Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2002 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 400 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

ENGINE PROBLEMS

By on Saturday, November 24, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"From what I have heard my issues were an oddity. my 04 developed a knock somewhere around 20-22k which turned out to be a wrist pin failure. The dealer I leased it from short-blocked it. Ever since then it seems to feel like it has lower power. I did break in the new motor correctly. Other then that the truck has been pretty bullet-proof. It doesnt chew up oil or use antifreeze, I did recently develop a small p/s leak which I used some Lucus product to cure. All in all its decent on mileage. Runs great in the snow and even with its funny looks is not a bad looking truck. It kinda grows on you. I do wish I had waited one more yr to get into the new style but thats life. I gave it 4 stars across the board except reliability if I hadn't gotten the wrist pin issue I would have given it 4's and 5's"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I havent stuck a nickle into my 98 SE 4x4 other than normal maintenance. It has never let me down... ever"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best purchase I've made with a new vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and comfortable not bad power for 4cyl."

Cons: "hit wipers on,hard get between seat. traction fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven across this beautiful country and many miles between and never had a single problem. I bought knowing that the early nissan and datsan were dependable. Keep it taken care of and love it like you mean it and it will love you back with many non worry dependable miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Low maintenance cost of ownership

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low maintenance and good miles per gallon"

Cons: "Can not win a drag race but is dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable and dependable vehicle I have ever owned. Very low maintenance and good overall mpg at 22. A recent engine compression test is still around factory specs at 150. Hopefully I will get another 100000 miles out of it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Unbeatable reliability

By on Monday, August 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical and reliable - rides and handles well"

Cons: "No cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this 1998 Frontier in 2000, with 38,000 miles on it. Now, in 2012, and 85000 miles on it, I am amazed at the lack of repairs needed. Other than routine maintenance, like tires, brakes, fuel filter etc, this vehicle has required no expense for upkeep. It runs well, rides and handles well. Even the A/C has never needed servicing. This is my fifth Nissan truck. I am now retired and the present one is just for normal family use. The previous four were used in my buisness. The only repair expense was for a clutch plate replacement at 100,000 miles, much of it pulling heavy boat trailers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier King Cab near Honolulu. See local deals