Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 593 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

By on Saturday, July 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "fair on good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle I have owned since 2005 and it has been the best vehicle I ever owned, very reliable!!!!!! very little repairs and I have loved driving it. I am a nissan lover, owned 3 so far, this is my favorite.!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car. Change the oil, runs forever.

By on Wednesday, July 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 3 years old. The most reliable vehicle I have owned in 50 years. In 325,000 miles I had 3 mufflers, oil change every 3,000 miles,1 air intake valve and tires. I'll buy another. Radio has poor reception around overhead electrical wires."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car EVER!

By on Saturday, June 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,909

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Manual shift - fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in 1999 with 22k. Fast forward 13 years, two kids, a Golden Retreiver, an event planning business, six local moves, one divorce and I now I have 235,909 miles on my manual shift baby! The past two years I've been replacing parts and just can't afford to do so anymore; and it truly breaks my heart. I love this car and want to keep her forever. I know she'll continue to run when the next person gets her. I love this Nissan so much, I bought another today!"

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, April 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, tough, reliable, build quality, look"

Cons: "tight rear conditions,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car and it is nicer than most of the cars that my friends drive. I never have to worry about getting stuck ANYWHERE with the pathfinders great 4-wheel drive ablities. Its fast enough to impress my friends and pass anyone saftely. The exterior looks great, (one of the last good looking pathfinders), and the interior has amazing quality. The back seat is a little small and I can't figure out why the "check engine" light is on but other that that the car runs perfectly. I hardly ever have to get maintenence done on it. I would definitly reccomned this car!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Car does not quit

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Durability, reliability, and very versatile"

Cons: "Interior could be a little roomier..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What can I say? I've had this car since Dec 1998. Since that time I've driven it out to California, countless trips between LA to SF and back again. It's been through girlfriends, a wife, and now kids, It's been through a lot of scrapes...a lot....it's been in more than a few accidents, doors crushed from either side at different times, rear ended on the highway at around forty mph, and thanks to Jiffy Lube leaving an oil rag on the manifold, even caught on fire and been hosed down by the fire department. Yet it just keeps going. Four wheel drive has always been there when I needed it. Writing this as more of a eulogy because my wife finally managed to do it an at mile 215000 by getting T-boned at an intersection :("

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My baby

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,706

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car to death. I got it for my 16th birthday back in 2008. I never had a single problem with it what so ever. Sadly, i was crashed not long ago. Unfortunately, it did not survive and i will miss it dearly."

Solid SUV

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, handling, reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "road noise, rear sags easliy, bose sterio lame"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have almost 160K miles just changed the spark plugs for the first time, glad i did it finally. Been a great vehicle, looking forward to paying it off. This is my first Nissan and definitely won't be the last. Other than a couple of electrical malfunctions such as the fog lights and license plate light not working (bulbs good), my engine light came on once when i forgot to screw in the gas cap. I haven't had any major issues so far. Great vehicle, will keep it and drive it util it can't anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "18-20 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle since 2001 (11 years). I have never had a major issue with the reliability. The only maintenance has been oil change, brake pads, and struts/shocks, and tires. I trust this vehicle on long trips. The only thing is that it is getting old and the wear on the interior is starting to show."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owned this SUV for seven years.

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "The 4wd option and towing capability"

Cons: "Uncomfortable when taking it for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Car was great until the past 2 or 3 years when it turned 10 years old. I hadn't had even 100,000 miles on it and I had many things fixed. The ride is a bit uncomfortable after sitting in it for more than an hour."

Best Foreign Older Car!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, RELIABLE, absolutely fun to drive!!!!"

Cons: "Just the numerous recalls on this make model!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For an older car all the amenities still work for a 15 year old car...just absolutely love it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car will just keep on going and going!

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Always gets me where I want to go, looking good."

Cons: "Possible it will not last forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned about 15 cars in my 45 years of driving - Most kept 2-3 years, however I have had this Pathfinder for 12 years now and have no plans to sell it. I have had only the most minor of repairs, driven from FL to Nova Scotia to Mississippi, over 190,000 miles, in every kind of weather, often with at least 3 of my kids, sometimes more - and have always felt I was in the car to be in. The 5 speed gives me plenty of control and reasonably good gas milage for the vintage. My next car will be a BMW X5, but I expect to be disappointed by comparison."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle i have ever owned !

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability and overall driving experiance..."

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car new, after 11 years and 215,000 miles I still love this car."

250,000 Miles and Going Strong ! ! !

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Pathfinder new from the Nissan dealer. Bought the extended warranty 'just in case'. That was not needed. Never had issues in the first 200,000 miles!! In the last 50K have had two O2 sensors replaced and muffler. I am cool with that - no other major repairs. Kept oil changed every 3-5000 miles. Of course had to change brakes and tires. But geez this truck just runs!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pathfinder Recall

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great performance, great cargo space."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Barely 19mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I loved, loved my 1997 Pathfinder until Nissan recalled it.I am so heart broken. There are major rust issues with the strut tower which the steering column is mounted to. The recalls applies to SUVs in state where there is snow. The salt from the roads can cause rusting. Its so sad because I loved this car and Nissan. I must say the company (Morely) Nissan hired to handle the issue of the recall is the reason I have to break-up with Nissan. I have owned 2 Nissan Maxs and now a Pathfinder but no more...Its not that there was recall it's how they handled the problem. Maybe one day I will return...but not soon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My first SUV and I LOVE IT!!

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, very dependable, easy to drive"

Cons: "Gas milage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Garaged, excellent maintenance, no problems. I hope it lasts a few more years, as I've not found another SUV that I like or "fits" me (either too big"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, easy to manuver, lack of aftermarket .

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "off road ability of a jeep? NOT!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"fair off road..but its no jeep. fit"

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have owned"

Love my faithful Pathfiner

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Pathfinder new in the fall of 2001. A great truck for the price. Minor issues in the last year, but mostly regular maintenance over the last 10 years. I love my Pathfinder. I will keep it until it stops going. Just recently bought a Nissan Juke. Just love Nissans!"

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle, power, reliabilty, fun to drive. Gas mileage is about what you would expect, I get about 17 - 19. That is until the 4 wheel drive is engaged, then is about 12! I have an S and wish I had the LE to get the automatic four wheel drive, only change I would make."

DO NOT GET THIS CAR!!!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great 4 wheel drive and nice interior"

Cons: "everything that wasnt a pro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"buying this car was one of the worst mistakes of my life. the previous owners replaced the entire motor, and a few other parts. owning this car has been a non stop game of catch up with repair after repair. it is extremely unreliable and i wouldnt be suprised if it breaks down tomorrow not to mention the horrible gas milage, i dont drive very much not even 15 miles a day and i go through $10 in gas every day or two."

fantastic

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has not given me a single problem in the 11 years that i've owned it. if nissan still made the same pathfinder body style, i would buy it again in a second!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle ever owned!

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car new in 2010 and have loved it ever since. The only major thing replaced was the computer 2 or 3 years ago. The 6 disc cd player has died but radio and tape still sound great. It is comfortable and the interior looks great for a nearly 12 year old car. I will miss it!"

Most reliable, least expensive car I have ever own

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "practical and reliable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I never paid for. Very reliable, cheap to maintain. Only problem is that it is not a road car, and not efficient. But have used it for everything. Have a towing package, and have pulled 5000# easily. I would get this car again in a heartbeat,"

great suv

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best suv there is"

Reliable Truck

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid Truck, very durable."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals