Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 509 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

Been a Reliable and Comfortable Ride

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good handling and very very reliable. Held up well"

Cons: "I am 6'4" 220 it was a bit small for me but OK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Changed the oil for the first 50000 miles at 3000 mile intervals. Tafter that went to the purple oil and changed it every 12,000 miles. Always had even tire ware. Only had one mechanical issue which was minor to fix. The car still has the same pep today hen you push the accelerator as it did when I bought it. It is just time for a new one......... I have been saving the payments since I paid off the two year loan......"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not a good vehicle to get through college.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned a 1999 Nissan Maxima for just over 2 years. After the first year of having it the transmission started shifting hard and the breaks are squeaky. I have had my breaks checked and they are fine but still squeak to this day. Recently the starter has become weak, the bearings are shot, my car is "missing out" and my CV axle has a nice hole in it. I wouldn't recommend this old of a Nissan to anyone considering if it has as many problems as mine it probably wouldn't last long."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Great investment!

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only my second car but I've had no problems with it and being a teenager I've put it through it's paces. I love taking it on five hour drives to my relatives house. It's extremely comfortable and fun to drive. It still pulls hard and runs exceptionally well for having 167000 miles on it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car, exceeded my expectations.

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great looking!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 15 years, I can still drive this car anywhere I want to go - out of town or in town. A great value that has exceeded my expectations by far."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable, peppy car!

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great engine and excellent reliability."

Cons: "Only a single CD player and it is a old model."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been an extremely reliable car with a great engine that delivered all the power needed. The only downside was a bit of body roll but overall a fun car to drive with the stick shift."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER!!

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives great, Sporty, Plenty of Room"

Cons: "A little rough on gas, but it is a V6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 8 years and it has been one of the most reliable vehicles I have ever owned!! Even though it has over 200,000 miles on it the motor still sounds great! I would still trust this car to take on more beach vacations. The exhaust is a little rusty and has a couple of holes in it which makes the car have a little purr to it, but other than that it has been great. 15 years later the power seats, power windows, and sunroof all work like new. There has been no major motor malfunctions with my Maxima. Over all there isn't anything negative I could possibly say about my Maxima. I still have it but purchased a 2009 Altima. High recommend this car!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Not the best driver but extremely well built

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Extremely well built and reliable, easy to work on"

Cons: "Handling is ok but far from great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned many cars over the years and though some have been better drivers none have been as reliable or as well built. For example - I had far more problems with a 1 yr old VW Jetta than I've had in 13 years with this car. Although I can easy buy a new car I feel a bond with this one and have no plans to sell it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, reliable, quite, overall great"

Cons: "cup holders are not big enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been great for me and I hope to keep it another 10 years because we always use it on long distances. This car has been great for the family with its reliability and comfortability."

Very reliable and little repair needed.

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Not the most beautiful interior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car since 2001. I've always been able to rely on it for local driving and for traveling. It has been safe and reliable with little repair maintenance needed over time. As far as repairs, I would estimate that I have spent $1000 at the most over the 11 years that I have had the car. Additionally, I will note that it is a very smooth driver. I have driven many other cars, and this one is definitely superior in terms of ease of steering and ease of accelerating. Prior to this car, I owned a 1989 Nissan Maxima. It only lasted until 2001, and it began having major transmission issues at 130000 miles. The 1996 is a far superior year for the Maxima."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best handling car I have ever had.

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling, quiet ride, spacious interior"

Cons: "Small Cup Holders, Premium Gasoline."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my maxima gxe for 5 years now and have loved it. It handles extremely well and has an incredible turn radius. It has adequate power and can move when I need it to. As she has gotten older I have had to replace the suspension, brakes, window motors, and cv joints, but on a car with 155,000 miles that isn't surprising. I haven't had any issues with it that would lead me to believe that I am not in possession of a quality vehicle. Even in the year 2012, people riding in my 1997 Maxima still have really positive things to say about her ride quality and how she handles. My only gripe would be that you have to use premium gasoline. Nissan has sold me on the Maxima and should I ever buy another sedan, the Maxima will be my first look."

Been a Nissan family for 2 generations

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "v6 with good power, nice interior"

Cons: "awkward to get at spark plugs, oil and fuel filter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first car that I bought, after driving my dad's 1972 Datsun 510 for years. I ended up buying it one year past the current model year, and have driven it for the past 14 years. In that time I have had zero transmission problems, and gotten fair gas mileage. I enjoy the way it handles, the driving experience and the responsiveness of the v6 engine. For the car class, the vehicle interior is spacious, well laid out. Large enough to accomodate 4 people on a long road trip, but maneuverable enough for city driving."

Great Car

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only thing done to is new breaks, tires and oil change."

LOVE IT!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it with 31k in 2000. Except for minor maintenance, this car has been awesome. I am so sad that it's time to get something different."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

They don't make em' like they use tah!

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "speedy, reliable if taken care of, strong, durable"

Cons: "small cup holders, dated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 96 Maxima has been in my family since it was brand new in 1996. My mom had it, then my sister in 2006, and then i in 2009 until now. My dad as always keep up on the cars maintenance but not much as had to be done. This car has gone through two new drivers. Trust me, me and my sister have hit some random tough objects. But, you wouldn't be able to tell because of its strong exterior. I love this car, and i know my family has too. sad to see it go! but i definitely recommend it! especially new drivers. Because, as they say the older the car the better. It really does teach you too become a better driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long life"

Cons: "Gas mileage ( but the power is worth it)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first car, I got it used at around 150,000 miles. It has been such a champ for me. The coils are starting to go out and I've been told that is one of the only weak spots in the maximas. I don't want to give it up though!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ive had this car for 6 years. its amazing!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I just bought this vehicle at an auction....

By on Sunday, February 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Manual Transmission makes this a zippy. fun car to"

Cons: "None whatsoever!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently got in an accident with my 97 Maxima, and was so pleased with that vehicle that I decided to purchase another Maxima. When you buy from an auction, you can't test drive the vehicles, but I trusted that buying another Nissan would be a wise decision. And I was right! The value of the newly purchased 1998 Maxima is 2x more than what I paid for it! I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants a safe, reliable vehicle"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I am very happy with this car.

By on Wednesday, February 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "expensive to repair (the GLE)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used @ 9 years old. I am the 2nd owner. I have been very satisfied. The Bose audio is great. All the power features work. I had to replace the alternater. That was expensive, but so far that is the only major work the car has needed. Over all, I am very happy with this car."

Pretty Great Car!

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Easy to work on"

Cons: "Low in the mpg department (V6)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great smooth drive, powerful accl, alright mpg when compared to power. All around great car."

I Love this car And wish I hadn't sold it!!

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: I just needed a bigger vechile.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun safe reliable great car"

Cons: "kinda a gas gussler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had my Nissan for 5 yrs and I got it from my Grandma who bought it new. I drove it every where and i loved it. I sold it to buy a bigger suv whitch i hated so i'm selleing it now. Just wish i could have my car back."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great driving family fixture for over a decade

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used in 2001, driven hard with minimal maintenance for over ten years, reluctant to part with it, but if Mama ain't happy..."

Best car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "perfect, fun, family friendly, sporty, fast"

Cons: "back seats dont fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was purchased with 20K miles. I have put over 234K on her. her interior is still perfect , the body is great. Never wrecked. ( Im not easy on a car by any means) she has hauled lots of stuff people said I could not get in her. Everything still works with the exception of the clock and dome light. I think it may be a fuse. I have no complaints. truely the least expensive care i have ever owned. and the longest I have ever kept a car."

Still runs, looks great after 15 yrs, 164K mi.

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive, good looking"

Cons: "rust around rear wheel well; weak cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would keep, enjoy this car for more years if wife weren't so hot on a new car. Feels like it has at least another 75-100K in it, easily."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I bought my 96 in December of 95 love my "max"

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "light weight car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVED MY CAR!!!"

16 yo and still drives better than our new car.

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent value, refined drive, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used 11 years ago, thinking we would keep it 3 years. We have thought about trading it in a few times, but every time we look at newer cars, we are amazed at how much better our old Maxima is! The interior is very well appointed and has held up very well. The paint still looks great (I wash/wax regularly, but nothing too special). It has plenty of power; it feels much sportier than other cars we've tested that claim to have 50 more hp. Our friends are always amazed to find out it's more than a few years old. I have invested about $2,800 (suspension, brakes twice, power steering pump, cv joints, mass airflow sensor) in maintenance and repairs and put on two new sets of tires (~$400/each set) over the past 11 years, but today it still drives almost like a new car. Compared to trading it in for a newer car, we have saved many thousands and still have a better car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals