Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Nissan Maxima Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,470 - $30,421.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,115

Fair Purchase Price $29,931
Fair Market Range ($29,470 - $30,421)

Invoice $29,813
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.4 of 10

10/7.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I love this car.

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car compares to my 1969 GTO that I loved. It holds the road better and the gas mileage is much better, 25 to 29 on highway, 24 overall city and highway. THe acceleration feels almost as good but is actually better. THe motor lowering and positioning on the 2009 compared to the 2007 Maxima I had has removed the torque steer that the older car had. The 4 door sports car naming is very close to being an actual 4 door sport car!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Underrated vehicle in its class

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, stands out in its class"

Cons: "CVT a bit odd, gas mileage a little low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

2014 Maxima SV

"A well put together car, but the CVT takes a little getting used to. It doesn't 'shift' like a normal transmission, so if you're thinking that this car is a racer, you might look elsewhere. Also, the car feels very heavy which is great if you're just cruising, but tough to handle if you're on a windy back road trying to have some fun. Interior is very cozy and the design in and out is very sporty. Overall, a very good car, but I will be looking again soon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2014 Maxima SV

Quick, Smooth, Comfortable and Good to Look At

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, comfortable, and good value."

Cons: "Torque steer, looks too much like the Altima."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the smooth powerful engine, comfortable seating, responsive handling. Car interior has higher end finishes and great leather. Only complaint is FWD torque steer at full acceleration. Will seriously consider buying another one."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Nice car but loses value very quickly.

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "does not hold value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Not the car to get if u plan on trading in. Within 1 year of owning the vehichle the trade in value had dropped to over $10,000. Better off getting a Honda which is a little cheaper anyway."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My first Maxima and would recommend to all!!!

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been the best car I've owned"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun to drive!

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of fun to drive, especially on curvy roads."

Cons: "CVT transmission leaves a little to be desired."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This Nissan Maxima is a blast to drive. My only complaint is with the CVT transmission. Once you're moving and want to accelerate, the CVT is great, but off the line it feels like the car bogs down and doesn't want to go. Keeping in mind this is a car that goes 0-60 in under 6 secs, it isn't exactly slow, but the "fun quotient" is lower due to the transmission. Also, the fact that NISMO doesn't offer any performance upgrades for the car is strange. You have to go outside of Nissan to find performance upgrades for their premier sedan??"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

VERY NICE CAR

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "nice looking design inside, out"

Cons: "CVT trans lacks on acceleration, give and take mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One drawback is the lack of an available factory remote start per Nissan customer support"

Best I've owned!

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Didn't know Nissan made such a good car."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

bought new in 1998 still driving it 340,000 miles

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, ride"

Cons: "tires in wet weather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought the SE model new in 1998 and still driving it , no major repairs til 200,000 miles , hard to find another car with that record. will most likely buy another one when that time comes. Fun to drive both in town and highway even at this age still gets 21/22 mpg in town."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, style, blast to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Before my Maxima I bought an Altima, and I absolutely loved my Altima. I knew when I went back to look for another car I wanted something from the Nissan family. I test drove a Maxima and it was over! It is so much fun to drive, and a great family car for my family of four. We take my car on long trips and my husband often drives it to work instead of his truck because of the great gas mileage that it gets."

15 people out of 24 found this review helpful

This is my third Maxima

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Luxury"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful vehicle"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My 2012 Maxima!

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,290

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "No Sirius XM, $23k price of the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I absolutely love this car! It's comfortable and I have 2 kiddos and there is lots of room for them. Even my husband would rather take my car than his truck to work. I have had no issues with my Maxima at all. It is very clean inside and out. The only things I don't like about it is the price and not getting Sirius XM full time. I wish we could get it with the Maximas since we paid nearly or even above $20k for the car."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Never had an issue with performance

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful engine interior design is nice"

Cons: "Heat/cool seat controls are out of place."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"the Nissan service dept. technicians have done a great job not matter where we have the car serviced."

14 people out of 24 found this review helpful

love my care

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything, but gas milage"

Cons: "poor gas milage, but it is a v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my car, but it was totaled on 10-30-14. someone was texting, and speeding. His insurance says the cash value of my car is only 17,000. I strongly diagree"

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

powerful great handling true 4 door sportscar

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great performance, reliability,styling an economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"290 hp engine feels super or turbo charged, it has great get up and go. Handling is exceptional, this car hugs the road. If you are a bank robber, this would make a great get-away car.Great styling, I have had elderly people admire and compliment me on its styling. My last car was a 2002 Cadillac Deville with a V8.The ride was luxurious, but, the Maxima outperforms it in every other way. After you get used to the sports suspension, this car is fun to drive. If you want to go fast and whip around corners and look good doing it, this is the car for you. Reliability is also exceptional. I've only had to do routine maintenance (tires, brakes, oil changes and wiper blades-that's it). Fuel economy is also fantastic for such a hi-performance car. I average21.6-22 MPG in mixed driving."

4 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love it so far!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "None so far, love the larger steering wheel as wel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had the car for a couple of months and I LOVE IT! I actually traded my 2014 Altima in for the Maxima.. Why? I wanted the power, and the Maxima delivers in spades. No more shifting out of overdrive to get the power I need, I just hit the gas peddle. If I need a little extra I shift into manual mode and go from there. I have had no problems with the transition like a previous poster had. Great car, I love it!"

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

CVT transmission ruins this car

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Reliable, Sporty Handling"

Cons: "CVT Transmission, blue tooth audio, cheap plastics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very reliable and sporty handling. The CVT transmission doesn't shift predictably until it is warmed up. If pushed from low speed, say rolling away from a stop light, the engine sounds great but clearly the transmission is holding it back. i really do not like the way this transmission operates in either day to day or spirited driving. Other complaints include the fact the blue tooth audio will often drop the connection to my iPhone5 and I am unable to reconnect until I turn the car off and back on. I'll never buy a Nissan again after owning several Maxima's over the last 15 years"

21 people out of 43 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, good gas mileage, very comfortable."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have enjoyed my 2011 Nissan Maxima very much. The only reason I am selling it is because I am going back to a full sized SUV, because at 6'5" and 275 lbs. I am more comfortable in my new Tahoe."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is a great sport/luxury sedan

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful, reliable, tight, looks good, fast."

Cons: "The Bose sound system is not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had my 2011 Maxima for 3.5 years now. I've liked it from the start, and I like it more every day I drive it. It's still tight and feels/smells like new. MPG avg is over 25, and all highway is over 27. I do use premium gas which costs more, yet it a cleaner fuel and better for your engine long term. Powerful, smooth, quiet, and feels like it costs much more than $30k. The 3.5 liter V6 is in this car is nothing less than excellent. The CVT trans has never been a bother for me. I have no problems with it. Next car: The totally new Maxima which is coming out soon"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Let 'er eat

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've owned this car (2013 Max with premium, sport, and technology packages) for a couple of years now. Almost 25k miles and no mechanical problems to speak of. My wife is the primary driver and has a pretty light foot. When I get in to drive it however... I let 'er eat. I like to make sure all 290 horses are still present. And they are! It's a lot of fun to have refined power like that in a sporty sedan. Not a huge fan of CVT but I've grown to appreciate it. It really helps keep the torque right at the pedal, if that makes any sense. In other words, if you're driving along at 60mph and want to accelerate to 80mph, that process happens extremely quickly. Accelerating from a dead stop is also interesting but it's all RPM's man... The tach will instantly climb to the top and hang as the car accelerates from 0. It's a different feel. We opted for every option because the rebates were right. Glad we did as all of those options (including the cool undercarriage LED lights) help justify the higher price tag. Yes, I wish it had a manual and RWD but if we really wanted that, we would have paid $10k more for an Infiniti. Wasn't in the budget nor was the insurance cost for the Infiniti. The glass roof is awesome. The Bose stereo is amazing. Long trips in an incredibly comfortable, ventilated seat are great. We love this car and hope it lasts. I know several folks who have 2008+ Max's with 200k on them and no problems. That's encouraging as our last Max was an 2001 with 380k miles on it and still ran perfectly. You'll love the 2013 Max if you decide to get it. Just expect higher preventative maintenance costs (CVT tranny) and higher fuel costs (premium fuel required)."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price drives like a dream"

Cons: "cant find any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great over all car well built great gas milage 28 city 34 highway better than I thought all the toys and for the price a great deal"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Absolute worst transmission in otherwise great car

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good MPG, decent ride"

Cons: "Worst transmission I've ever owned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have owned 8 new Nissan vehicles including this one all with manual transmissions except the 2010 Maxima. The transmission provides no engine braking when going down hill and over-revs the engine when accelerating. reminds me of an old Buick Dynaflow the way it tries to manage torque and power. On top or the other faults the transmission requires service ever 30000 miles or the warranty is void (read this as the 300$ added operating cost.) The traction control is so aggressive that the car will get stuck since you can not get the tires to even spin enough to dig itself out."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle , value for this car is great

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value of car, and performance ."

Cons: "Front wheel drive , takes a little away ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2nd maxima I have owned, last one had 180,000 miles and kept driving like New !! Interior , exterior , comfort , and ride are Great !! Hate to mention this but only thing I would change on this Maxima is to make it a Rear Wheel a Drive!! Engine has great punch and would be better managed by rear wheel drive. Other than that , car is amazing !"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned!!

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"You get a lot of car for the money. There really isn't anything about the Maxima that I don't like. It's a great everyday driver."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Fun!

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quite possibly the best car I have ever owned. Fun to drive, powerful, nice looking. The interior is very classy. Exterior has great lines.."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.