Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

I love this car.

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car compares to my 1969 GTO that I loved. It holds the road better and the gas mileage is much better, 25 to 29 on highway, 24 overall city and highway. THe acceleration feels almost as good but is actually better. THe motor lowering and positioning on the 2009 compared to the 2007 Maxima I had has removed the torque steer that the older car had. The 4 door sports car naming is very close to being an actual 4 door sport car!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Underrated vehicle in its class

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, stands out in its class"

Cons: "CVT a bit odd, gas mileage a little low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

2014 Maxima SV

"A well put together car, but the CVT takes a little getting used to. It doesn't 'shift' like a normal transmission, so if you're thinking that this car is a racer, you might look elsewhere. Also, the car feels very heavy which is great if you're just cruising, but tough to handle if you're on a windy back road trying to have some fun. Interior is very cozy and the design in and out is very sporty. Overall, a very good car, but I will be looking again soon."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2014 Maxima SV

Quick, Smooth, Comfortable and Good to Look At

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, comfortable, and good value."

Cons: "Torque steer, looks too much like the Altima."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the smooth powerful engine, comfortable seating, responsive handling. Car interior has higher end finishes and great leather. Only complaint is FWD torque steer at full acceleration. Will seriously consider buying another one."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Nice car but loses value very quickly.

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "does not hold value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Not the car to get if u plan on trading in. Within 1 year of owning the vehichle the trade in value had dropped to over $10,000. Better off getting a Honda which is a little cheaper anyway."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My first Maxima and would recommend to all!!!

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been the best car I've owned"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun to drive!

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of fun to drive, especially on curvy roads."

Cons: "CVT transmission leaves a little to be desired."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This Nissan Maxima is a blast to drive. My only complaint is with the CVT transmission. Once you're moving and want to accelerate, the CVT is great, but off the line it feels like the car bogs down and doesn't want to go. Keeping in mind this is a car that goes 0-60 in under 6 secs, it isn't exactly slow, but the "fun quotient" is lower due to the transmission. Also, the fact that NISMO doesn't offer any performance upgrades for the car is strange. You have to go outside of Nissan to find performance upgrades for their premier sedan??"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

VERY NICE CAR

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "nice looking design inside, out"

Cons: "CVT trans lacks on acceleration, give and take mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One drawback is the lack of an available factory remote start per Nissan customer support"

Best I've owned!

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Didn't know Nissan made such a good car."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

bought new in 1998 still driving it 340,000 miles

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, ride"

Cons: "tires in wet weather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought the SE model new in 1998 and still driving it , no major repairs til 200,000 miles , hard to find another car with that record. will most likely buy another one when that time comes. Fun to drive both in town and highway even at this age still gets 21/22 mpg in town."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, style, blast to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Before my Maxima I bought an Altima, and I absolutely loved my Altima. I knew when I went back to look for another car I wanted something from the Nissan family. I test drove a Maxima and it was over! It is so much fun to drive, and a great family car for my family of four. We take my car on long trips and my husband often drives it to work instead of his truck because of the great gas mileage that it gets."

15 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals