Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 392 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

very nice truck

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"his truck is in excellent condition. been smoged."

BULLET PROOF

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Bullet Proof Truck"

Cons: "Toyota gets all the credit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just turned over 490k miles. I had to rebuild the transmission (auto) at 420k. This truck is unbreakable. What else do I need to say?"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle i ever owned

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "takes you anywhere without any problems"

Cons: "could use a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 15 years. Never had any major problems. Love this vehicle. Great on gas. I would recommend this nissan frontier to all who are looking for a small very reliable truck."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best trucks I have owned!

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price with reliabilty"

Cons: "noise level,payload,ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The last Nissan truck I had for 13 years a 1990 Pathfinder! The Frontier was the same truck only more modern. Someone hit me in a parking lot and the insurance wants to total it? I don't see a new truck that will compare to this? Why?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great little truck

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all most every thing"

Cons: "could have a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I,ve hauled any thing that would fit in or on and never had a problem change oil every 4000 still runs great"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable & dependable truck"

Cons: "you can't shift on the fly into 4x4 high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used (2nd owner) with 29k I have 97k on it now. It has been trouble free. It still has the original brakes & exhaust, everything! I did have to replace the rear bumper do to rust. No rust on the body and underneath is holding up good. When I am done with this truck my next one will be a Nissan Frontier. I just hope they still make them as good as this one has been for me."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab

By on Saturday, October 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "great little truck"

Cons: "too small 4 me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab used with 35000 miles I drove it like I stole it overloaded for 6 years now its my wife's daily commuter I have only preformed maintenance I only replaced tires, brakes, belts,windshield wipers and oil & filter every 4k miles that's it it still gets 22 combined mpg 70% hwy"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Will run forever. Great Truck!

By on Thursday, September 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well and can carry a load."

Cons: "Could be more powerful, you'd have to buy more gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new in 2004. It's a very reliable with no problems ever. I guess I am in the market for a vehicle that I can haul my golfer buddies with me. after nearly ten years with mine. As you can see I haven't driven it very far with only 35,500 miles on it. The only thing I have had done other than routine maintenance was a battery change. I have noticed the belt squealing so that's the next issue. Runs great, fairly easy on the gas, for a truck. Tinted windows and a lid on the back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great commuter vehicle.

By on Wednesday, June 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good economy, cheap to insure"

Cons: "Not a powerhouse or heavy duty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great little truck. Gas mileage consistently in the high 20s with mixed driving. Air conditioning affects mileage in a big way. Have done only normal maintenance. Only on my third set of tires in 230000+ miles"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The ultimate mid-sized truck

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value, great to drive on and off road"

Cons: "Poor acceleration, worse fuel economy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"(2004 XE King cab 4WD 5spd manual) For the money, this is the best mid sized truck you can buy. Good looks, surprisingly rugged performance off road and even more surprisingly nimble in the corners. Great ride quality on the road. Soft and comfortable, but very agile for a truck if you get a little frisky in the corners. Bad weather or off road? Select 4WD high range in light snow or dirt and you can still corner at a high rate of speed even in adverse conditions. Throttle response and steering angle are good enough to allow some four wheel drifting. Deep snow, mud, rocks, or heavy duty pulling? Lock 4WD low range and be amazed at what this little truck can overcome. The excellent stock ground clearance coupled with Nissan's hearty four wheel drive make it downright hard to get stuck if you have any common sense as a driver. Even on all terrain tires this truck will out perform its competitors in a pinch. It even has all the gadgets you need, but none you don't. Power everything, tilt, cruise control, and a respectable sound system are all available from the factory and the interior is nicely laid out. Nothing fancy, but good quality and easy to clean. Now on to its only two real flaws: Horrible fuel economy especially when considering that it really doesn't make much power. At best I have averaged 17 mpg and the engine only makes 170 hp. In a straight line, the it is painfully slow even for a pickup, and the fuel economy is awful for a 3.3V6 built by the Japanese. If you add an intake, headers, a cam, and exhaust, the motor really wakes up (aprox 210hp) but you will need to get around emissions regulations to get it inspected. Also, the fuel economy will suffer even more. As for reliability, this is one tough machine. Mechanically it is superbly engineered, and with proper care will last well over 250k miles with no major problems. Lifter tap is an annoying characteristic of the motor, but a small price to pay for an all but bulletproof power plant. I have the 5spd Manual gearbox, and it is crisp and well geared. However, 5th gear is a bit of a stretch due to the long throw of the shift lever. As for the chassis, it does suffer from rust rather easily, particularly in the fasteners. If you are doing body work on one of these trucks, expect to snap one in every four of the small bolts you go to loosen. PB blast and WD40 are your best friends on any job. Overall I adore my Frontier. I have owned two prior Nissan truck models (D22 Hardbody 4cyl SE and 6cyl XE) but this is by far my favorite. Having one of these as a daily driver or even just as a utility vehicle will inevitably leave you very attached to the truck. No American made mid sized truck can come close to the standard the D23 Frontier sets and in my opinion only the Toyota Tacoma comes close in the import market. It is the quintessential Nissan: Well thought out, reliable, quietly brilliant and very under-rated."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned!

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck"

Cons: "a bit guttless in 1st gear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"put alot of hard miles on this truck and it is the best vehicle I've ever owned. NEVER had to push it. The only reason I am selling it is because I need a 4X4. Great gas mileage. Only had to replace shockes and a battery. It's reliable and will greatly miss it. I'm only going to buy Nissan's from now on. I especially like the fact it has a larger cab than any of the smaller trucks."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have only used it to drive in 15 mile radius.

By on Monday, May 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable interior, well worth $7,500 price,"

Cons: "has cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"(around town). I have washed and wax it 2 times a year since I bought in 2000 (orginal owner). I change the oil 1 time per year (only use AMS synthetic oil). No accidents since I have owned it. Michelium Tires (2 years old). Getting new shocks (all 4 wheels) this Friday (May 10, 2013). Delaware Tags good till February 2015. The only problem since 2000 has been (a recall) of front Stabilizer Bars(a rod about 6 inches long next to tires) has been replace about 3 times (about $100.00 each time). Averages 20 miles per gallon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love this truck

By on Wednesday, May 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"one of the most reliable trucks that i have"

I LOVE my pickup.

By on Monday, December 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving it FEELS so natural and very handy."

Cons: "Mileage and backing the seat more. Leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I can complain about ANYTHING, I wish it got better than a consistent 20 MPG and the seat could go back even 2 more inches. Otherwise, you can bury me in this truck. I LOVE IT! Totally dependable. Little maintenance need. A Winner!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Keeping my Frontier

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my 2004 Nissan Frontier enough that I've decided to keep it instead of trading it in when I buy a new vehicle."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

GREAT Truck!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, September 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quality, Quality. Never any mechancial trouble."

Cons: "Don't really have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Brought this truck in '04. Put almost 100k miles on it, and so far only needed a water pump. Have moved my daughter several times, across several states, we haul all kinds of stuff in the bed, rock, landscaping material. Never a problem. Great in the snow of the rocky mts. Going to get another one next year."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Unbeatable reliability

By on Monday, August 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical and reliable - rides and handles well"

Cons: "No cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this 1998 Frontier in 2000, with 38,000 miles on it. Now, in 2012, and 85000 miles on it, I am amazed at the lack of repairs needed. Other than routine maintenance, like tires, brakes, fuel filter etc, this vehicle has required no expense for upkeep. It runs well, rides and handles well. Even the A/C has never needed servicing. This is my fifth Nissan truck. I am now retired and the present one is just for normal family use. The previous four were used in my buisness. The only repair expense was for a clutch plate replacement at 100,000 miles, much of it pulling heavy boat trailers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I Love my 03 Frontier

By on Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been GREAT! I'm the 2nd owner, bought it with 26,000 mi. now it has 88,000. It still has the original brakes all around"

Great truck!

By on Wednesday, May 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,999

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable and easy to work on."

Cons: "A/C randomly works and no work?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck used with 109,000 miles on it. I had this truck for about 3 yrs now and 129,998 miles on it. This truck still runs great and with no major problems. So far, the only problem i had was with the A/C going bad. I replaced the discharge hose (leaking) for the A/C and the thermo control amplifier assembly and now it works perfect. I'm planing to keep this for a while, not thinking of selling it soon."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck I have Ever Owned!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel Economy, Cold AC, Hauls more than you think."

Cons: "AC on in defrost!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2003 Nissan Frontier XE, with approx. 75700 miles. It always starts, cold AC, and good gas mileage. I had one AC hose go bad, and replace it myself. AC is VERY Cold on a 90 degree day. There are a few things that I wish NISSAN did better: 1. AC Compressor will stay on after using defroster. When you switch from defrost back to vent, the AC is still on. The only way to get it to turn off is to turn off the engine. 2. The radio work great, but, there could be a bit more volume. 3. Seats could have been a bit more comfortable. Overall, this is an exelent truck. I hope she lasts for a few more years... Being a NISSAN, she will!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This was the first vehicle that I ever bought new.

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for the weekend off road trip."

Cons: "Mileage not great with the 4X4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just paused for a photo

"12 years later I still own it and love it. Great in the sand and climbs well. I have never had any problems with it and when I buy another truck it will be a frontier."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Just paused for a photo

I love this truck!

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, no major mechanical failures"

Cons: "Wind through windows is loud on the highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck used, it was a lease I bought from a dealership in 2003. Nine years later it has more than paid for itself. My husband says we should get me a new car but every time I tell him, "Let's give her 2 more years." She has not failed me yet. She runs like a champ and I know I can count on her to start even in below freezing temperatures. Sometimes her doors freeze when we've had an especially cold snow fall but I always feel confident about her running and getting me to work without breaking down. Repairs have been minimal, normal wear and tear. Even if I did purchase a new or newer car, I think I would be disappointed because this truck is so dependable and well-made that nothing could replace it or compare. I hope she runs another 150,000 miles so I don't have to give her up!"

makes house/yard errands easy

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, gas milage better than expected"

Cons: "back seat best for accessories, not people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 2 years and have had no major issues. It's perfect for trips to warehouse clubs, hardware stores and runs to the trash dump. Passenger area is roomy. There is a third seat in the cab, best for a child out of booster seat, but not too big. My 11 year old daughter fits perfect. The best shifting vehicle I have ever driven."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best truck ive ever owned

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"350000 on same motor"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Anything else would be uncivilized.

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts forever"

Cons: "No ashtray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"204000 miles, routine maint. only. Still running with original battery. When does that ever happen? Motor"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier King Cab near Honolulu. See local deals