Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 616 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Worth all the money we paid for it

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a constant in our lives for seven years and running. Its sporty and timeless. Though it doesn't have all the bells and whistles as modern cars, it has never let us down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Didn't Last

By on Saturday, May 16, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought a 2000 in 2003 and now the front struts need replaceing and the rear suspension is "pancaked" and needs replacing. 95K seems to be as far as she goes, expect more when well maintained and not used for off road."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good pathy!

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Put over 150K on no problems. It just wants to go go go."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 29, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice,durable, and maintance free.

By on Monday, December 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best vehicle Nissan makes. Hands down!!!! Recommended highly."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great reliability

By on Sunday, October 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this 2003 in 2006, with 36K on the odometer. Has needed only routine maintenance. Type of tires make a great deal of difference in ride and handling. Michelin and Uniroyal are best. Previously kept a 1989 PF for 12 years with zero problems. These vehicles are the best overall value I have found in over fifty years of driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Pathfinder LE 4X4 for 7 years now. Bought it w/ 25k on it and now has over 112k. Keeps on running... The only mechanical things I have done to it (besides normal maintanance) has been a timing belt and a air conditioning compressor clutch total about $2,000. Great vehicle going to run it till the wheels fall off!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1999 Still Lik!e New

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this new, use synthetic oil, keep up with other maintainence and it still starts and runs like new with 168,000 plus miles! The ONLY reason I might sell it, is parts availability, though I've never needed many parts before."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Suv

By on Sunday, August 24, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"My wife and i brought a 2001 pathfinder le, with 134000 miles on it. We took it to a nissan dealership and had them check it out had to replace the rear 02 sensors and changed all the fluids and things like that. We drove it to orlando soon as we got it and it did good. We avg about 21 miles to the gallon. This is not our first nissan and not our last. Nissan are good quality cars and trucks just do your maint and you will be alright."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Sunday, June 22, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have a 2002 Pathfinder and I believe it's the best vehicle I've owned. The engine and tranny are in amazing condition, the car seems to get decent gas mileage for the size of engine it has, and it tows far better than I expected. My only complaint is the fact that you need to have a weight distribution kit to haul anything remotely heavy because this car has coil springs instead of leaf springs. I'll be keeping this car until it just doesn't run any longer, so maybe forever!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Long Lasting Vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 1998 Pathfinder has over 200,000 miles and runs great. I never had any major engine work done. I have never been stuck on the side of the road. It is a very reliable vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best dependable Vehicle I have owned

By on Monday, April 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 01 Pathfinder LE and its one of the greatest SUV's I have owned. Very comfortable, sporty, winter package, everything in it is great. MPG is a small issue, but after installing a K&N Cool air intake in it, I have seen dramatic increases in MPG. I average around 22 Miles on the highway and 19 in the city. Pretty impressive. Other than that, I love this car. Adding a system with subs in the back sounds great as well. I would defiantly recommend this vehicle to someone else!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good vehicle for the money

By on Saturday, April 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Purchased this vehicle new. It has plenty of HP for that size of SUV. Very reliable also, but I did have to replace the engine coils (a common problem) around 100 K. I have an oil leak somewhere that can't be explained, but I just put a little extra oil in it periodically and never have a problem. Had to replace it after I had children though because the interior was too small to haul all their stuff! Other than those few things, I have been very pleased with my vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awsome Truck!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my 97 LE for two years now and I love it! i Have run this thing into the ground it has over 200k miles dings and dents and its always going on dirt roads and what not. Had one prob with it and wasn't a big deal This thing doesn't die its great! Want to get an 05 for the new look"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1996 4wheel drive Pathfinder for $10,000 in 2001 when it had 82,000 miles on it. It is now 12 years old and has 213,000 miles and it has been the most reliable and comfortable vehicle I have ever owned. Still runs great on original engine and transmission.I have changed the oil every 3-5k miles religiously,and promptly replaced worn out parts like struts, shocks, trailing arms. Original starter went 213k miles before kicking the bucket! Pulls my 24' pontoon boat easily, but I wouldn't pull anything any heavier. 3.3L 6 cyl engine still strong! Driver's seat very comfortable, and just recently developed 1 tiny hole in uphostery on side of driver's seat, from abrasion of getting in & out. All accessories still operating well! Only complaint is gas mileage of 16mpg, but it is a 4x4 SUV so I guess that is to be expected."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2001 Pathfinder LE 3.5 Have had this vehicle for a few years now. Purchased with 47,000 miles and now at 100,000. Has needed some minor repairs but never left me stranded. Overall great performance, ride and value. I will keep this vehicle for many years to come. It also handles well in the cold snowy new england winters."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worth it

By on Friday, February 22, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 04 Pathfinder used from a dealer for a great price. It gives a comfortable ride for an SUV, and the 3.5 ltr engine provides plenty of power. The only downfall to my Pathfinder is the MPG. Could be alot better , but it is an SUV. Every time I think about trading it in for a better MPG vehicle, I cant do it. I do like this vehicle that much and just cant bring myself to do it. Reliability and repair history.... great so far, no complaints."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle!

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 97 Pathfinder which now has 250K miles on it and just in the last 2 years I've had to put some money into larger repair bills - timing belt, sway bars, rack & pinion. Now it's got some engine seal leaks & since it's 11 years old, I'm looking to get something smaller & with better gas mileage. I absolutely LOVE Nissan vehicles and would recommend them to everyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still Performing

By on Tuesday, January 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Pathfinder provides a smooth comfortable ride, awesome performance and remains mechanically sound after 8 years of use. 95000 miles and it's running as strong as the day I bought it. I would recommend this vehicle strongly. I recently looked at new cars and decided to keep my Pathfinder and get a new paint job as that's the only thing it needed. If you can find a 2000, buy it you won't be sorry!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, December 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 99 Pathfinder new and it now has about 200K. I have had the basic oil changes and tune ups, and replaces a cv joint. Other than that, its been almost perfect!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

pathfinder 1997

By on Sunday, December 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own this car for 3 years now and put alot of miles still very reliable, i highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who want a safe and reliable car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth every penny

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I had this car since September of 2006 and 219,000 miles n still running w/ of course minor oil dripping n scratches the car is as dependable as ever and I believe it will still run for another 100,000 miles...what the heck it might go for another 200,000+miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2003 LE 2WD

By on Friday, October 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've bought my 2003 Pathfinder new. since then I've taken countless trips, I have 72000 miles on it now. No major reliability issues. the interior quality is better than the current 2004 modes and on. The engine is a workhorse. I'll pass tractor-trailers on two lane roads at 70 plus mph without hesitation. I'll tow up to it's rated 5000 lb capacity, and then some. I got stuck in a bad snow storm in 2005 in Arkansas, with nothing but the all terrain tires on it, I made it through, albeit it wasn't a picnic, but other cars were running off the road, and big rigs were strewn on the hwy like trash. Great safe vehicle, built like a tank even though it's a unibody."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 Pathfinder

By on Thursday, August 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle runs great and is really reliable. It averages about 17.5 MPG with mixed driving. 15 MPG around the city and 21 MPG on the interstate. I can easily tow a boat with it, even with 4 or 5 people inside the pathfinder. I have only had two problems with the vehicle: 1. The oil cooling unit was leaking. It was less than $150 for the dealer to fix it. 2. The CD changer messed up. $200 to repair or $250 to buy one off of EBAY. I went the Ebay route. That's not very much money considering that I have owned the SUV for 4.5 years. Nissan made a really good product with this version of the Pathfinder. I would buy it again if I had to do over again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sturdy Vehicle

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this vehicle at 35,000 miles now at 66,000 miles. Repairs have been mainly to the electronic sensors (mass air flow and cam sensors) at 5+ years old and the squeeking belts. Acceleration is excellent on the highway. Mileage 16-18mpg city, 22mpg highway. Overall the vehicle runs very well and is quite reliable. Big enough for 5 adults - this is my third Nissan and I'll definately get another."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals