Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1994 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 114 Ratings for the 1989 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

By on Wednesday, February 10, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

The one you can always depend on.

By on Tuesday, January 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 89 SE in 2006. it had 186k on it. I gave $1200 for it. I can truly say its the best $1200 I have ever spent. I love this car to death even with 218000 miles on it. It has only left me stranded once and it was because the alt went out in it. And It was my fault because the stereo system I have abused it. It was expected on a car that is 20 years old with factory alt with the abuse I put it through. In my opinion, it is the best car as far as comfort for a long trip, no matter where you sit. It gets around like a tank in the snow with right tires. The only down fall is the injectors are prone to fail along with the window actuators. but cold weather is usually what triggers this problems. I just can't say enough good things about these cars. I own an 05 Mustang GT 5speed and this car comes pretty close to it as far as fun for your money. Don't think twice when It comes to buying a Maxima."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, December 29, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awsome just awsome

By on Friday, December 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned this car sense 1994 and used it for work purposuses. It just died 12-5-09 due to rust, the frame broke, and although its repairable i dont want to fix it. 396010 miles and it still had more in it!!! unbelievealbe i love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Been a great car!!!

By on Friday, December 11, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 92' Maxima that has been my baby for the past two years. The car has had a few little issues, but I have always been able to hope in and drive it. Very cool and stylish looking, rides great, handles great and plenty of power. With new sporty rims, a big spoiler and a new paint job, my car looks just as good as those that roll off the showroom floor. Unfortunaltely, the transmission decided to die all of a sudden, but is getting fixed. Despite the transmission, I would reccomend this car to anyone! And if you own one that does die on you, its best to just fix it and keep going because these cars are well worth it! (And its cheaper than a car payment!)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 02, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Owned this car since it was brand new. No major headaches, in fact very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1989 Maxima SE

By on Saturday, November 28, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I'm the original owner of this 1989 Maxima SE, which I had to wait 4 months to get the car back in 1989. The original pearl paint job still looks good after 20 years. The car has been used mostly for city driving, but for 7 years the car was in storage with a transmission problem. Over its life I had the starter, radiator, brake lines, normal ignition parts, exhaust, and 5-speed manual transmission replaced. The optional stereo and A/C has now failed to work. The car has 145K miles, still runs like new, but after 20 years, the body rust is going to require me to part with the car. This is clearly the longest running car I have ever owned."

Excellent 4 door sports car

By on Wednesday, November 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the second owner of my '92 Maxima. It had 34,000 miles on it when I purchased it from the Nissan dealer back in '93. 16 years and 135,000 miles later I still own it and it has been an awesome car. Everything still works - the electric antenna, the power mirrors (which have a convenient defrost feature) and there is not a tear or snag in the upholstery. The car gets great gas mileage in the city and still has enough kick to power up steep hills. It's an old car and I've encountered some repairs that should be expected from a 17 year old car: power window regulators, fuel injectors, alternator and other regular maintenance items. Other than that, this car has been incredibly reliable and still looks great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, November 04, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

best vehicle I've every had

By on Saturday, October 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 1990 nissan maxima and my car runs like a new car its very comfortable I have a physical disabilty and I am very comfortable in my car.The mileage I get per gallon on my car is wonderful it doesnt use alot of gas so its very easy on my pockets.Freeway driving is so smooth you almost forget you're actually driving an older car...I love my maxima would not give it up for the world."

By on Thursday, September 17, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1990 nissan maximas are epic

By on Saturday, September 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I inherited a 1990 Nissan Maxima for my first car, which my grandfather bought new in 1990 and handed down to my mom in 1997, who handed it down to me in 2008. It is truly an amazing car. It sat in the driveway for 4 years and still ran awesomely after a tuneup. It has encountered a few problems, such as a small exhaust leak, a crack above the dashboard, a blown speaker, it needed a new gas tank and fuel injectors, but after 20 years, I expect some of that. It gets great mileage (up to 35 or 40 in good conditions) and it accelerates very well for a car its age with a V6. In the first year of having my license, I put 20k miles on it without incident. I have driven both the 1990 and the 1997 models of the Maxima, and I can tell you that they are truly one of the best cars on the market."

best all around car

By on Tuesday, September 08, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the only car i've ever had that you could just put gas in and drive (change the oil of course)"

not a bad make or model

By on Saturday, September 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"i have a 1993 nissan maxima which unfortunately is not worth much in trade value however i am keeping my vehicle until it gets crashed or totally trashed which i hope never happens. the nissan is a fine tuned sport vehicle that gets good gas mileage and handles well. mine has been a very good car and i definately recommend the nissan maxima or any nissan for that matter."

Reasonably good car

By on Saturday, September 05, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought the 1993 Nissan Maxima in 1997. Since then, I have added more than 120k miles on it. It has been a remarkably low maintenance car. The key problems that have come over time are the following: (1) a loose contact problem with the car speakers that seems to keep recurring and no mechanic knows how to fix it. (2) the brake lights contact pads wore out and required replacement (3) the alarm system stopped working. Inspite of that, it is still a reliable car to drive after all these years."

By on Tuesday, September 01, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Car Ever !

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had bought a used 1991 maxima with 100K miles in year 2000 for 4000 dollars. I must say its worth every penny. I drove another 100 K miles on it in the last 9 years and finally sold it today. I am really sad parting away with it."

Best Maxima Ever

By on Tuesday, August 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I think is the best maxima made from nissan back in the day."

Very happy with this car

By on Wednesday, August 05, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned my 1994 Maxima for 15 years. Most problems are with electrical system ie power window mechanism replacement every few years, door locks often do not work right esp. in cold weather. Overall average repair costs on this car have run about $1,000/year."

By on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 28, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Horrible Car

By on Tuesday, June 16, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"This is by far the worst car I have ever had. The power locks don't work, the power windows don't work, ignition stopped working so now its rigged with a button to turn the car on. The tail lights don't work and its not the bulbs or the fuses. The car breaks down on average once a week. I have had to replace the ignition, the alternator, and tons more in this car. Just a couple of days ago my a/c stopped blowing cold air. Do not get this car!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good car over all

By on Friday, May 29, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car for $200.00 in PA. on 2008 and it runs like a $5000.00 car, I have put spark plugs/wires oil n filter. I would like to thank the previous owners for the GREAT car that they sold me...Bless them."

By on Thursday, May 07, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, April 27, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals