Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 610 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Best vehicle I've owned!

By on Wednesday, April 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,713

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "priced well & fun to drive"

Cons: "hated manuel windows but thats it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call her Goldie and she has been thru 4 teenagers learning to drive stick and one adult. She's been every where from Southern Cali to Italy. She has 221713 miles on her. For the last 18 yrs she's been very good to us. Lately she's got a lot going on and with my family growing and spreading out. It's time to let her go. But I'd buy another Pathfinder in a heartbeat even more so now that they come with a 3rd row. We took her off the beaten path more than once and really enjoyed the ride!!!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Well-built, sturdy, reliable, versatile.

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Versatile, good power, fine handling, no gadgets"

Cons: "Tendency to bottom-out on bumps with 4 people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased this car in the American Southwest. It pulled a small horse trailer on occasion. The car was very reliable and received only regular maintenance. It had no significant mechanical issues."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Owned vehicle now for 14 years extremely reliable

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Is a great value"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent automobile it is a shame they do not make this style anymore."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome car. am getting another one like it.

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for new england weather"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is awesome. best car i have driven. my heart is breaking that i have to let it go. i intend to get another one just like it."

Wonderful car.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A real safe family car."

Cons: "165,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great riding; great mechanical; all functions work. Manual shift into 4 wheel drive. I think this a is good feature. Tires are very good. No known problems. Except .... some body rust. Finish in fine shape. Needs detailing"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle! Never had a problem.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "If newer models like 2003 model, very reliable."

Cons: "Newer model Pathfinders look like vans. Hate it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Love this car and it saddens me that I am replacing her. It's almost treasonous. It's a 2003 and has never, ever had a mechanical problem. Runs fantastic! Body wearing out from the salt in the air, but that's minor. 112083 miles, but am sure she could go another 100k miles easily. Only reason I'm reluctantly replacing her is that I need to down-size to a more fuel efficient, economical car. Really, really going to miss this car. The newer model Pathfinders look like vans. Big mistake in the redesign by Nissan. Otherwise, 10 to 1, would have thrown the whole economical issue out the window and got another Pathfinder."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Not great on gas. Comfortable.

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable."

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Overall, very satisfied until gas skyrocketed. Would definitely recommend and would consider another Nissan purchase."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I'd Buy it new if I could go back in time

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "plenty of power, bose sound system"

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased this Platinum Edition model a month ago from a hyundai dealer and love it. It was a one owner car and boy did they keep up with every little thing on it. the 3.5 v6 makes it seems like a high riding maxima but with more space, steering input is spot on and fit and finish is better than most new cars. Friend of mine's mom bought a 2014 rav4 and i'd take this 10 year old pathfinder over that car any day. though gas milage does leave more to be desired but hey this body style was introduced in 96 when gas was actually somewhat affordable. if you want a pathfinder, definitely consider an 03-04."

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very reliable. Excellent in snow conditions.

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent vehicle. This year Pathfinder is smaller and more reliable than new models."

Great car for 13 years.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: at this mileage things go wrong

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I loved my car until it got to about 130000 mi les. Then repairs started adding up. Up until then, it was absolutely reliable."

14 people out of 25 found this review helpful

267,000 miles and still going strong

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great acceleration, reliable, great in snow"

Cons: "prone to underbody rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving for over 30 years and this is one of the most dependable vehicles I have ever owned. The acceleration is great and I have never been stranded in a snow storm! I was rear-ended (hard!) about 6 years ago, and sustained over $6000. in body damage...my insurance fixed the vehicle and I continued to drive it with no problems. I have owned this vehicle for 12 years and I am considering selling it now only because I want 3 seats and a built in navigation system."

21 people out of 40 found this review helpful

I Love This Vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and durable"

Cons: "Poor Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It has 257,000 miles on it and hasn't needed any major repairs. Tranny still good. Spent some money on getting oil leaks repaired over the years, but consider that fairly typical for the use it's gotten. The Unified Meter Control (Cluster), $365, was replaced about 2 years ago because the dashboard gauges went out, and the only time it didn't start right up for me was when the Distributor Assembly failed, bad ignition coil, needed to be replaced at 247,000 miles. Gas mileage was poor at 13 miles per gallon. Very reliable, well made, and love the vehicle."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Stunning what this vehicle has endured

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it with 50k on it in 2004, put another 280k on it since then. Except for brakes, rear stabilizer bars and irresponsibly long periods between oil changes - this veghicle has NEVER been in the shop for repair. I'm finally going to sell it just because I need something with better mileage (Altima now, I won't leave Nissan). I felt the LEAST I could do was to type a few words in praise of an amazing companion who NEVER let me down for even a second. Godspeed, you wonderful creature."

24 people out of 42 found this review helpful

great all around

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything really"

Cons: "not a huge fan of the cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"super reliable, very low upkeep, and drives great in all conditions"

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,363

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, roomy; gas mileage not bad."

Cons: "Some signs of aging"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

dealer pic

"My Pathfinder is dear to my heart. It is the most reliable, comfortable car I've ever owned. I've used 4-whl drive one time in the snow in Yosemite - handled beautifully. I've replaced the timing belt and done regular upkeep with my local mechanic. It has a new CD/tape/radio and a new set of speakers. The interior is good, but the plastic coating on the wood insets are beginning to deteriorate. Upholstery is good. Still looks great after a wash; small flaw in the paint on the hood where the weather is catching up. It's not new, but is still a very nice, dependable vehicle. I am a granny; don't need a vehicle this size any longer."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

dealer pic

Amazing car, Reliable, great traveling car.

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 312,742

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Family Car, Sound System amazing, great price."

Cons: "slow window,mileage,few scratches."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car has been in my family for over 10 years and still runs like its brand new, its clean and spacious, the AC and Heater still work (takes time to warm up). The brakes are amazing they take some time to get used to because of how sensitive they are. Just had a check up (10/13/14) will need a new one (1/13/15). Fairly new tires put in the beginning of 2014.The left front window rolls up a little slower then the rest in the winter but still works. The only reason I am trying to sell it is because i go to school and my car isn't very gas efficient for a college student it is more of a family oriented car. Other then that i love my car and if i had a better paying job i would definitely keep it around. The exterior has a couple bumps and scratches but nothing terribly visible."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great CAR!

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,554

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my Nissan Pathfinder for 14 years! Amazing. Engine is perfect! Alternator perfect! Only thing that has glitched is the Bose sound system. I love this car still riding strong and it has 197,000 miles on it!"

Most dependable car I've ever owned!

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability, versatile, gas mileage, 4x4"

Cons: "sluggish on hills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I researched like heck before purchasing the pathfinder. Needed a midsize SUV capable of towing, good on gas with a low track history of breakdowns. It came down to the Pathfinder and the toyota 4runner. The pathfinder is outstanding in the snow, especially New England weather with mix of ice etc. Its slow getting up on the highway but you cant expect a hemi motor from a 3.3 V6. Parking is great with good visibility all around, no bad blind spots like with larger SUV's. Suspension rides like a car with the convenance of going off roading and not worrying about tearing something out underneath the body. Ive crossed the country with mine, stacked 24' ladders on the roof racks, gone 4-wheeling, and all the little errands in between. This car is a workhorse! ** For anyone that doesnt know, There was a recall on this vehicle for the front strut tower housing. The metal used to manufacture the body can not withstand road salt and corrodes, causing the strut to push up though the body and against the steering column (usually drivers side). I had mine fixed before the recall occurred. Nissan re-imbursed me in full. They also will fix the issue at any dealer if you buy one that hasnt been corrected. this recall affected 1998-1999 vehicles. Overall though, its a great, well made car. Im about to finally sell mine, but I will not hesitate to ever tell anyone what a great overall dependable vehicle this has been."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Worst of 4 Pathfinders I have owned!

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Don't use much!"

Cons: "Not a good ride!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Has had numerous pickey things would not expect to deal with. Having a door rehung? And no accident so not cause. Multi CD player went out early and reviews said don't bother would break again! Too much sensor replacement! And not cheap! Each succeeding Pathfinder I have had has been worse than the last. l987 was wonderful! My last one for sure."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great, great car

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all around car."

Cons: "Seats not great for people over 5'11""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2001 Nissan Pathfinder new 14 years ago and absolutely love it. It's great in the snow, has plenty of power (in general and uphill), pulls a boat better than an Excursion, fits an impressive amount of cargo, is comfortable, etc. The only work I've ever needed to have done to it is routine maintenance and it runs great. I'm keeping this one!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Come check it out, make an offer

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"New tires, new brake pads, Bose Stereo System, CD and Cassette play."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driver's seat, cargo area, 4WD option."

Cons: "Not snappy, rougher ride than a full size sedan."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the captain seating, the cargo area, 4wd option, which I use often in the snow."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This jewel is loaded. Runs great & looks great!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car since 2003 and consider it a jewel. It has been reliable and trouble free with regular maintenance.We love the beautiful copper color and all the extras like the leather, aluminum wheels, 4WD, automatic, tow package, and much more."

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "only two owners!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great vehicle, dependable & reliable. Fun to drive handles well and still looks great!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car !!! Hate to sell it!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great in snow! comfy, nice interior"

Cons: "Yeah, can't tow my boat with the V6 - :( very sad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great ride, ease of loading/unloading front and rear...never had any major problems."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals