Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 595 Ratings for the 2004 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next

sad to say goodbye

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "styling, acceleration"

Cons: "turning radius, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 10 years we will be selling our Nissan Maxima. This makes me sad because I loved this car. It is sporty and fun and the styling is awesome and has stood up to the test of time. It has lots of great options including my favorite - a heated steering wheel. The gas mileage isn't great, and the turning radius is pretty awful, but the ride and acceleration are fantastic."

quality so so

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great features"

Cons: "cheapened the product tht it was known for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"ha the timing chain noise and nissan dealer said it was worn out at 51000 miles . found out nissan has alitigation law siuit against premature timing chain wear because of plastic tensioners . the reason we bought the car was becuase it had atiming chain and not abelt . silly us."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, handles well in snow., large trunk space"

Cons: "None...great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Dismayed only by the rust. Can be repaired. Body almost like new."

good car overall

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice car , but???"

Cons: "hard ride and too many toys tht got broke , should"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"had the timing chain replaced at 51000 miles . Nissan dealer said tht was normal, however , in checking on google I found they had alaw suit against premature timing chain failure . they used plastic tensioners on ametal chain . however, Nissan did agree to pay 2/3's of the over $1000.00 cost will buy another brand next time"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

very nice car good condition and clean drive great

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very comfortable"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

over all nice car

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "can't tow with acvt transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"had the tiiming chain go bad at 51000. nissan said it was normal wear . timing chains do noe wear tht quick . found out they had alitigation suit against premature timing chain failures . they used plastic tensioners on ametal timing chain . talkl about cheap. vcost $1050.00 , but nissn paid for 2/3's of it . not happy with the quality"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i've enjoyed owning this car the last 8 years."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Wil never buy another Nissan!

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Will NEVER recommend any Nissan to anyone."

Cons: "Nissan does not stand by their products."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Have owned many Nissans. My last Maxima had 220,000 miles and was running great when I sold it. I loved this Nissan when I bought it. It began jerking when I changed gears around 90,000 miles. The transmission in these from 2004 - 2006 have issues causing the transmission to slip. Nissan has not stood behind their product refusing to correct the issue. A class action lawsuit has been filed but no telling how long that will take. Attempted to trade it in at a Nissan dealership, but they only wanted to give me $1000.00 for it because they know of the transmission issues. (My car is in very good condition other than the transmission and should have gotten at least $4500-$5000 for a trade-in.)This is the reason I bought a Subaru and will NEVER own another Nissan."

25 people out of 40 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"VERY RELIABLE CAR!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent machine. One of the best ever.

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great pickup looks and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is fantastic. Owned the car over 8 years and not a single problem. Fast pickup, smooth ride and handles great. Still looks great and style is better than new models. Great reliability. Better than new cars. Nissan outdid themselves with this machine."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals