Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 543 Ratings for the 2000 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

Still Running Strong with 250K

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around great car"

Cons: "Very unassuming interior looks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am just starting process of looking at replacing my beloved Maxima. Test drove a '07 Civic SI Sedan two days ago. I couldnt believe my '00 Maxima kicked that honda's a**. My clutch has never been replaced and it has way better feel and response than the civic that had 108K. The steering was soft and boring in normal street driving. My Max even though it has a little more body roll due to suspension needing replaced at all four corners still reacts faster and pulls through corners at speed. I also drove an '03 A4 with a V6. No comparison to power my 3.0 still has. Thanks Nissan for making an awesome car that I can fit my three kids into comfortably but still have some fun with when its just me."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Powerful Reliable Sporty Car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks"

Cons: "Actually, nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car Feb 12, 2011. Its about to be one year of being the owner. Reminder! That this is a used 2002 car. 1) Very realiable. 2)decent gas milage about 280 miles per tank during the cold winter and 330 in the warm summer. 3)Love to look and design of the Maxima SE 4) Factory HID headlights and fog lights and the 225/50/17 wheels although kinda pricy to buy tires for. 5)I just like the overall look. 6) Bought miles at 127,154. Current miles are 141,300."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great drive and very comfortable

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "Tires are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the heated seats and steering wheel. It's a great drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2nd Nissan Maxima I've Owned

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, great car all together"

Cons: "Can't think of any cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved my 1988 Maxima and bought this 2002 new and fully loaded. I haven't had a problem with it in 10 years, love it and think it is still better made than the newer ones. Great car for anyone as long as you maintain it just like you should any car. Handles great, smooth ride, Bose sound system - the car has been a love of mine all this time. If you come across one that is in great condition and need a reliable car, seriously consider it. Not to mention, the gas tank is larger than most sadans its size and I usually can go over 400 miles on a tank of gas!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best deal for the money and fun to drive a plus!"

Cons: "CD systems could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this demo '03 Maxima 1/30/2002. It had 19,000mi at the time.Never had any problems until It approached 190000mi. Had to replace two trans computers.Cost was$1,300.00 ofr repairs.Had to change out all hoses and belts at 100,000mi.I just kept up the maintainence on the car by keeping up with the oowners manual. Kept oil changed regularly.Flushing all liquid systems at 100,000mi.CD quit in 2010,left park light cover cracked. All in all, I just drove it. The 3.5 engine has all the power one needs for any highway. Best car I've ever owned!Sorry,but I have no pics. It is white with a spoiler."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

10 years later I still love this car.

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, great styling, crisp handling, quick"

Cons: "Uses premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a great purchase back in '01. When I needed to replace my Honda Accord, I found the new models to be boring and less car for the money. I bought my Maxima for a change of pace, even though it was a little pricey. It turned out to be a bit more expensive to maintain as well, but it has been very reliable, always starts right up, and a great car to drive, sounds and runs smooth. Overall I've been pleased with my vehicle purchases and this one is no exception. It does call for premium gasoline, but with fuel around four dollars per gallon it's not such a big deal."

Love it!

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Outside sounds come in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love it!"

Great Car!!! Had since new

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very reliable"

Cons: "tires leak a bit (very slow)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm an adult driver. I don't take care of the car like I should, sure I get the oil changed every 4-5K miles, but that is about all I have done. Normal items of course have been done, tires and brakes. The only out of the ordinary thing was I had the front bearing replaced at around 100K miles and also the exhaust pipe reattached to some bracket under the car (common issue w/ maximas, only $40 at carx). Overall, great Car and very reliable. Come to think of it, the tires leak because of "corrosion" on the original alloy wheels around the seal with the tire. If I were guarenteed only these problems within the first 10 years of ownership, I would buy a new car today."

This has been one of my all time favorite cars.

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the 5 speed, the car has a very good ride and handles like a sports car. Has been extremely reliable and held up well. I will buy another one. With the changing times I'd like better gas mileage."

love this car

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good handling, great engine, very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great value. I've had 3 Maxima's over 25 years, all have been fantastic! I drove Fords and GM before that, but I much prefer the Nissan's now (Maxima, Altima, Infiniti)."

BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "too small to haul anything big."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have purchased a new vehicle but I am having an extremely hard time letting go of my 2000 Nissan. This car has been the most reliable car I have ever owned.When you crank it even after all these years you can't even hear the engine running. It rides smooth as a new vehicle. I love the 5 speed shift...will really miss that. Even with all the miles, it is still running strong. Wondering if I can part with it!!!"

my first car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive , very reliable,"

Cons: "fake leather, service engine light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i got my maxima used with 54000 miles on it lovethe car when i got it, never really had any problems with it , the only thing i had to get fixed on the car was replacing the battery and one of the ignition coils at 126000. sadly i just totaled my maxima yesterday afternoon because a lady turned in front of me at an intersection when i had a green light. this was my first car but i loved it now its time to move on to something that is even more fun to drive"

Reliable

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable and comfortable. Great horsepower, amazing bose sound system, great leather seats. Good gas mileage, I get an average of 28mpg highway and 22mpg in the city."

my baby blue

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all good"

Cons: "no conns"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my max is nice it like im riding on rails love the performance its fast turn the tires fast and rides like a beamer i can say that because i had a 5 series beamer and i know my max can hang with any benz or beamer so i would not give mine up yet my son will have it next."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car that I've ever owned!!!!

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles the road great!!!! just alround a great car love it!!!"

awesome car!

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, responsive, fast, dependable"

Cons: "it was just finally to short for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car with 68,000 miles on it. it has been wonderful! i'm almost 6 feet tall, and now i'm 51 years old, and it's getting hard to get down in and up out of because of my hip soreness, or i would keep driving it! i was not sorry one day for buying this car!"

Best vehicle ever!!! I love this car!!!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car brand new and have driven it for the past 12 years. It is a super car! It has great get up and go, it rides smoothly and is very very dependable. The most important factor, it is safe. My car was rear ended yesterday and it took the impact full on. My son and I were hardly injured. This car saved our lives. I would recommend it to anyone!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has had multiple issues.

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: falling apart at the seams

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car started having problems when it was only 5 years old. Had to replace idle air valve, electronic computer module multiple times. If you research this car online the problems are endless. I don't know how it gets 4.5 stars out of 5 on this site. Throw it away and get a new one, and not a Nissan."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my first car!

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Aside from body work, this has been a great car. Up until recently when I seized the engine, all the repairs were rust related. But thats what you get living in New England i guess lol"

Wont own another make or model!

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride is smooth and clean. 02' still a looker!"

Cons: "Leather burns in summer and cold in winter!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love Maxima's! Drives like a Lincoln! This is the 3rd I've owned and only upgrading in years and not in models! Always been reliable, Great on gas for 6cyl, and spacious for the family."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The 4 door sedan that leaves you at the light.

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dosnt fit it's looks"

Cons: "Tranny downshifts too easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My faverite thing about this car is it's look. It looks like a family sedan. And when someone gets in to mine the first comment I get is the full leather interior suprised them. Then the sound system is usually next. Stock system is bose. The final comment I get is when i need to pass or accelerate quick. The torque curve isnt the greatest but it hits at a decent rpm. It has a high redline for the kind of car it is. Since it only comes with one engine Nissan can design the car around that one engine instead of two. Road noise isnt the greatest either but not at a level where its an issue. I also dont know if its just me but the car does decent offroad if you ever get in the situation as long as you know what your doing. Just this week I drove about 75 yards through red clay, and 4 inches of water and didnt get stuck. Yet my freinds F-250 with 4x4 did. Recently I'm smelling burning oil, but it's not missing any oil at changes. So I'm looking to sell now before it becomes a problem."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

5 speed,3.0L,This car is fast,comfortableafordable

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,431

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quick,comfortable,sporty"

Cons: "Cop magnet, blacked out.140mph speeding ticket."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always loved Maximas there luxurious,sporty,Good price range,Mine is only worth 3,000 dollars and I feel like its worth alot more because of its reliability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Alternative to a BMW

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "performance and ride"

Cons: "Small cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car stills feels like new after 69,000 miles.The interior is classy and well crafted and the performance will surprise most who drive a BMW I series.Very reliable with only regular wear and tear repairs such as brakes etc."

Piece of JUNK

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"From day one the computer in the car sends false signals to the car that the transmission is locked up and the car forgets what gear it is in. We have replaced a$600 part SEVEN times in six years. Something unknown is breaking that part and it's not my mechanic:( multiply local mechanics have looked at it. Dies when turning left. Dies when sitting idol at a stop sign. Dies when it's cOld or the heater is being used. Won't drive over six mph. Lame. This steal horse is about to be sold to the glue factory!!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Car is loaded but have had no problems w/anything.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good resale value, fun to drive, totally reliable"

Cons: "Uses premium fuel (but gets 25-30 mpg)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car new and have had no major problems with it at all. Performance is great. Gas mileage is excellent for a V-6. I have owned the car for almost 10 years which is a record for me. Would recommend a Nissan Maxima 2002 or 2003 to anyone!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details