Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2003 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 620 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

has never left me stranded at anytime

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellant daily driver easy to drive and maintain"

Cons: "gas mileage but in 1996 gas was a dollar a gal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a reliable vehicle since I have owned it since 2006 I have put 130000 miles on it since buying it and have driven it everywhere even on long trips. Never any mechanical problems just replaced my starter and battery but if you maintain it they run for ever. It been a very good vechicle so thats why I stuck with nissan and bought a 08 Nissan Titan which is awesome."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Friday, December 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This suv has been great. The only problem I have had were the O2 sensors and the CD player. The cd player was replaced once in warrantee and it is now acting up again. So now I just used the radio. Overall, it is a good reliable vehicle. I would serious look at the another Nissan when I am in the market for another suv."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my gold 98 pathfinder

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been a great car. Reliable as heck, with no maintenance surprises in 91k miles and 9 years of ownership. Smooth and quiet which I like. Multi adjustable leather seats make it extra comfortable. Only complaint is it is a little short on HP."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Thursday, May 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I still own my 97 Pathfinder, got it with only 500 hundred miles. It has a little over 102,000 mile now and still running strong. Major work that I had done was replacement of the sway bars, clutch replacement..... Other than that, regular maintence...oil change, tune ups ect.. The side step bars rust underneath...to me it looked a sight, so had them removed. Besides that, very reliable, and it feels great not to have car payments!!!! looking to put on 100,000 more miles!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable work horse

By on Thursday, March 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my 1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE edition for over 4 years now and it has been the best car i have ever owned. Close to 200,000 miles now and has not had a problem ever. I suggest Nissan to all my friends and family this is my third one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Second one great also

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had great results with Nissian products. My first Pathfinder went 220,000 miles and is still running with the new owner. My current Pathfinder has not one problem in 50,000 miles. The only down side is the newer model does not get as good of mileage as the 89. 22 v/s 17-18. In highway driving it will get in the low 20's. Great motor, very reliable, good all around truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Just a GREAT vehicle

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Second owner of this great vehicle. Bought it about 6 years ago with 40,000 miles on it. Now has 240,000 miles and still running as good as the day I drove it off the lot. Only downside is the mileage. Under 20 mpg. Have always performed the required routine service and attribute that and Nissan's ability to make an outstanding vehicle to it's longevity. Best car I ever owned. Wish they still made them like this one, but sadly they don't."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Best!!!

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a previous 1999.5 Pathfinder, unfortunately it was rear-ended and my insurance declared it total loss. I morned for weeks. I had kept up the maintenance, and I put 125,000 miles and it ran strong. Had I sold it before the accident the new owner would only have to drive off and not do any maintenance except to change the oil at the next 3,000 miles. I just knew I would get another Pathfinder. I love it!! And how about that Bose stereo!!! Try some oversize tires on it you will love it too! 5 Stars for Quality, Reliability, Comfort, Styling, Value, Performance, Safety. The only draw back I would have to say is the MPG."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Don't Let Looks Trick You...

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my Nissan Pathfinder LE for almost 4 years now and it is an amazing car. Before I bought the car, I had never really liked the look of Pathfinders so I never thought I would be driving one. But when we were at the dealer and I saw it, I didn't think very highly of it until i got inside. Once in there, the beautiful black leather interior, sunroof, 4WD, and power EVERYTHING changed my mind. We took it for a test drive and I fell in love. The power in this car is surprising for an SUV. This one easily outruns my other SUV which is a 2004 Chevy. No, gas milage is not as good as a car, but I'm not complaining. The front and side airbags provide lots of comfort in case anything were to happen and the brakes are sensitive which is great when you really need to stop. Even at 107,000 my pathfinder never fails to overtake anyone in my way or cause me grief for being too slow like my other SUV. I'd reccomend to anyone. Just one tip: Be sure to service when it needs to. I've gone sometimes 5,000-10,000 miles past due services and when I've done that the engine sounds like its struggling AND I would get even worse MPG. Otherwise, an amazing car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Better than ever

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own an 03 LE with 59K on it, runs awesome!, this is my 3rd Pathfinder, had a 90 XE a 95 SE and the 03 LE. This is the best of the bunch. Comfortable, quiet, and reliable. No true SUV will get good gas MPG, not what they are meant for, but put it in 4WD in a 22 inch blizzard and drive to work, then you will never complain about the gas` MPG again. Though this gets only a couple miles difference than the 04 Toyota RAV4 it replaced! Yeah thought hey RAV4 2.4 4 cylinder rated for 22-28! yeah right, highway at 70, 22 or 23 at the most, got 25 once, and it was bought brand new. Pathfinder at 70, 22, round town 18."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best value

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, safe, solid"

Cons: "rust through after 8 years or so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased a 1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE brand new 15 years ago. Still driving it in year 2013. Has 86,000 miles on it. Minimal repairs, great ride, people still ask if we got a new car it looks so good. (Probably because it's always been garaged.) Only downside is the rust-through which we had removed. Mileage has always been poor, but it is such solid, safe SUV we don't really care. It's now being used as our 2nd car and will keep it until a major repair is required."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars I have owned.

By on Sunday, September 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I love this car! Great driving, comfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Very comfortable. Roomy. Good gas mileage. Fun to drive. The only reason I am selling it is because we have 2 cars and don't want to insure 3 cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely the BEST car ever

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable, strong, large storage box"

Cons: "only 5 seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We owned this car for 6 years now, and can't be more satisfied with its performance. We bought it from its first owner in 2007, with about 60000 miles. Now after more than 134000 miles and 2 accidents, still runs great! We never had any mechanical issue with it, only cosmetic and routine wear and tear! It is very strong and comfortable for delivery business and travel. We're a family of 4 with 2 boys, and very active and athletic life! This car never let us down! We're already planning to buy the new 7 seats pathfinder! and of course keeping this one for business purposes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Safes most reliable vehicle ever owned

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great and safe as can be"

Cons: "They have changed since 2001"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife was involved in a high speed hydroplane on a curve, went off the road and remained upright. THe trooper who showed up said he had never seen a car go off the road here while hydroplaning and not roll over. This was the first. Car has been reliable since we purchased it in 2001."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid SUV

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, handling, reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "road noise, rear sags easliy, bose sterio lame"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have almost 160K miles just changed the spark plugs for the first time, glad i did it finally. Been a great vehicle, looking forward to paying it off. This is my first Nissan and definitely won't be the last. Other than a couple of electrical malfunctions such as the fog lights and license plate light not working (bulbs good), my engine light came on once when i forgot to screw in the gas cap. I haven't had any major issues so far. Great vehicle, will keep it and drive it util it can't anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

fantastic

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has not given me a single problem in the 11 years that i've owned it. if nissan still made the same pathfinder body style, i would buy it again in a second!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best Pathfinder I could ever own! I love it!

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,788

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Gas!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The design and the dependability is awesome. Drives with complete control. The 2004 is the last year of this style, too bad it is the best looking! But I love Pathfinders so I am sure when I am ready I will find one just as good."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck i ever owned

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "gas miladge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great truck dependable great in snow.160,000 still runs great"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very dependable workhorse! 600 miles aweek!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good interior and exterior looks like new!"

Cons: "Recalled and deemed irrepairable by Nissan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had to replace a transmission other than that it was a great car. Keep the oil changed and normal maintenance. Leather interior in great shape. Exterior paint looks great with no fading or chipping."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Just keeps going and going...

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, goes anywhere"

Cons: "Kinda simple and full of creeks after 130,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Despite its simplicity this has been a very dependable vehicle. It has never even broken down to the point of being undriveable Thank GOD! It has 176,000 miles now and many creaks and a few small leaks but other than that it just keeps on truckin'! We bought a new one that was really nice."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth all the money we paid for it

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a constant in our lives for seven years and running. Its sporty and timeless. Though it doesn't have all the bells and whistles as modern cars, it has never let us down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Didn't Last

By on Saturday, May 16, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought a 2000 in 2003 and now the front struts need replaceing and the rear suspension is "pancaked" and needs replacing. 95K seems to be as far as she goes, expect more when well maintained and not used for off road."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good pathy!

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Put over 150K on no problems. It just wants to go go go."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 29, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice,durable, and maintance free.

By on Monday, December 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best vehicle Nissan makes. Hands down!!!! Recommended highly."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals