Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 513 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

Awesome car!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "perfect handling; supreme comfort; gorgeous looks"

Cons: "tilt steering could tilt up just a touch more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LOVE this car, and it pains me to have to move on. Came with every appointment, and was supremely comfortable and handles supremely! Only thing I wish it had had was auto-up on the driver window to go with the auto-down... but it WAS from 1999 after all. Sweetest car I've ever owned... bought it 6 years old, and it's lasted me a good 10 years!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best acceleration, reliable, roomy. I love it.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I need a better MPG or I would never let it go."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Homely but mechanically bulletproof

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, cost effective and a pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Average body and interior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven Nissan products for over 40 years. I have always found them to be mechanically sound and dependable. Hard to kill. They are homely, even odd looking, automobiles except for the latest generation Maxima but they have my respect. I don't care much for the coach work which is average in quality but the running gear, if maintained, has always been an exceptionally strong point. They can be driven hundreds of thousands of miles with little more than regularly changing the oil, oil filter and air filter and putting a set of tires on every 50K miles. I have owned early 510s, 610s, 710s, 810s and 5 Maximas up through the 1998 model year and have never been disappointed in even one of them. The 1998 Maxima GXE I currently own is no exception."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned. 170K miles, drive daily.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Handling, reliability, ride and stereo/"

Cons: "Nothing, I love this car & will buy a new one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 1997. Changed the belts at 50,100 and 150K miles, changed plugs every 30k miles, replaced one radiator at 154K, otherwise never in the shop. Starts on the first try, runs like a dream and with 170K miles this car still rides like a Cadillac and has the get up and go of a Camaro when merging into traffic. Just took it on a 760 miles trip, 28 mpg with 4 people and a trunk full of luggage."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

THE CAR LOOKS AND RUNS GOOD, BUT HIGH MILAGE

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "Bad exhaust leak."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"THE CAR LOOKS AND RUNS GOOD, BUT HIGH MILAGE AND EXHAUST LEAK. NOISY."

Bought a week ago. I love it

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome drive, sporty for a sedan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive never owned nor particularly ever liked Nissan. I bought this as a secondary vehicle. Originally looking at older Lexus and BMW. Went to look at a 92 Lexus and came home with my 96 Maxima. Comfort and luxury wise it is right up there with the Lexus. The leather and woodgrain dont look cheap or like theyre just an add on. Only thing ive replaced so far is an A/C trim bezel that was broken when i bought the car. Cheap and easy fix thanks to ebay. For an 18 year old car it has aged gracefully."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very sweet ride even with new car standards

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive,plenty power,"

Cons: "Bose Head units are a weak point"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 4th generation maxima 95-99, are very nice and luxurious (gle) and even the base model are very nice!extremely reliable in my opinion, but of course that depends on the maintainance being kept up!if you keep the maintainance up you will have a very long running vehicle.112k miles and nothing but minor normal wear items I.E o2 sensor, cv boots,"

Great car , horrible depreciation.

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast , safe, good in snow , most luxury options ."

Cons: "More expensive then an avg. car to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most cars this good hold their value a lot better. I paid 1300 bucks for my 1996 gxe. Luckily it is a GXE with a sliding sunroof , security system and it's black . They only issues I've had is the knock sensor and lower radiator support. When it starts it runs great , when it doesn't it can be expensive to fix. Overall , you're talking about a 25k car in 1996 that did a standing 15 second quarter mile . This is the first car I've owned that I said , "I'm never going to sell this car. ""

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable car ever purchased

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle was great to drive with good pickup and handling at any speed. We did not know that it required premium gas at the time of purchased. Gas consumption was fine on highway but not so good in city driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicl ever.

By on Thursday, November 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great on gas, great pickup"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new. Never once had any issues, other than routine maintenance. Very dependable, rides like a dream and the features and options still work perfectly and has been the best car I have ever purchased new."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals