Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 595 Ratings for the 2004 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

sad to say goodbye

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "styling, acceleration"

Cons: "turning radius, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 10 years we will be selling our Nissan Maxima. This makes me sad because I loved this car. It is sporty and fun and the styling is awesome and has stood up to the test of time. It has lots of great options including my favorite - a heated steering wheel. The gas mileage isn't great, and the turning radius is pretty awful, but the ride and acceleration are fantastic."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

quality so so

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great features"

Cons: "cheapened the product tht it was known for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"ha the timing chain noise and nissan dealer said it was worn out at 51000 miles . found out nissan has alitigation law siuit against premature timing chain wear because of plastic tensioners . the reason we bought the car was becuase it had atiming chain and not abelt . silly us."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, handles well in snow., large trunk space"

Cons: "None...great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Dismayed only by the rust. Can be repaired. Body almost like new."

good car overall

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice car , but???"

Cons: "hard ride and too many toys tht got broke , should"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"had the timing chain replaced at 51000 miles . Nissan dealer said tht was normal, however , in checking on google I found they had alaw suit against premature timing chain failure . they used plastic tensioners on ametal chain . however, Nissan did agree to pay 2/3's of the over $1000.00 cost will buy another brand next time"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

very nice car good condition and clean drive great

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very comfortable"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

over all nice car

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "can't tow with acvt transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"had the tiiming chain go bad at 51000. nissan said it was normal wear . timing chains do noe wear tht quick . found out they had alitigation suit against premature timing chain failures . they used plastic tensioners on ametal timing chain . talkl about cheap. vcost $1050.00 , but nissn paid for 2/3's of it . not happy with the quality"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i've enjoyed owning this car the last 8 years."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Wil never buy another Nissan!

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Will NEVER recommend any Nissan to anyone."

Cons: "Nissan does not stand by their products."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Have owned many Nissans. My last Maxima had 220,000 miles and was running great when I sold it. I loved this Nissan when I bought it. It began jerking when I changed gears around 90,000 miles. The transmission in these from 2004 - 2006 have issues causing the transmission to slip. Nissan has not stood behind their product refusing to correct the issue. A class action lawsuit has been filed but no telling how long that will take. Attempted to trade it in at a Nissan dealership, but they only wanted to give me $1000.00 for it because they know of the transmission issues. (My car is in very good condition other than the transmission and should have gotten at least $4500-$5000 for a trade-in.)This is the reason I bought a Subaru and will NEVER own another Nissan."

26 people out of 41 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"VERY RELIABLE CAR!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent machine. One of the best ever.

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great pickup looks and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is fantastic. Owned the car over 8 years and not a single problem. Fast pickup, smooth ride and handles great. Still looks great and style is better than new models. Great reliability. Better than new cars. Nissan outdid themselves with this machine."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,530

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drove my car off the lot brand new. I have new had anything go wrong with my car. I love it. It's a 2004 and yes I have never hot rodded it. I like the fact you can shift it or put it in drive. When it is slippery outside you can shift it down really fast and that lowers your R P M S very quickly so you can avoid a collision. I have never had any problems with my car. The only problem with these kind of cars ( Well any kind of cars that have those kind ) that have the lights shaped the way they are very expensive to fix. I still love my car. I have owned it for 10 years and it has never failed me."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great car, comfortable, reliable, fun to drive

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, low maintenance cost"

Cons: "Turning radius."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Maxima in 20 years. I would buy a third one but we need more room for growing grandchildren and more cargo room. I have loved everything about this car except the turning radius, it is just way too short and causes problems when trying to make a U-turn. The car is very comfortable for long distance traveling for four people. It has been very reliable, with only one mechanical issue (the air compressor belt broke leaving us stranded out in the middle of nowhere). I would highly recommend this car. I know there are many more years of enjoyment left in mine but I want more modern technology and more room so we will buy a Toyota Highlander."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great little car, really reliable.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,740

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Gas Mileage, Good Shocks, Nice Ride"

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a great car for trips and short drives. It's really reliable. The cold start is great, it runs well in all weather. The thermostat malfunction was a problem with it when I bought it, it was just stressed, no big deal. Nissan replaced it I didn't complain. The car does great no matter where I've taken it. I've put 72,000+ miles on it I got it with 12. So I can't complain at all. Great car, would recommend it to anyone."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very reliable car and has never looked outdated.

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Large car with a very sporty feel - enjoy driving"

Cons: "no cons for the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Changed the oil regularly and never had repair bills other than services like brakes, etc."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

a great vehicle very comfortable

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "26- 28 miles a gallon on long trip going with traf"

Cons: "Burns a little oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Taken 9-20-2014

"SIRIUSXM radio Well maintained professionally mostly by dealer Struts replace recently as well as brakes Tan interior"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Taken 9-20-2014

has quality issues

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "expencive , but fun to drive"

Cons: "drive chain and mirrors made cheaply,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"had a drive timing chain failure at 51000 miles . Nissan dealer told me tht was due to normal wear . not so. Nissan has a litigation law suit for premature drive chain failure . Nissan paid two thirds of the bill of $1050.00 I paid the remainder. seems the chain tighteners were made of plastic. mirrors made cheaply . car is great if u only want to keep it for 5 years ."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car, fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 9 years and have found it to be a very stylish, dependable sport sedan. All things considered, especially when compared to a 3 Series BMW or E350 M-B, you can't go wrong. This car is half the price of a comparably equipped German car and maintenance costs are less as well. I would definitely consider buying this model again if I was in the market and had not made a commitment to myself to buy American."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

very pleased with my MAX.

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very pleased with my MAX."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Handles well in or out of town

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "see above reviews"

Cons: "see above reviews"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"more mileage than 23 expected. poor turning radius. Bose speaker on left comes & goes. CD player fuzzy frequently. I would buy another Maxima 6 cyl if turning radius better."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

It has lasted through time

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The power is awesome. Comfortable for long drives"

Cons: "Expensive parts, leaking moon roof, paint oxidized"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this car over a Toyota because of the telescopic steering wheel. I am very tall and the wheel moved out of my way for more convenience. I also liked its sportiness and its speed and handling. I have maintained this car very well through the Nissan dealership. However, my cons with this vehicle are that the car has millions of cheap plastic parts that break off and are expensive to replace. The moon roof has been replaced twice for manufacture defects and it still rusted out and leaks. The seat assembly on the drivers side has broken twice and at a cost of $1000 to fix it each time, it is staying broken. It is a very expensive car to keep up."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

MY BEST VEHICLE EVER! RELIABLE,BEST RIDE & SPORTY

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"TIME TO GIVE UP BUT I AM ATTACHED...SO MUCH ROOM AND SUCH A GREAT RIDE."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Longer term than expected

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Love the heated steering wheel!"

Cons: "Wish the trunk opened all the way when fobbed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this Maxima new in 2006, never used factory warranty (and would never needed to up to 8 years later)! I purchased brakes at 90k, battery and just purchased 2nd set replacement tires. This car has been rock solid, I am beginning to tire of it only because I miss the technology they have added to cars in the last 8 years. A four door sports car? Not really, but not a boring sedan either. It continues to impress me & surprise others with it's quick acceleration. Interior quality has held up better than expected.. I used regular unleaded (fill door says "premium fuel is recommended for maximum performance") For the dozen or so times I filled with premium I noticed a slight increase in performance and little fuel mileage improvement, but not enough difference on either to spend the extra cost of premium. Fuel mileage was never something to brag about, averaged about 26 mpg with 60% hwy 40% city use (of course what can you expect from a 6)?"

DO NOT BUY WEIRD TRANSMISSION SLIP

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spacious, looks good,"

Cons: "transmission, turn radius, pick up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

my car:(

"I bought this car from auction using my friends account. My decision to grab this car went horribly wrong. The car when we test drove was very good strong and had just 87,000 miles on it for 04' SL model. But things started to fall apart the transmission started reacting weird it would get stuck on some gears and skip some gears. When I started researching this car it had One of kind TRANSMISSION flaw where it would start doing weird shifts jerks jumps stuck once the engine is completely warm ...so when its cold it would shift smooth thats where we were not able to catch this issue and new transmission is very expensive to fix around 3000$ as the junk yard people know that this vehicle has this issue they priced it HIGH all over uSA..SO my Suggestion DO NOT BUY 04-06 Nissan. Good luck!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

my car:(

Very poor mechanical design

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Stable drive, good acceleration"

Cons: "Weak suspension, poor quality compared to Toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"In just 85K miles I have replaced the front struts (leaking again), rear bearings and the underside has begun to rust through. The suspension is too weak for the weight of the car. Not user friendly for doing minor maintenance, like replacing headlight bulbs (got to remove front wheels and wheel arches to gain access). Overall poor quality compared to Toyota (should have purchased a Camry)."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Transmission Trouble - Don't buy this year!

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks nice, good gas mileage for size of car"

Cons: "Transmission is a piece of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Overall I was very pleased with this car until the transmission went out at around 100 thousand miles. This is now a known problem with this year, make & model. Class action suit ongoing against Nissan regarding this. The turn radius isn't great, tires are expensive to replace due to being low profile. Now it just looks pretty in my driveway since I can't drive it without replacing the transmission first."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals