Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 589 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next

174,574 miles and counting!

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value!"

Cons: "Center of weight too high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has only cosmetic and wear and tear damages from long term use, but when we talk about engine and transmission it will last forever. If you own one you know what I mean. This car acts like it doesn't understand aging, literally. As long as you keep changing all those fluids the life of a Pathfinder will keep extending until who knows when. I will volunteer my car to see how many miles you can get out of it. I have decided I'm keeping it forever. That's how satisfied I am about this vehicle. - Roberto Addarich"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A real life saver...

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent safety, comfy, driver friendly..."

Cons: "A little hard on fuel, but high on safety !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter flipped our pathfinder end over end in sept'2013 - she opened the door and walked away. After the tow truck flipped it onto the wheels we found that all 4 doors opened and closed, the winshield was still intact,and all the lights worked (except one signal that broke). a couple of beat up body panels, bent the hatch, and slightly tapered roof in the back corner. The police said that I would even be allowed to drive it home !(didn't though because there was too much oil in the air breather... I'm sold on Nissan now, I think it saved her life."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars I have owned.

By on Sunday, September 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I love this car! Great driving, comfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Very comfortable. Roomy. Good gas mileage. Fun to drive. The only reason I am selling it is because we have 2 cars and don't want to insure 3 cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hardworking, reliable vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A dependable drive, very powerful"

Cons: "Not so great mph, leather upholstery frays easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought a 2003 model in 2006, and it has served us extremely well. It's not glamorous, but it's very powerful on the highway --especially here in Texas where the speed limit is 85 mph, and the traffic is crazy!"

Absolutely the BEST car ever

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable, strong, large storage box"

Cons: "only 5 seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We owned this car for 6 years now, and can't be more satisfied with its performance. We bought it from its first owner in 2007, with about 60000 miles. Now after more than 134000 miles and 2 accidents, still runs great! We never had any mechanical issue with it, only cosmetic and routine wear and tear! It is very strong and comfortable for delivery business and travel. We're a family of 4 with 2 boys, and very active and athletic life! This car never let us down! We're already planning to buy the new 7 seats pathfinder! and of course keeping this one for business purposes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best most reliable and comfortable vehicle

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great durability, great comfort."

Cons: "No cons. This is very definitely the best vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE has been the most trouble-free vehicle we've ever owned, and I am 62 years old now. They just don't get any better than this."

One Owner maintained regularly

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It had to be a reliable and safe vehicle to transport 3 kids."

Not The Best

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Third Pathfinder and '87 was terrific! With each succeeding one more problems. Things you don't expect to go wrong! A door that needing new hinges? The Bose system went out early and did not repair based on input from others as did not stay repaired. Nit pickey stuff! Sensors on going battle! Poor gas mileage."

Best

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, especially in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always loved the Pathfinder from the first time I saw one and now that I own one, I would say I am pleased with the car. The second best car that I have owned- the first was my Acura Integra '91."

I love this vehicle!

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 2001 Nissan Pathfinder in 2005 as a certified pre-owned vehicle from a dealer who also provided us with the Carfax report which was very good. We have owned the truck for 8 years and have never had one major problem. We have performed routine oil changes, replaced the tires a couple of times, and have only had to take care a of few minor repairs such as replacing a fan. I highly recommend buying a Nissan. It is extremely reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals