Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 611 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next

Solid and Fun to Drive

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything works. Solid, dependable vehicle."

Cons: "Occasionally the remote entry doesn't work."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 6 years ago from the original owner and found it to be a really sturdy vehicle and extremely reliable. I've done the usual regular oil changes and water pump/timing belt at the recommended times and feel like it will run forever. Not sure what would make me sell it? No plans to, at the moment! :-)"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I Love This Vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and durable"

Cons: "Poor Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It has 257,000 miles on it and hasn't needed any major repairs. Tranny still good. Spent some money on getting oil leaks repaired over the years, but consider that fairly typical for the use it's gotten. The Unified Meter Control (Cluster), $365, was replaced about 2 years ago because the dashboard gauges went out, and the only time it didn't start right up for me was when the Distributor Assembly failed, bad ignition coil, needed to be replaced at 247,000 miles. Gas mileage was poor at 13 miles per gallon. Very reliable, well made, and love the vehicle."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Simply one of the Best vehicles ever made

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 371,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable and easy to Maintain"

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Pathfinder new in 1998 with only 3 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations. I have over 371,000 original one Owner miles on it, and it still runs strong. I've invested time and money in keeping the maintenance up. I'm hoping to reach my goal of getting over 400,000 miles on it. I can't justify getting rid of my Pathfinder considering all the the major components on the vehicle are less than year old. I'm looking forward to many more miles in my Pathfinder."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Less expensive than a 4Runner, just as capable!

By on Saturday, August 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles very well offroad, TONS of elbow room, fun"

Cons: "15MPG, Acceleration isnt impressive, Its a Unibody"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not stock, but my version of the pathfinder I love.

"I bought it used and had a lot of work to do to build it up to what I wanted it to be, but now that its there, I love it! I couldnt afford a 4Runner on my college budget, but this has kept up with and performed more capably than the one I go offroading with. It eats gas, cant lie there, and it aint much in a race, but it powers through mud and up hills better than I would have ever thought! Great for winter driving. Its had a beating since I've owned it, but its stood up to everything I've put it through. The storage space is great since the seats fold down. Being a unibody instead of a body on frame design makes it hard to modify suspension-wise (lift). There are only a few options available to the Nissan off road enthusiast, and they are somewhat expensive. But as a college kid in a hick town I've loved this SUV and all its capable of. You'll likely need to change out the rear lower control arm bushings to get rid of a "death wobble" that comes from old factory bushings being worn out. Its a quick fix, and glad I did it because it was scary on the freeway when that sucker started to wobble. But for a lower base-price than the toyota, you can afford some fixing up. Hope this helps your decision."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not stock, but my version of the pathfinder I love.

Best vehicle ever!!!

By on Friday, September 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliablilty, great to drive, no expensive fixes, looks good"

Cons: "a bit loud, road noise, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this Pathfinder for 13 yrs, I absolutely love it. I used it for my winter car for many years, I've driven other vehicles in the warmer months but when those were gone I always went back to my Pathfinder. Gas mileage could be better but I can't say enough about everything else. Tires, windshield wipers and batteries is where most of my money was spent, very reliable, hasn't nickel and dimed me, started every time in 30- winters without being plugged in or sitting in a garage. Great ride, handles wonderfully. Superb in the snow!! I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a fabulous 4 wheel drive vehicle."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Reliable, and rugged vehicle

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD, Reliability, Handling, Strong and capable car"

Cons: "Could use a little more power from the V6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was the second owner of this vehicle, unfortunately due to the strut house tower recall the vehicle was condemned and I got a great deal from Nissan for it. If it wasn't for this recall would have kept it longer. Spent very little in repairs throughout the years, original engine and transmission and 4wd was in tact, a/c worked, stereo worked. Just the little things that come with owning a used vehicle throughout the years. Overall was happy with it. Will miss it. :("

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

9 years and still going

By on Sunday, December 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We're not heavily driving the Nissan these days, but it does have 107K miles on it (we're original owners) and doesn't show unexpected signs of wearing out. We did replace the factory battery, which, to our surprise, lasted an amazing 5-6 years. Have replaced the lamps inside both of the headlights, but not the tailights yet. Also have finally replaced a portion of the exhaust system, and the radio antenna (the antenna - several times because my wife kept driving it into carwashes while extended). Structurally, doesn't seem to be anything amiss with the chassis. Th leather is still holding up and the paint even still looks good. Black plastic on the exterior has now faded to a dark gray, but this has been uniform, or relatively so, so it still looks good with the black paint. No busted seals around windows or moonroof, no bubbling or fouling of the rearmost windows which are tinted. We've added a towing hitch and have found the truck has sufficient power to pull U-haul type trailers. Transmission is still going strong, engine is great. I'm hoping to hold this car until I can get a fully-battery-powered car. Given our positive experience with the Pathfinder, we'd like Nissan to step up, but I think they're a few steps behind Toyota and Honda in the electric car development race."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great reliable vehicle

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Super comfortable, excellent 4 wheel drive"

Cons: "Hard on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this for the true 4wd and love it. Super easy to drive, drives like a car. Has great pick up with the 3.5 automatic and is smooth on the highway. A little hard on gas (average 16 to 17 mpg) but for the power it makes sense."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

174,574 miles and counting!

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value!"

Cons: "Center of weight too high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has only cosmetic and wear and tear damages from long term use, but when we talk about engine and transmission it will last forever. If you own one you know what I mean. This car acts like it doesn't understand aging, literally. As long as you keep changing all those fluids the life of a Pathfinder will keep extending until who knows when. I will volunteer my car to see how many miles you can get out of it. I have decided I'm keeping it forever. That's how satisfied I am about this vehicle. - Roberto Addarich"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, April 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, tough, reliable, build quality, look"

Cons: "tight rear conditions,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car and it is nicer than most of the cars that my friends drive. I never have to worry about getting stuck ANYWHERE with the pathfinders great 4-wheel drive ablities. Its fast enough to impress my friends and pass anyone saftely. The exterior looks great, (one of the last good looking pathfinders), and the interior has amazing quality. The back seat is a little small and I can't figure out why the "check engine" light is on but other that that the car runs perfectly. I hardly ever have to get maintenence done on it. I would definitly reccomned this car!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals