greatest function is that Pathfinder stayed true to its roots, i never fear about going over a bump or off road, but with that in mind, it takes pot holes in the city pretty rough, it almost craves the off road handling. I will end here, i actually wrote this review as a homage, im trading in my pathfinder tomorrow for a mini because im moving back to chicago and will be commuting over 2.5 hours each day :( gas aint cheap. Im a 26 year old Soldier in the Army and I love my Pathfinder...P.S....get the fully loaded one, you wont regret it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great in the snow and for towing with people.

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Back row folds flat. Good room for 5 plus 2 kids."

Cons: "No second row power supply"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have used all of the options this SUV has to offer and still no major repairs. Tires were expensive. Second row cup holder can't be replaced and broke the first year. Also, needs power supply to run kids stuff. Seats are hard to clean. Rear exterior door handles are too high for old or young people. Good towing power while cruising cross country fully loaded. Gas mileage is 15 with A/C or towing and 19 or better highway. This large vehicle is bulky in city maneuvering and visibility backing is less than a car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Pathfinder has alot of power

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The Pathfinder is a great vehicle."

Cons: "Hard to get into if your older and short."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Pathfinder is the greatest SUV to have,when it snows or if the roads are packed with ice, this suv will never let you down. It's very comfortable and handles well. My only reason for selling my suv is because Iam disabled now and find it to be to hard to climb into. I have side panels to step onto but it's still to hard for me,so Iam going to look for a lower car. But I will miss My Pathfinder for sure."

Great SUV.

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of room for traveling."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We got this Pathfinder on a lease. We loved it so much we decided to purchase the vehicle after the lease ended. We have not had to make any repairs. It has survived our family of four."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

have been very happy with my truck

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have always felt very safe in my truck, drives great."

very dependable

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the Nissan brand 4th one I have owned."

very safe reliable

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety reliabilty. size"

Cons: "gas recommended grade."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will purchase another pathfinder very good experience with safety and reliabilty of nissan products no hassles with sales or service."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Third Pathfinder in 9 years....Enough said!

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great reliable driving on any surface."

Cons: "A little too much plastic inside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been and continues to be an excellent performing car. I have replaced the battery and Nissan replaced a sensor other than that it is all original."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals