Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 546 Ratings for the 2000 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 20 21 22 | Next

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my Maxima and the acceleration it has. It's a fun car to drive and has an awesome sound systm. The only downfall with this car is the turning radius is, as my fiance who was a former fighter pilot in the Navy, that of an F14! I think I could manuever a school bus in a parking lot just as easily."

Fully satisfactory

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have had since new, about five years now, with no problems. Responsive, and fun. Was originally attracted by the front-end appearance and was sold by the seats, which are perfect. 26 mpg. Been all over the country on road trips just because. Drive all day and not be worn out at night, Drawbacks: Ride a bit harsh in the city, the rear end looks a little funny, the big tires need a huge area to make a turn and it went into torque steer once and scared the bejeebers outta me, so i don't push it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had my Maxima 4 years. I love driving it in the summer but up here in Minnesota it can be tricky driving when the roads have ice and snow. It sits low and the front wheel drive on the low profile tires do not make for easy traveling in bad weather. The only reason I will be trading this car in is to get something with AWD for winter driving. Other then that, it is quiet, quick and has been fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car in this class, bar none!"

A terrific car with a few limitations

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my '03 Maxima since it was new, nearly 5 years now. It's a terrific car for the price. If it was rear wheel drive, it would be the best car on the planet for the price. As it is, I only notice the FWD under moderate acceleration, especially when cornering. This vehicle is great to drive. The ride on the SE is a bit harsh in the city, but nice on the highway. With my 6-speed MT, I can average about 30 mpg, which is pretty good for the car that will run 6.0 0-60mph! The heated steering wheel is a great feature that few cars have. You'll appreciate it on cold days! I've experience very little (and only minor) problems with my car. I predict it will last 200K miles. If I had to buy a new vehicle now, I'd probably opt for the Altima with the 3.5 since the newer Maximas and larger, heavier, and just not worth the added expense over the Altima."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the greatest Sedans I've ever driven!"

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Good Overall Features and Smooth Engine

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this car for about 5.5years now and it has had no mechanical issues as of yet. So the reliability is very good, but I consider myself somewhat meticulous with maintenance/upkeep so it shouldn't have any issues, thus only 4 stars until it is problem-free for couple more years. The car has silky smooth 6 cylinder engine and great interior layout. The seats are supportive and the A/C works very well. There are two main drawbacks for this car. 1. low gas mileage (I average about 21-22 in combined city/hwy driving and I do not push the gas too far usually, so it's probably lower for some others) 2. wind noise through closed windows at freeway speeds is VERY annoying. I initially thought it was a defect but upon more , I noticed this is a common complaint for this car. Overall it rides very well, is reliable, and has good amenities (nothing fancy but all the power items, temperature control, sunroof, etc.) It does NOT have navigation and/or multiple CD headunit. I've replaced the 16' stock wheels with 18' stock wheels from 2004 Nissan Maxima and the car looks great. Would recommend for entry level luxury car that could be had for less than 15k nowdays"

180000

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had to MAF 30 minute job other than GREAT"

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very reliable used car for communte to and from work. No issues with mechanics and drives smooth. Great all around car to have."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Worth it, with reservations

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Nearly everything about this car is good to excellent, with about the only exception being a wimpy front suspension. At 50K miles, began to squeek and groan--replaced struts at about 55K. Now has 90K, and needs them again! I was told I had to use only Nissan-approved parts, (very expensive) and they offered no warranty. A poor excuse for shoddy workmanship. Otherwise, good, comfortable, quick car; good in snow if it is not too deep! About 20 mpg city, 26-27 Hwy, as advertised. Needs premium fuel! Model is GXE, which is "stripped down," but still has nice touches. Back seat is adequate for three kids for short jaunts, better to have two for longer journeys. Very nice sound system, A/C trouble free. Only reason to trade is for somewhat better mileage and regular fuel. Back seats fold down--good for hauling things, but a little noisy on some highways."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best feeling I've experienced with my Maxima 2000 SE. Great car!!!!!!!!!!"

Unique Styling

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"A stylish car, especially the SE version, with great reliability. Another success from Nissan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I love this car!!!

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I now have 65000 on my Maxima and I'm ready for my next one. My family loves this car for its roommy interior, hugh trunk, neat features and I love it for its PERFORMANCE. This is a sports car hiding inside the skin of a family car. It's truly a DRIVER's CAR. The performance is unbelieveable for a 5 passenger 4 door family sedan. Even the mileage is good at 20 around town and 26-28 on the highway. The sport suspension is a little stiff for a family car, but I think that's what gives is such good performance in the mountains and flat out on the highway. And flat out is no problem for the Maxima. So, if you like a softer ride Maxima's not for you, but if you like to dirve (hard) and get there in a hurry, this ride's for you. On a recent trip to Las Vegas I had it up and running without any problems or concerns. It was like it was glued to the road. We got there after 9 hours of hard driving and it wasn't even breathing hard. My only regret was buying the 100,000 mile extended warrany. It was a complete waste of money. I've never used it. In fact, the only time I ever raised the hood was to do the regular service. The only problem I've had is a quirky passenger door window that was never bad enough to fix. The only suggestion I can make to Nissan is to improve the comfort level of the seats. and the screwey power seat controls. But this minor compared to the overall car. I love it and will buy another one as soon as I sell this one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Sporty Sedan

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The 2000 thru 2003 Nissan Maxima is quite possibly one of the best looking sporty sedans ever produced. It has great performance that is unsurpassed for its class. The quality is great, the gas mileage is very decent for the horsepower in performance. The only thing that I can say to make the car better would be rear wheel drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 20 21 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals