Go

1994 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 114 Ratings for the 1992 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Epic

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "EVERYTHINGy"

Cons: "Cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had two identical 1991 Nissan Maxima SE, in both flavors an automatic and 5 speed manual transmission 1991. The first when 220K miles before my sister decided to sell it due to its age. While it had a few things wrong (as to be expected from a car that went flawlessly for 15 years and 220 thousand miles. Head gasket and burning a little bit of oil. The second one hasn’t been so great, in the reliability department it has been slightly spotty in the fuel injector department the car runs smother then the 2002 Nissan Altima we bought to replace it, with rusting fuel injectors. Had the engine not been steamed cleaned, I’m sure the car would still be running flawlessly. Driving the cars is a blast, and the 3.0L V6 offers a great mix between power and MPG. We have recorded up to 30 MPG on the highway on trips from Portland to Seattle. Its smooth, and sounds pretty awesome for a stock exhaust system. The car, even being a 1991 model year still has the ability to turn heads in parking lots. Where this car has impressed me the most? Hard to say, but I think its do anything attitude. It seems to do everything I we ask of it. If its driving for three hours running on 5 fuel injectors and 20 year old timing belt, or driving in snow with the traction that I thought could only be offered by a all wheel drive system (in performance tires, no less!) Seriously I have driving by big 4X4 trucks stuck in the snow and we just putt on by. The ONLY con I can think of is the lack of cup holders. And I find that opening the top on the center counsel offers a nice flat surface to hold drink containers. Provided you take it easy in the corners. Then again with a car like this you might discover thats a lot harder then it sounds!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love this car.

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,423

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power, reliable, comfortable, economical."

Cons: "no cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love this car. spent 900.00 for it and put in an additional 1000.00 in minor repairs due to previous owner. i would still spend another 5000.00 if it needed it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Got me out of a pinch'

By on Thursday, February 26, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 1989 Maxima SE a year and a half ago with 316,000 miles on it. It is a 5 speed and not too pretty but heck I paid $650 for it. It has way exceeded my expectations and I recommend this car to anyone that needs a cheap reliable car. I expected to own it for 6 months maybe and its been a year and a half. Plus aside from normal stuff i.e. oil changes etc. I only had to replace the master and slave cylinders for the clutch.... but the ones replaced got the car all the way to 316,00 so it was about time. May of got lucky but I dont think so.. Car is at 345,000 now and I have sold it for $600 and it passed smog!The ONLY reason that I sold it is because I want something that looks better. Hope this helps."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

She finally quit after 340xxx miles

By on Saturday, September 25, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car Ive ever owned by far. Ive had my car 3 1/2 years and finally had the major problem. The transmission finally went out, however, the motor still runs like a champ! And Ive got to be honest, i haven't exactly been the best owner to this car but she still ran fantastic despite. It actually wasn't until about 250xxx that anything other than the typical expected went wrong with it. I would absolutely recommend this car!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Maxima

By on Thursday, April 01, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought a 1990 Maxima and honestly this is the worts car i ever owned. I had it for 1 year and nothing but trouble, engine idles high, fuel pump went out, power locks stopped working, rear windows quit working one day, and transmission went out at 124,000 miles. Stay away from it, it has good performance but this car is trouble"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Built to Run

By on Monday, February 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"After a 4000 mile round trip to Chicago via Denver, New Orleans, and Houston Texas; I was truly impressed with the 1990 Nissan Maxima. It handled the mountains of Colorado as though they were the flat lands of Texas. The 3.0 liter V6 loves to "run"."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Tough as Nails

By on Thursday, April 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 1994 Maxima used and I have had it for 10 years. For the last 2 years, I have driven it on a 76 mile mail route and it has never let me down! In 10 years, the only thing I have had to do is change a couple of window motors...no problem. I had the door molding repainted, because these cars seem to have a problem with the paint coming off there. That's a small price to pay for a car that just keeps going like the energizer bunny! I love my car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i have one with 203000 and it still drives nice and smooth"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Okay car

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought it for $900 and has 160,000 miles and have had it for about a year and a half and have put probably close to $2,000 dollars into fixing it. Fuel injectors went out and there is a REALLY bad oil leak. No transmission problems yet, always dependable, looks nice, very good for the age."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What more can you ask of a car?

By on Friday, October 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is, hands down, the most reliable, dependable car I have ever owned, and I've owned this one for 16 years. Everything on it still works fine, it's still peppy and responsive, and hasn't cost an arm and a leg to maintain either. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great piece of machinery

By on Monday, October 01, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"A pleasure to drive but we have had problems (between 150,000 and 200,000 miles) with a couple fuel injectors and suspension (though we live on sandy dirt roads so that may have something to do with it). It has cost us about $2500 past two and a half years). Drives like a dream and gas mileage is good for a V6."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Durable!

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Been driving my maxima for almost 5 years. Mostly electrical problems (radio and windows) and worn parts (replaced belts and oil leaks), but if maintained these cars will run forever. Over 150K miles on it and still going strong. It has never left me on the side of the road, but I do have to watch the oil."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The one you can always depend on.

By on Tuesday, January 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 89 SE in 2006. it had 186k on it. I gave $1200 for it. I can truly say its the best $1200 I have ever spent. I love this car to death even with 218000 miles on it. It has only left me stranded once and it was because the alt went out in it. And It was my fault because the stereo system I have abused it. It was expected on a car that is 20 years old with factory alt with the abuse I put it through. In my opinion, it is the best car as far as comfort for a long trip, no matter where you sit. It gets around like a tank in the snow with right tires. The only down fall is the injectors are prone to fail along with the window actuators. but cold weather is usually what triggers this problems. I just can't say enough good things about these cars. I own an 05 Mustang GT 5speed and this car comes pretty close to it as far as fun for your money. Don't think twice when It comes to buying a Maxima."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awsome just awsome

By on Friday, December 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned this car sense 1994 and used it for work purposuses. It just died 12-5-09 due to rust, the frame broke, and although its repairable i dont want to fix it. 396010 miles and it still had more in it!!! unbelievealbe i love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Been a great car!!!

By on Friday, December 11, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 92' Maxima that has been my baby for the past two years. The car has had a few little issues, but I have always been able to hope in and drive it. Very cool and stylish looking, rides great, handles great and plenty of power. With new sporty rims, a big spoiler and a new paint job, my car looks just as good as those that roll off the showroom floor. Unfortunaltely, the transmission decided to die all of a sudden, but is getting fixed. Despite the transmission, I would reccomend this car to anyone! And if you own one that does die on you, its best to just fix it and keep going because these cars are well worth it! (And its cheaper than a car payment!)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 02, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Owned this car since it was brand new. No major headaches, in fact very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent 4 door sports car

By on Wednesday, November 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the second owner of my '92 Maxima. It had 34,000 miles on it when I purchased it from the Nissan dealer back in '93. 16 years and 135,000 miles later I still own it and it has been an awesome car. Everything still works - the electric antenna, the power mirrors (which have a convenient defrost feature) and there is not a tear or snag in the upholstery. The car gets great gas mileage in the city and still has enough kick to power up steep hills. It's an old car and I've encountered some repairs that should be expected from a 17 year old car: power window regulators, fuel injectors, alternator and other regular maintenance items. Other than that, this car has been incredibly reliable and still looks great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Friday, January 09, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this 1991 Maxima as a leftover in February 1992. 17 years and 160,000 relatively trouble free miles later I believe I got my monies worth. The car still runs great. We use it as an extra car and I must finally part with it. I will miss it. No major repairs over 17 years. Engine, transmission, etc are original. No visible rust either. This Maxima will still be a great first car for someone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

nice vehicle

By on Friday, December 26, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my maxima. Im a college student, and it has been very reliable, except 1 day a year when it overheats... but usually very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Maximas Amaze Me

By on Friday, August 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I can't believe these litttle cars. I now have over 248,000 on my 1994 Maxima SE. I have not yet needed engine or transmission work done. I did replace the starter at 199,000, and the fuel pump at 220,000. Other than that, just regular maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

93 Nissan Maxima

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Smooth ride, dependable, good pickup but maintenance has been an item. It is expensive to keep in excellent condition. Odd things need replacing or fixing. For example, the windows drop down and require a new motor. This has happened on every window at some time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle

By on Sunday, February 17, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this vehicle for 11-year already and I cannot complaint about it, it has 215000 miles on it and still keep on going with power and a/c. Minor fixing as usual for its age, the gas it does about 18mpg on highway, the comfort its pretty good, enough to stretch on the back seats.I will keep this maxima to its max. as long as you keep this vehicle on services you will have a lot to go for."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love this car!

By on Tuesday, December 04, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"this car is wonderful! i havent owned it very long but it is such a nice ride. it starts reliably every time, even in cold weather. my only complaint is that the mpg has decreased significantly in cold weather. i love the look or the car and i feel very safe in it. it is also very powerful and flies up mountains!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, November 06, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement