Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2012 Nissan GT-R

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 41 Ratings for the 2009 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Hard to beat for the price

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Driven for 11000 miles so far. Excellent reliability. early models (2009) can update to current TCM which is program to control rpm limit on launching to protect the transmission from potential wear. This works fine and still allows for 0-60 time of 3.3 seconds. Also has ignition switch technical bulletin to change this part due to failure of part that causes key to be not recognized. I never had trouble. OK to daily drive and I get 20 to 22 mpg in mixed driving all the time using auto transmission but I am easy on the gas. Others report 16+ mpg with aggressive driving in manual mode. Comfort is best on smooth roads and is firm but OK, more stiff than most sports cars due to 20" runflats. I have lowering springs and kept stock shocks and doing very well, better comfort and better handling. Easy to upgrade midpipe for more midrange rpm power and easy to add Cobb Access port for ECU MAP upgrade but it can void warranty so decide for yourself. Easy to get dyno up to 500+ HP with minor upgrades. Maintenance about $150 per oil change every 3000-6000 miles but trans and diff oil change at 18000 miles can be over $1000+. Reg cost of new runflats every 12000-14000 miles is about $1500. Brakes are about $5000 but not until 30000 miles. Rear seats are usable but small with tight headroom. Front seats comfortable and firm. Bose audio is adequate and better with added sound deadening in rear seat and trunk areas."

26 people out of 29 found this review helpful

had a 2010, traded up and bought a new 2013

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "performance for the price point, relatively rare"

Cons: "Soft paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned a 2010 for 18 months. No problems whatsoever.(Actually,Nissan's are very sturdy and durable-can you say the same about Lambo, Ferrari, Porsche, BMW?) Loved the car. Ordered and bought a new 2013 a few weeks ago. Just breaking it in. Noticeably faster, much smoother transmission, suspension is noticably better, stereo is much better, multifunction display is improved in many ways. The only complaint I have is the paint is very soft and prone to chipping with minor impacts,(same problem with my sons Nissan Altima as well. I love the styling. It's a personal taste of course. Supercars don't have to apoligize for their looks. They are what they are. This car is purpose built for speed and performance on the track. If you want a more a softer, smoother ride go pay the extra 100K. If you don't want all the electonic aides and all wheel drive, well fine, don't buy this car. If your driving for the pleasure of it, go ahead and buy a manual, shift your brains out especially in traffic, improve your driving skills with something "less safe". Don't diss this car for what it is. If your driving for money, however, you'll want all the advantages you can get to win. It's inevitable that in the not too distant future, all high perfomance cars will gravitate to this kind of technology. Preferring the same old technology is like preferring an old style record over a spinning CD for playing music. Heck, even a CD is obsolte with the various new solid state flash drive music devices. Go buy an old record player if you want worse performance but like the ambience. Buy an ipod like device if you want superior sound, better durability and easier to use. It's inevitable. Corvettes are great, just too common for me."

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Awesome Attention getting car

By on Thursday, November 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Speed, acceleration, power, attention, interior"

Cons: "The beeping noise when car goes in reverse."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you like to drive a car that people drool over than this is the car for you. It is comforting to know that you are driving one of the fastest and most powerful cars on the road. Every report I read about the GTR is true. The extra road noises and engine noises is all part of the mystique of this car. The interior cockpit is awesome with lots of gadgets and a great touch screen. The Super Silver is worth the extra cost and by far the best color in the GTR."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

KING OF THE HILL

By on Monday, November 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owend alot of high preformance cars from BMW, Porsche, Vipers, Vettes and AMG. The GT-R goes to the top of the list. Excellent quality and always exciting to drive. Car is bullet proof. I also like the fact that it is rare, as its' production is controlled. I am looking forward to the 2012 Mdls."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Awesome!

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Unbelievable performance, yet comfortable and easy to drive. This car LITERALLY sucks your head back into the headrest if you want it to. Top-notch sound system, navigation, fancy electronics, great leather... what can I say? The one downside is MAINTENANCE - it can be really costly if you take it to the dealer. Advice: Do it yourself and save a fortune."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan GT-R near Honolulu. See local deals