Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 508 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next

Bought a week ago. I love it

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome drive, sporty for a sedan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive never owned nor particularly ever liked Nissan. I bought this as a secondary vehicle. Originally looking at older Lexus and BMW. Went to look at a 92 Lexus and came home with my 96 Maxima. Comfort and luxury wise it is right up there with the Lexus. The leather and woodgrain dont look cheap or like theyre just an add on. Only thing ive replaced so far is an A/C trim bezel that was broken when i bought the car. Cheap and easy fix thanks to ebay. For an 18 year old car it has aged gracefully."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very sweet ride even with new car standards

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive,plenty power,"

Cons: "Bose Head units are a weak point"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 4th generation maxima 95-99, are very nice and luxurious (gle) and even the base model are very nice!extremely reliable in my opinion, but of course that depends on the maintainance being kept up!if you keep the maintainance up you will have a very long running vehicle.112k miles and nothing but minor normal wear items I.E o2 sensor, cv boots,"

Great car , horrible depreciation.

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast , safe, good in snow , most luxury options ."

Cons: "More expensive then an avg. car to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most cars this good hold their value a lot better. I paid 1300 bucks for my 1996 gxe. Luckily it is a GXE with a sliding sunroof , security system and it's black . They only issues I've had is the knock sensor and lower radiator support. When it starts it runs great , when it doesn't it can be expensive to fix. Overall , you're talking about a 25k car in 1996 that did a standing 15 second quarter mile . This is the first car I've owned that I said , "I'm never going to sell this car. ""

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable car ever purchased

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle was great to drive with good pickup and handling at any speed. We did not know that it required premium gas at the time of purchased. Gas consumption was fine on highway but not so good in city driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicl ever.

By on Thursday, November 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great on gas, great pickup"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new. Never once had any issues, other than routine maintenance. Very dependable, rides like a dream and the features and options still work perfectly and has been the best car I have ever purchased new."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car has been nearly bullet proof.

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, safe, reliable beyond compare"

Cons: "not sure the new maxima v6's are same quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been nearly bullet proof. This particular v6 is the best motor I have ever driven. It now has 330,000 miles on it and drives better than any comparable new car I test drive. overall, the best value and quality of any car I have owned"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Owned 15 years and LOVE

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets great gas mileage and its low maintenance."

Cons: "Light weight, could have better front end traction"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had this car for ten years. I got it when my father passed away - he bought it brand new. It has been extremely reliable and seldom needs anything other than regular maintenance of oil changes, etc. If I were looking to purchase a new car, I would first look into a Maxima."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 269,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love, love this car. Never had a major problem. Change the oil every 2,000 miles with premium oil and the car rides like a "purring kitten". Nothing on the car does not work."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Luved my Max

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"as the second owner, I got this car with high miles on it, been driving it 4 yrs +, yes it has a lil rust from this Indiana weather but otherwise it has been one of the favorite cars I've owned. 300,000+ miles and was still going strong until it got rear ended sitting at a red light and totaled. Very impressed with the safety of the passengers with the high speed impact it took, no one was hurt even tho we were shoved thru the intersection. Hate to lose it this way. :("

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST CARE IVE EVER OWNED!!!

By on Saturday, October 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,798

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, ALOT OF SPACE! Good on gas for a V6!"

Cons: "ABSOLUTELY NONE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For starters, this is by far the best vehicle I ever owned. It handles like its on rails! Its power to weight ratio is right on point. They just don't make them like this anymore. I bought this car with 122k on it and it drives like I just bought it off of the showroom. Even back in 1997 Nissan was making vehicles that you could compare to modern day vehicles! I LOVE THE POWER!! VVRRROOMM!!! IF YOUR THINKING ABOUT BUYING STOP RESEARCHING AND JUST BUY IT!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals