Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1994 Nissan Maxima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 114 Ratings for the 1989 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Epic

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "EVERYTHINGy"

Cons: "Cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had two identical 1991 Nissan Maxima SE, in both flavors an automatic and 5 speed manual transmission 1991. The first when 220K miles before my sister decided to sell it due to its age. While it had a few things wrong (as to be expected from a car that went flawlessly for 15 years and 220 thousand miles. Head gasket and burning a little bit of oil. The second one hasn’t been so great, in the reliability department it has been slightly spotty in the fuel injector department the car runs smother then the 2002 Nissan Altima we bought to replace it, with rusting fuel injectors. Had the engine not been steamed cleaned, I’m sure the car would still be running flawlessly. Driving the cars is a blast, and the 3.0L V6 offers a great mix between power and MPG. We have recorded up to 30 MPG on the highway on trips from Portland to Seattle. Its smooth, and sounds pretty awesome for a stock exhaust system. The car, even being a 1991 model year still has the ability to turn heads in parking lots. Where this car has impressed me the most? Hard to say, but I think its do anything attitude. It seems to do everything I we ask of it. If its driving for three hours running on 5 fuel injectors and 20 year old timing belt, or driving in snow with the traction that I thought could only be offered by a all wheel drive system (in performance tires, no less!) Seriously I have driving by big 4X4 trucks stuck in the snow and we just putt on by. The ONLY con I can think of is the lack of cup holders. And I find that opening the top on the center counsel offers a nice flat surface to hold drink containers. Provided you take it easy in the corners. Then again with a car like this you might discover thats a lot harder then it sounds!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i love this car.

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,423

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power, reliable, comfortable, economical."

Cons: "no cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love this car. spent 900.00 for it and put in an additional 1000.00 in minor repairs due to previous owner. i would still spend another 5000.00 if it needed it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

She finally quit after 340xxx miles

By on Saturday, September 25, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car Ive ever owned by far. Ive had my car 3 1/2 years and finally had the major problem. The transmission finally went out, however, the motor still runs like a champ! And Ive got to be honest, i haven't exactly been the best owner to this car but she still ran fantastic despite. It actually wasn't until about 250xxx that anything other than the typical expected went wrong with it. I would absolutely recommend this car!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Got me out of a pinch'

By on Thursday, February 26, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 1989 Maxima SE a year and a half ago with 316,000 miles on it. It is a 5 speed and not too pretty but heck I paid $650 for it. It has way exceeded my expectations and I recommend this car to anyone that needs a cheap reliable car. I expected to own it for 6 months maybe and its been a year and a half. Plus aside from normal stuff i.e. oil changes etc. I only had to replace the master and slave cylinders for the clutch.... but the ones replaced got the car all the way to 316,00 so it was about time. May of got lucky but I dont think so.. Car is at 345,000 now and I have sold it for $600 and it passed smog!The ONLY reason that I sold it is because I want something that looks better. Hope this helps."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Maxima

By on Thursday, April 01, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought a 1990 Maxima and honestly this is the worts car i ever owned. I had it for 1 year and nothing but trouble, engine idles high, fuel pump went out, power locks stopped working, rear windows quit working one day, and transmission went out at 124,000 miles. Stay away from it, it has good performance but this car is trouble"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Maxima near Honolulu. See local deals