Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1995 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 164 Ratings for the 1987 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Can't ask for more

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great, fits a faily of five plus a dog."

Cons: "`No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Pathfinder for three years now. I have done minor work to it. Tuneup, brakes,and new exhaugt. It run perfect. Got to get the Japan made one. They run very well. I will be keeping it for a long time. All it truly needs is cup holds."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "got a good price, sits up high, very comfortable"

Cons: "no cup holders lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"owned it for about 3 yrs now - had to replace a radiator hose & radiator - other than that normal maintenance - very reliable, easy to drive, holds a lot, fun to take camping"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Like a part of the family

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe, cargo and passenger vehicle, 4 x 4"

Cons: "so-so gas mileage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

FUN. 10 hour road trip from N. Jersey to N. Carolina. Kids slept in the back with the seats down.

"I had a 1991 Pathfinder Red like the picture above in my family for three generations. The last person to drive it was born in 1990. She hit the back of a U-haul truck that suddenly stopped in front of her and damaged the head light assembly, pushed the fender in and scratched the hood. At this point the rust/rot was bad enough not to fix it. It was a very sad day when we drover her to the junkyard :( She was a good old friend. She was very versatile but, not very good on gas. She was a looker. I changed the timing belt apporx every 60k miles, and needed a new transmission at 140,000. She moved cargo on roof racks, barreled through snow with 4 wheel drive, drove country streets, city streets in NY, as well as back roads. There wasn't anything this faithful truck couldn't do that was asked of her. She carried a child from an infant; and, when that child learned to drive, she was her one and only. In 20 years this Pathfinder served us all well."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

FUN. 10 hour road trip from N. Jersey to N. Carolina. Kids slept in the back with the seats down.

Love my baby!

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, Versatile, durable"

Cons: "bad gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Pathfinder from my brother about 5 years ago. Great truck! I love how high it sits, there are practically no blind spots and so far an amazing ride. He handles offroading great, and has only broken down once, and even then was easy to repair. (Blew the alternator last weekend) He always passes Emissions with flying colors and has a nice, big trunk for groceries or having fun. ;) My only complaint is the gas mileage, but I guess you can expect that on most older trucks. All in all, very pleased!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome reliability

By on Thursday, June 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, roomy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 13 years and it has been (by far) more reliable than the toyotas and honda I've owned. Love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I like it, I don't love it, not gas economical.

By on Saturday, October 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,050

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, passes the Cal smog check always."

Cons: "Not gas efficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I hate the lack of gas efficiency, i'm very very frugal,but I love that it passes the California smog check each and everytime (unlike my 1991 Honda Accord),despite that i've owned it since 2003, and I love the comfort."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great shape

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,516

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very clean, low mileage and reliable"

Cons: "Husband was a smoker until 5 years ago."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My husband purchased this SUV new. he loved it and only drove it 95,516 miles since he brought it home from the dealer. During the warranty period all work was done by Nissan. After the warranty all service was performed by a local mechanic we have used for 29 years. Due to the passing of my husband I want to sell it because i have a small car and i can't get used to driving such a big vehicle."

18 people out of 21 found this review helpful

better than average suv

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "easy to drive and goes anywhere"

Cons: "poor fuel efficiency and under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hope this is helpful."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle i've ever had

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to get around in, easy to get in and out of"

Cons: "no cup holders, thats it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second pathfinder, i will have another when this one ever dies."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

MECHANICALLY SOUND!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 324,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY MECHANICALLY DEPENDABLE!"

Cons: "needed a stronger engine for towing 4 Wheelers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"~100 ALASKA miles per day. Vehicle continues to go go go...a little maintenance really PAYS off! would still be my daily driver, but the AK backroads winter salt finally began to show after 13 yrs, I needed a stronger engine for towing. VERY reliable vehicle! It is a back-up vehicle now"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This thing is "Bullet Proof".

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keep up the maintenance and there is no end to how long these things will run. No major repairs, and it purrs like a kitten. I bleieve it will make at laast 400,000 it may even reach 500,000 miles."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

One of the best

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything is great"

Cons: "not very gas efficent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder since 1996 i have had nothing but great things from this vehicle and it still runs today. keeping up with the new vehicles on the block. working having to travel a lot, with home health so it was a plus that the vehicle was very reliable. since we have owned this vehicle we have only had about 2 problems with it. that would be water pump went out one time, and the steering while lock. no transmission problems what so ever. every time we are looking to purchase a new vehicle, the 1st place we look is Nissan."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been the best car ever made. LOVE IT!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and it has NEVER let me down. I have never been stuck in the snow, even in major snow. Although the years have taken a toll on the paint (we live where they salt the roads in the winter and no paint is able to withstand that)it still looks wonderful. My two sons have learned to drive a standard transmission on this car and it still remains a faithful friend to us."

Amazing dependability and longevity!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, powerful, unbelievable value, longevity"

Cons: "Absolutely nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my 95 Pathfinder! It has been the most reliable and has required the least maintenance of any vehicle I've owned- 188,000 miles and still going strong. In the 9 years I've owned it, I've only replaced the starter, a thermostat, and a water pump. Powertrain, tranny, and engine are amazing: we call it 'The Tank'!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "power, handling, room, drive train"

Cons: "no cup holders, low economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What can I say? Over 220K miles on it it has never needed anything more than tires and an oil change from me. The 4 wheel drive went out on the front passenger side last winter but I've font that it rarely requires 4WD and if it is getting stuck 4WD doesn't help (in Western Washington mud). My favorite thing about it though is the on road handling. It always feels planted and solid but has enough power to drift comfortably if you want to and can actually exceed the speedometer by almost 30MPH. I've beat this car and it seems to enjoy it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable Always

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, capability, ruggedness"

Cons: "gas mileage, no cup holders, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only a couple problems over 170k: exhaust manifold leaked as per most of these V6s, and was repaired. Only gets ~16mpg overall, though. Excellent in the mountains, snow, etc."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best 4x4 ever for a small suv

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 works great, motor runs forever"

Cons: "check diff and trans"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many suv and 4x4s the pathfinder is way more the what I wanted. Handles well. corners great and I never used the 4x4 in snow. I was in 3 feet and I came out of it in 2 wheel drive."

Great SUV for winter driving, and great power.

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,100

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for almost 5 years, and have had little or no problems. Last year's blizzard I was one of the few vehicles on the road. Great 4 wheel. Wish it had cup holders"

decent running

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,062

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"has flaws on inside and out just had tranmission worked on"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

The perfect small SUV

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Not the best on gas, but acceptable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think the size and styling of this vehicle is perfect. Great driving, towing, and looks."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Minimal Maintenance

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicl. I have owned for over 15 year and had little to no maintenance. The only issue I have had is that the body and frame have seen serious rusting. The engine and most electronics still work great."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Trouble Free Performance and Good Looks

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 281,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of power and great handling"

Cons: "Only get 18 mpg overall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the 3rd owner of this car. It had 53,000 miles on it when I bought it. It now has 281000 miles. I have made a minimal investment in repairs, but have change the oil every 3K miles and taken good care of the transmission. This car is still fun to drive and very responsive and dependable."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

finally selling my Pathfinder

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "terrible gas mileage, these days it's $60 to fill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i've had my car 15 years, got it when it was 2 years old. i've 180,000 miles on it. the only repairs i have ever had to do were basic wear and tear, age-related. i'm really sad to let it go, it's been an amazing car for 15 years now. but it's time. i highly recommend the Pathfinder!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Owned 13 years and was excellent

By on Saturday, October 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 13 years. I first got it when it was 3 years old with 33K miles. I currently have 170K miles on it. It has been an extremely reliable vehicle! I use it for my daily commute to work and on weekend camping trips, etc. At its current age, the paint on the spare tire holder has started to fade, and I've had a a few rust spots on the chrome bumpers, but the rest of the original paint (blue) looks great. Everything still works well on it except the motorized antenna does not retreat. The engine has always run slightly louder during hot months, but always ran fine. I will miss "Scraps", but its time to move onto a car with airbags for safety reasons."

'88 Nissan Pathfinder: fair

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable. EZ repair. EZ to drive mtns"

Cons: "No electric or cuphldrs. Plastic warped. Bad seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought basic XE, 2 dr '88 Nissan Path. w/143k mi in '94 from friend who'd kept it in good condition. Drove ~175 mi/wk mountain commute w/ some weekend trips 450 mi. In its later life, it moved to the temperate lowlands and only makes occasional trips to the Sierra in winter (4WD) or when a truck is needed for hauling "things" or wood. It now has 294K mi"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details