Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 580 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 116 | Next

Best value

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, safe, solid"

Cons: "rust through after 8 years or so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased a 1998 Nissan Pathfinder SE brand new 15 years ago. Still driving it in year 2013. Has 86,000 miles on it. Minimal repairs, great ride, people still ask if we got a new car it looks so good. (Probably because it's always been garaged.) Only downside is the rust-through which we had removed. Mileage has always been poor, but it is such solid, safe SUV we don't really care. It's now being used as our 2nd car and will keep it until a major repair is required."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

174,574 miles and counting!

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value!"

Cons: "Center of weight too high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has only cosmetic and wear and tear damages from long term use, but when we talk about engine and transmission it will last forever. If you own one you know what I mean. This car acts like it doesn't understand aging, literally. As long as you keep changing all those fluids the life of a Pathfinder will keep extending until who knows when. I will volunteer my car to see how many miles you can get out of it. I have decided I'm keeping it forever. That's how satisfied I am about this vehicle. - Roberto Addarich"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A real life saver...

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent safety, comfy, driver friendly..."

Cons: "A little hard on fuel, but high on safety !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter flipped our pathfinder end over end in sept'2013 - she opened the door and walked away. After the tow truck flipped it onto the wheels we found that all 4 doors opened and closed, the winshield was still intact,and all the lights worked (except one signal that broke). a couple of beat up body panels, bent the hatch, and slightly tapered roof in the back corner. The police said that I would even be allowed to drive it home !(didn't though because there was too much oil in the air breather... I'm sold on Nissan now, I think it saved her life."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars I have owned.

By on Sunday, September 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I love this car! Great driving, comfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Very comfortable. Roomy. Good gas mileage. Fun to drive. The only reason I am selling it is because we have 2 cars and don't want to insure 3 cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hardworking, reliable vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A dependable drive, very powerful"

Cons: "Not so great mph, leather upholstery frays easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought a 2003 model in 2006, and it has served us extremely well. It's not glamorous, but it's very powerful on the highway --especially here in Texas where the speed limit is 85 mph, and the traffic is crazy!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 116 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals