Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 546 Ratings for the 2000 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

very nice sedan

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "more space than you expect with a luxury touch"

Cons: "not the best gas saver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice medium car very comfortable with excellent driving stability"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

no regrets

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power, comfortable, good on gas, bose sound"

Cons: "road noise, torque steer, prefers premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I just hit 200000 miles on my 2000 Maxima SE and this engine is still going strong(I think it was one of the best V-6 engines ever!).This car has respectable power and is quite reliable. Other than the replacement of an occasional ignition coil, it's definitely a keeper."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car I have ever owned, period

By on Monday, September 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the car has the smoothest engine I've ever driven"

Cons: "gas mileage combined was low 20's......"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had 270,000 miles on the original engine and transmission. Regretfully, the car was totalled when I was hit from behind by another driver, who was supposedly doing 50+ mph at the time of impact. This was absolutely the best and most reliable car I have ever owned, and is my 4th consecutive Nissan with over 150,000 miles on it, going all the way back to a 1985 280ZX Turbo."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Easy to Repair, So Much Fun to Drive

By on Monday, September 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "body, interior, fun to drive, keeps its value"

Cons: "turn radius, premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Beach shot

"I owned my 2003 Maxima GLE for three years, rode it every day to school and work. It was the best car I've driven in my life. Smooth as silk, with enough power to beat a Mustang. The body has stayed in style for ten years, where other sedans look like grandma cars now. Nissan did a great job. The inside was comfortable, almost felt like a luxury car. Drop it into third and give it some gas, and you'll be amazed. It was not perfect - the turn radius is horrible, so parking isn't fun. It needed a lot of parts replaced once it turned 150,000. Front bearings, front and rear shocks, alternator, front sway bar bushings, radiator, and windshield fluid pump all gave out within 15,000 miles. But she was easy to work on, and we did all the repairs ourselves with no problems. She runs best on premium, the engine knocks with 87, and doesn't have as much power with 89/91 as with 93. In the end, the car met its demise in a crash, 30 mph into a stopped vehicle. Airbags deployed, no one was injured. I miss it dearly."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Beach shot

Overall very reliable comfortable ride

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks great, rides great, very reliable"

Cons: "O2 sensors problems, wide turn circle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Really impressive reliability. Regret not going with the standard or anniversary edition due to wanting a more sporty effect. Only a 3 speed automatic transmission. Sliding sunroof would stain ceiling due to water leak from automated car washes. Overall for 13 years has been problem free except for one O2 sensor servicing required which was paid for with extended warranty."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love this car its amazing!

By on Tuesday, August 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Big, great price, fun to drive, safe."

Cons: "Nothing really to say."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Nissan Maxima SE is the best thing ever!! Its my first car and I love it. Its got the perfect amount of power to keep me out of trouble, but to get going if I need it to. Corners well. The interior is amazing, it is like a luxury car. I was considering getting a honda accord but they just have too many problems around these years. PERFECT CAR."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best value city & country car for driving mavins

By on Thursday, August 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power-to-weight ratio and overall efficiency"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"At 12 years and 180K miles, this car has been a great combination of value, power (222HP), weight (3100lbs), economy (honest 28mpg/highway on 91 octane), roominess and reliability on long trips (6K not unusual, at high-cruising speed) without fatigue through the mountain and west coast states. It has great window view w/minimum pillar-width giving great visibility and safety. I don't recommend it in heavy winter states (it's low drag coefficient omits water-shedding window gutters and flares), but occasional use in winter and wet weather isn't a problem. With its 17" V (or W) tires and 5-speed (ungoverned engine), it's probably the fastest Maxima ever (unloaded and in wide open spaces, it still firmly touches 140mph- but don't tell). Unfortunately, they aren't making them of this value any more."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great to drive, horrible to park

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: time for a lower mileage car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "perilous in ice and snow, even with FWd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This Maxima was my only deviation from Mazda in nearly 30 years of driving. Great fun to drive, cornered like a dream. Those 17-inch wheels and the low profile tires made it horrible to park. My husband thought I was just being a "woman driver" until the first time he parked it -- his Ford Explorer was more nimble. It also chewed through tires, and those low profiles were expensive to replace. There wasn't much room in the wheel wells, and ice and snow would build up in no time, making for some perilous winter driving. Might be a better choice for someone living in a warm climate, but not for New England winters."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Drive, Not So Great Quality

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun car to drive, especially in the mountains."

Cons: "Eats starters, oxygen sensors and CV boots."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had this car for 10 years now and had to have 2 starters installed. Also, I've had to replace a couple of emission sensors. And, a couple of CV boots. Even though the car handles like a dream, I doubt if I'll buy another Nissan product. Too unreliable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE EVER

By on Sunday, August 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my Maxima, runs smooth, comfortable and has power."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals