Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 549 Ratings for the 2000 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

You will love this car its a VQ35

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,765

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive.. U feel like driving a Nissan GT-R"

Cons: "You can not use cheap gas.. Premium gas only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love my Maxima 03 GLE.. Its a great car for a daily car and its comfortable to drive several hours"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have EVER owned!

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value for my money!"

Cons: "I wish it had a directional rear view mirror."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned. Less problems and only regular maintenance has been required. I have faithfully changed the oil every three months. It is quiet and handles well. I am exceptionally careful with my Maxima and it has few scratches from doors, but that is all."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car is like the Energizer bunny

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty and efficient"

Cons: "Suspension noise, annoying check engine light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I inherited the 2000 Maxima from my mother and it already had 199k miles. I've put 5k on it so far and I think it will keep going for many years. The car is lightweight with an appropriately powerful engine. It is very fast with acceleration without stressing the engine. The most annoying thing overall is that the check engine light has been on for five years and we've spent hundreds trying to get it to go off. I heard it is normal for the 2000 Maxima, so I don't worry about the light anymore. I have hauled bags of cement and a stack of 2x4 boards home in this car before and it didn't struggle. There is a lot of interior room, which I enjoy. Even big guys like me can enjoy this car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable."

Cons: "Poor brakes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Could not keep brakes on it. Service said it was just that I wasn't used to the brake noise. Had at least 10 brake jobs done, none covered by warranty. Had excessive rust on the body , and even some on the roof!Car ran very well, never left me stranded. Never saw another Maxima with this much rust. Think it was just my car, none reflective of Nissan. Interior held up very well, comfortable car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

At 112K, still a great vehicle!

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, more than enough power."

Cons: "Japanese means cheap service."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Low miles, get ahold of me 561-262-3578

"I have a 2000 year model that I purchased, a few months ago and I must say I have always loved the Maxima from this generation. Good quality, sound leather even if it is 15 years old. Engine is strong, trans is full, can't complain about any of it. Wish all cars were built with this quality. Can't find anything that doesn't need work these day's. All offers are considered, let me know."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Low miles, get ahold of me 561-262-3578

I love my car

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 293,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car I do not have any complaints about Nissan at all several people in my family all drive Nissan's they are all very pleased as well.... I mean come on now my car has gone almost 300k miles!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Improving on my opinion

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handles well, good power"

Cons: "Premium fuel, could be quieter, basic styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for a year. At first I could not say I liked this car. Now I can say I do. The previous owner put cheap tires on this car and it was very noticeable. The tires were very noisy and vibrated. I would of bet the wheel bearings were bad. Finally I decided to replace the tires. Now this car rides like new. I like a quiet ride and now I got it. It is a little firm ridding, (sport suspension)but comfortable. Handles well and smooth on most roads. Some road noise does enter the cabin but not overwhelming. I also own a 2009 Chevy Impala and my Impala is much quieter than my Maxima. Both cars have their strengths and I like them both. Reliability is said to be good but owning my car for only one year is not long enough to judge. Overall very good car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very fun to drive. Handles as well as my BMW 528

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best V6 engine made"

Cons: "Had to replace the cylinder injectors, common with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Referred to as the poor mans BMW. I also own a BMW 528ix and enjoy driving this car equally. It has more acceleration from 60 - 120 than any car I have owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I have been TOTALLY satisfied with this car!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 820,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car, but it's getting old and thinking about considering a newer car. Probably not another Maxima, but DEFINITELY another Nissan."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sharp roomy comfort smooth fast handles incredible

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality comfort room and so fun to drive"

Cons: "Paint faded bad but it's Phoenix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Stylish and comfortable reliable four door looks great outside big inside too. Bose stereo in dash 6 cd with control buttons on steering wheel. This car idles so quiet and smooth even now with 120k. I've recently seen 3 Craigslist adds for individuals selling these cars still running with over 3 hundred thousand miles! Tough car. Best thing about this car to me is it makes the little boy in me smile when u step on the gas. It GOES! I had a gt mustang 5.0 and I'm telling u the 255 hp six in the maxima (also in z350) is nearly as fast. The car handles like it is magnetized to the ground. Steering is very tight, and precise handling is amazing as well. Good suspension very smooth ride but tight and sporty as well with little to no lean or roll while turning.... Just a real nice car One complaint is here in Phoenix it is hot but the silver paint on my car really faded extremely bad on one side and hood and roof."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals