Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1994 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 114 Ratings for the 1989 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

great

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,900

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good"

Still going at 283,000 miles

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid and safe; decent gas mileage; still looks good"

Cons: "no cup holders and no good place to set a coffee cup; seems to go through brakepads pretty quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has served me well. While the Nissan has been a little harder on brake work (as has my newer Honda), it has been a good car. I put a new transmission in it at 250,000 miles. That's how much faith I had in the car. Wish I could afford a new one!!!"

By on Thursday, May 07, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, October 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, December 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Always been a reliable vehicle

By on Saturday, November 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car ever for the 5 years I have owned it."

Great car that is very reliable.

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride and handling. Awesome stereo system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1993 Nissan Maxima GXE brand new and have had it ever since. It has 205,000 on the original transmission with no transmission work needed so far. I haven't had any issues with the sun roof which surprised me. It has been a great car. It has had an excellent maintenance history. The only issue I had was with the motorized antenna which had to be replaced several times over the 18 years. I am thinking of finally donating it to a charity group here in town. As for the cup holder issue, I remedied that back in 1994 when visiting a boat show in Tampa, FL. They sell cup holders that fold up to go on boats so I bought two of them and drilled tiny holes into the the pastic housing to the right side of the gear shift box and mounted both cup holders there. They have worked like a champ for over 17 years. The only draw back is that while the cup holder is open, you cannot move the passenger seat all the way forward but that was a small inconvenience for two great cup holders that have served me well."

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My dad got this car brand new in April 1994 and here I am in August 2010 and I still love it. The car runs very smoothly. I've never had any major issues. Everything still works well. I've got over 174,000 miles on it and am hoping to have it for at least 4 more years. It has the code keyless entry which doesn't come on many cars today. It has a few nicks in the paint (its 16 years old) so I may actually get it repainted. Either way extremely reliable car that has never broken down and will run as long as you change the oil and take good care of it."

By on Sunday, August 01, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 18, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 18, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, June 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1994 Maxima SE

By on Saturday, May 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the original owner of this car and driven it only 94,350 over 16 years. It has started every time. CV boots, O2 sensor, and fuel injectors. Replaced the rear 1,3,5 injectors in 2008 and replaced 2,4,6 last week. I should have replaced all the injectors in 2008. Other than maintenance that's it. All power accessories have always worked except the power antenna drive cable snapped around 04. The car is up for sale now with tears in my eyes. Still looks, runs and handles great."

By on Friday, February 12, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, February 10, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, December 29, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1989 Maxima SE

By on Saturday, November 28, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I'm the original owner of this 1989 Maxima SE, which I had to wait 4 months to get the car back in 1989. The original pearl paint job still looks good after 20 years. The car has been used mostly for city driving, but for 7 years the car was in storage with a transmission problem. Over its life I had the starter, radiator, brake lines, normal ignition parts, exhaust, and 5-speed manual transmission replaced. The optional stereo and A/C has now failed to work. The car has 145K miles, still runs like new, but after 20 years, the body rust is going to require me to part with the car. This is clearly the longest running car I have ever owned."

By on Wednesday, November 04, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals