Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 591 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Hardworking, reliable vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A dependable drive, very powerful"

Cons: "Not so great mph, leather upholstery frays easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought a 2003 model in 2006, and it has served us extremely well. It's not glamorous, but it's very powerful on the highway --especially here in Texas where the speed limit is 85 mph, and the traffic is crazy!"

Absolutely the BEST car ever

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable, strong, large storage box"

Cons: "only 5 seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We owned this car for 6 years now, and can't be more satisfied with its performance. We bought it from its first owner in 2007, with about 60000 miles. Now after more than 134000 miles and 2 accidents, still runs great! We never had any mechanical issue with it, only cosmetic and routine wear and tear! It is very strong and comfortable for delivery business and travel. We're a family of 4 with 2 boys, and very active and athletic life! This car never let us down! We're already planning to buy the new 7 seats pathfinder! and of course keeping this one for business purposes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best most reliable and comfortable vehicle

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great durability, great comfort."

Cons: "No cons. This is very definitely the best vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE has been the most trouble-free vehicle we've ever owned, and I am 62 years old now. They just don't get any better than this."

One Owner maintained regularly

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It had to be a reliable and safe vehicle to transport 3 kids."

Not The Best

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Third Pathfinder and '87 was terrific! With each succeeding one more problems. Things you don't expect to go wrong! A door that needing new hinges? The Bose system went out early and did not repair based on input from others as did not stay repaired. Nit pickey stuff! Sensors on going battle! Poor gas mileage."

Best

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, especially in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always loved the Pathfinder from the first time I saw one and now that I own one, I would say I am pleased with the car. The second best car that I have owned- the first was my Acura Integra '91."

I love this vehicle!

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 2001 Nissan Pathfinder in 2005 as a certified pre-owned vehicle from a dealer who also provided us with the Carfax report which was very good. We have owned the truck for 8 years and have never had one major problem. We have performed routine oil changes, replaced the tires a couple of times, and have only had to take care a of few minor repairs such as replacing a fan. I highly recommend buying a Nissan. It is extremely reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this Pathfinder

By on Thursday, August 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a tank I've had 3 wrecks and it still ran GREAT. It go's VERY good in the snow,rain. I love the Pathfinder if you ever get a chance to own one you will love it too"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Safes most reliable vehicle ever owned

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great and safe as can be"

Cons: "They have changed since 2001"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife was involved in a high speed hydroplane on a curve, went off the road and remained upright. THe trooper who showed up said he had never seen a car go off the road here while hydroplaning and not roll over. This was the first. Car has been reliable since we purchased it in 2001."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

MAJOR RECALL

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"These SUVs and other nissan have major recall for rust in the strut housing. Nissans "fix" is stupid and not safe. We had our pathy replated and weather coated way better than their "recommended fix" costs us $800. Nissan wanted to unfix then refix but we said no, just wanted reimbursement. Long story short, the pathy was crushed. Buyer Beware!!! Owner beware!!!"

7 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Awesome suv

By on Monday, April 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,291

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it. I use it everyday and always have fun driving it. I have over 160,000 miles and its runs great and it will last for many years to come. I can't complain about it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Simply one of the Best vehicles ever made

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 371,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable and easy to Maintain"

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Pathfinder new in 1998 with only 3 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations. I have over 371,000 original one Owner miles on it, and it still runs strong. I've invested time and money in keeping the maintenance up. I'm hoping to reach my goal of getting over 400,000 miles on it. I can't justify getting rid of my Pathfinder considering all the the major components on the vehicle are less than year old. I'm looking forward to many more miles in my Pathfinder."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best SUV on the road

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very dependable/easy to maintain/beats a pick up"

Cons: "wish it got better gas mileage but it's not bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2001 and have literally driven it all across the US. This car has seen every state in the lower 48-some of them twice !! I hate to think I will eventually have to give it up. No major repairs/replacements - just well maintained and very well built. If only every vehicle was made like this one."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

super vehicle

By on Thursday, February 28, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: I have other car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Super"

Very good SUV

By on Friday, February 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Plastic bumpers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this pathfinder ith150000 miles great reliable truck only did m Routine maintenance car now has 250000 would tell everyone looking for a SUV to go with pathfinder"

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

2002 Nissan Pathfinder se 4x4 Black/grey coth

By on Saturday, February 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Use to run great and still does whenit runs."

Cons: "No cons, good vehicle, plenty of power w 6 cyl."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Ilove this car, I1st leased it and then boughtit.The car has been great to me,depenable,comfortable and like the snow in N.Y.I got ill in2008 and the car sat for 3-4 months with approx. 89,000 throught parts of winter.I came down 2 Tampa and had it shipped down here. When car got here it would smoke like crazy.Mechanic told me it's white smoke don't worry about it, 3 wks later motoer died with no oil in. I bought a used motor from Woodfins used auto parts w 89,000 and had a repair shop install it and have had 1 problem after another.Now it's 50 mls. away sitting repair shop and the mechanic saysit could be timming belt.I pad 2Gs 4 it another 2 to install it and now this happens.I'm lost and don't kno what 2 do, Mario of Tampa."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car ever owned

By on Friday, February 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 219,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was a GMC car lover until I had a very bad experience. After that I decided to try a car made in Japan. I started searching and I found about this SUV. I bought it 7 years ago with 125000 miles. I only change the timing belt at 150000 miles (belt was in perfect condition). Replace spark plugs at 210000 miles (Just to do some maintenance to the engine) It runs so good. No problems!!!!!! It is a solid, well built vehicle. Very reliable. Can't find a reason to replace it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid!

By on Wednesday, February 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Durability, dependability"

Cons: "Gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car at about 60k miles. A friend of my GF's family was selling it. He is a no nonsense old Chinese mechanic. I was initially tentative and not all that impressed. He quickly lost patience and said "look, this is good car, you buy!" I bought it. I discovered his blunt words to be true. I've put a lot of pothole strewn city miles on this car in all weather conditions and only needed to change the front brake pads. It handles well and gives me all the power I need. It is the most dependable and durable vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it with the intentions of it being an interim ride, of moving on to another newer, "hotter" vehicle in short time. This plan has been extended indefinitely."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle!!!

By on Sunday, February 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This SUV has held up so well I'm considering keeping it instead of getting a new one and rebuilding the engine to push it another 150k."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

98 Pathfinder SE - Great Reliable, Well Built SUV

By on Sunday, January 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, Solid, Quality Material, Hauling, Snow"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this for 6 years, bought it with 85k from the second owner. I've performed the needed maintenance (brakes, belts, oil) but nothing major. Overall the car is great, heavy duty, awesome in the snow, comfortable and durable interior. I have the leather, heated seats, heated mirrors, I tow (heavy trailer loads) and it does great. I'm very impressed with this car and with 145k my mechanic thinks it'll go another 100k. I'm looking at buying a new car but I'm finding it hard to beat my good'ol pathfinder even if the gas mileage isn't so great at 15mpg."

Can't see me ever driving anything else!!!

By on Friday, January 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality and reliable at a better price than toyota"

Cons: "can use gas and stock cd changer breaks always"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Next best thing to my wife and family!!!

"I bought this vehicle almost a year ago. Since have upgraded it with a 6" lift, 33" tires, custom bumpers and a winch. Installed a awesome sound system and presently, I could live in this suv I love it so much. Prior to mods and after it has handled great. Does very well off-roading, handles excellent in any weather condition so far. I feel very safe in my suv and trust that my 16 month old daughter is too while in the truck. I do regular maintenance on the vehicle and it has run very well without a hitch. During the lift I replaced all the brakes, rotors, struts, full tune up, cleaned the injectors, high quality air filter, pcv valve and catalytic converters. Most of which didn't need replacing but was in there so decided to take care of it all while it was disassembled. It has been great for a family vehicle, family of five, and for anything else being the seats fold down. Very comfortable and if your someone who gets cold easy, this heater will fry you in less then five mins from cold start in the dead of winter. It also has the strongest engine for it's year out of all the nissan's and toyota's in it's class and out. Last it does great on towing big or small things as I've done both. Overall highly recommend this for family, fun, daily driving, or purely recreational as it can be modified if you do your research."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Next best thing to my wife and family!!!

Solid and Fun to Drive

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything works. Solid, dependable vehicle."

Cons: "Occasionally the remote entry doesn't work."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 6 years ago from the original owner and found it to be a really sturdy vehicle and extremely reliable. I've done the usual regular oil changes and water pump/timing belt at the recommended times and feel like it will run forever. Not sure what would make me sell it? No plans to, at the moment! :-)"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Less expensive than a 4Runner, just as capable!

By on Saturday, August 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles very well offroad, TONS of elbow room, fun"

Cons: "15MPG, Acceleration isnt impressive, Its a Unibody"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not stock, but my version of the pathfinder I love.

"I bought it used and had a lot of work to do to build it up to what I wanted it to be, but now that its there, I love it! I couldnt afford a 4Runner on my college budget, but this has kept up with and performed more capably than the one I go offroading with. It eats gas, cant lie there, and it aint much in a race, but it powers through mud and up hills better than I would have ever thought! Great for winter driving. Its had a beating since I've owned it, but its stood up to everything I've put it through. The storage space is great since the seats fold down. Being a unibody instead of a body on frame design makes it hard to modify suspension-wise (lift). There are only a few options available to the Nissan off road enthusiast, and they are somewhat expensive. But as a college kid in a hick town I've loved this SUV and all its capable of. You'll likely need to change out the rear lower control arm bushings to get rid of a "death wobble" that comes from old factory bushings being worn out. Its a quick fix, and glad I did it because it was scary on the freeway when that sucker started to wobble. But for a lower base-price than the toyota, you can afford some fixing up. Hope this helps your decision."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not stock, but my version of the pathfinder I love.

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

By on Saturday, July 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "fair on good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle I have owned since 2005 and it has been the best vehicle I ever owned, very reliable!!!!!! very little repairs and I have loved driving it. I am a nissan lover, owned 3 so far, this is my favorite.!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car. Change the oil, runs forever.

By on Wednesday, July 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 3 years old. The most reliable vehicle I have owned in 50 years. In 325,000 miles I had 3 mufflers, oil change every 3,000 miles,1 air intake valve and tires. I'll buy another. Radio has poor reception around overhead electrical wires."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals