Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 394 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

This was the best vehicle I could ever hope for.

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car totaled in acciedent.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the best vehicle I could ever hope for. It was incredibly functional, reliable, and safe. I got the car used at 10 years old, and it lasted me in excellent condition for 5 more years. It saved my life in a head on collision that destroyed the car, but I walked away with only minor whiplash. It can safely carry incredibly heavy loads. It has a low center of gravity that keeps it and the driver safe in dangerous wind and weather conditions. It has a very sturdy frame that protects the engine block and passenger. It has a comfortable and compact cab. The 2000 model is not an expensive car, but is worth its weight in gold. I drove it everywhere and it is a good commuter car, getting at least 20 miles to the gallon on a 13 gallon tank. It can equally handle city streets, highways and freeways, as well as rough and unpaved off-roading quite well. It only ever had a few minor mechanical problems during the 5 years I owned it. This car was comfortable and safe. I considered it my driving protector."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Arizona truck- never saw salty rd- cap 2 yrs old

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just a gd small p/u. For RVing, & gen use No rust"

Cons: "no intermittent wiper feature. No cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"from south Arizona, driven 150 mi daily to & from Tucson. Highway driving explains high mileage. Not used in Ma. in winter, Is driven only 1,000 mi/yr. Has had new alternator, rear springs, tires, Cap, bed liner. has Blue Ox towbar & auxillary braking system for it to be towed & braked from tow vehicle. Serviced regularly. Have records. NEVER DRIVEN ON A SALTED ROAD."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Handles whatever you throw at it. Makes it fun.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, reliable,"

Cons: "no cruise-control, slow when heavy load."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

tough truck

"bought my 2002 Frontier XE in '03 with 15,000 miles on it. 12 years later has 167,000 miles. Mostly highway miles (really) and gets great gas mileage."

6 people out of 14 found this review helpful

tough truck

2000 Frontier

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Very slow and sluggish. Quality is not as expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This truck was a stopgap truck until I could afford a better truck. having so many miles on it at purchase I had many repairs to do and continued to do so. This truck is about the slowest 4 cylinder I've ever had to drive and I would pay more for a Toyota Tacoma."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This truck starts one the first turn of the switch

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck starts on the first turn of the switch and without the air conditioner I get 19 - 20 mpg around town. I run Marvel mystery oil in the gas. I have had a generator put on and brake pads. This has been and still is a great truck. I have had several Datsun/Nissans and there's not a better engine."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best truck ever made.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding"

Cons: "None that I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Frontier SE brand new back in 2000. This truck is outstanding and built to take whatever you throw at it. I am hard on a truck as I use it mostly in the woods for trapping minnows, leeches in the summer and carrying firewood. After 165,000 miles,it still has the original muffler and the only thing I had to replace outside of normal maintenance was the rear springs, most likely from all the weight I carry. Can't say enough good things about my Nissan SE."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

best vehicle ive owned

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 425,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "4 cylinder, cabin space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2013

"i have owned my 2002 frontier for 10 yrs. bought it at 23k and selling it now at 425k. yes that is 425 thousand mi. used it for my delivery job i had. no problems ever, only basic maintenance. i followed the maintenance schedule in the manual. major parts didnt start being replaced till over 200k, like water pump, radiator, etc. timing chain, alternator didnt go out till after 300k. i used synthetic blend oil always. only replace with nissan belts and brake pads for best results. i did have the 4cyl, manual trans."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2013

Best car I ever had

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, something descent for any age"

Cons: "manual windows, no cruise control.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

8/18/2014

"Bought my 98 Nissan Frontier in 2000 when I was 18 used. I still got it to this day..14 years later I havent had as many issues as the average person I believe. Looking now to finally get something else. Of course it needs some odd jobs done to it but nothing major (ex spark plugs etc) but I think its just time for me to part ways but DEF the best I could of asked for!!...especially from a crazy driving 18 year old to 31 year old lol. i'd even recommend it for parents who are in the market for a "first time" vehicle for their teen."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

8/18/2014

Excellent

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Extreme reliability, relatively simple maintenance"

Cons: "4 cyl is a bit lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Unsurpassed in reliability. Really holds its value well. I hate to sell it as I know it has another 150,000 miles in it but the family is expanding and it's minivan time. I've seen other people really abuse this model and you just can't kill it with a stick."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good dependable pickup

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this truck new in 2001, and have had minimal problems with it. Even at 213k, it still runs great! I've only done the normal maintenance to it. Great little hauler - I have a utility trailer that I haul 2000 lbs with it all the time and it doesnt miss a beat. Its not geared to take off fast from a stop, which bugs some people - so keep this in mind if you want that. 4wd is very good - never been stuck even with stock wheels."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Interior crammped.A little guttless.Still I likee.

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have'nt owned the truck for long yet but so far so good. my right knee presses on the console cause I'm sort of a wide load and I wish I had had the option of a bench seat-what ever happened to them-but I'm getting used to it. I do like the tough put-together-with-bolts look. Mileage is so-so at about 16-17. I really wanted to get a full sized truck but couldn't afford one of the newer, better than 10 mpg ones and at $5200 for a good to very good condition , reliable work truck, I feel this little load will fill the bill nicely. Stay tuned for future review update however since, as I said, the Nissan and I haven't been together long yet."

2000 nissan frontier 4x4 2.4l

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Red is the color of the truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Interior has wear and has no ac. Exterior has wear and some light body damage the engine bearings have a little wear because when start up engine knocks a little until oil pressure builds up motor still runs good purs like a kitty. No leaks any where except power steering hose small minor leak my dad has had it sense it was new there's only been two owners my dad and me. The truck still has a way to go most reliable truck we had in the family I can till you every thing about the truck"

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Wonderful small truck. Handles well.

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Does well in snow and rain"

Cons: "No power windows, no intermitten wipers or cruise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No rust. Has cap. Taller Michlin tires perfect vehicle for 1 or 2. People."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best purchase I've made with a new vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and comfortable not bad power for 4cyl."

Cons: "hit wipers on,hard get between seat. traction fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven across this beautiful country and many miles between and never had a single problem. I bought knowing that the early nissan and datsan were dependable. Keep it taken care of and love it like you mean it and it will love you back with many non worry dependable miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Super little truck, comfortable ride

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable ride, outstanding condition, no interior wear"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, gas mileage, dependability, style,"

Cons: "Cab room, sound system, horn"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is an amazing truck. It has been thru 3 moves, 2 remodels, numerous camping trips, hauling trailers and more. I would buy another one of these in a heart beat. The truck is reliable and comfortable. My truck has 185000 miles and I have not had a single major repair that has needed to be done. LOVE IT!!! Nissan all the way."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Low maintenance cost of ownership

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low maintenance and good miles per gallon"

Cons: "Can not win a drag race but is dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable and dependable vehicle I have ever owned. Very low maintenance and good overall mpg at 22. A recent engine compression test is still around factory specs at 150. Hopefully I will get another 100000 miles out of it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier King Cab near Honolulu. See local deals