Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 392 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Handles whatever you throw at it. Makes it fun.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, reliable,"

Cons: "no cruise-control, slow when heavy load."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

tough truck

"bought my 2002 Frontier XE in '03 with 15,000 miles on it. 12 years later has 167,000 miles. Mostly highway miles (really) and gets great gas mileage."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

tough truck

2000 Frontier

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Very slow and sluggish. Quality is not as expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This truck was a stopgap truck until I could afford a better truck. having so many miles on it at purchase I had many repairs to do and continued to do so. This truck is about the slowest 4 cylinder I've ever had to drive and I would pay more for a Toyota Tacoma."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This truck starts one the first turn of the switch

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck starts on the first turn of the switch and without the air conditioner I get 19 - 20 mpg around town. I run Marvel mystery oil in the gas. I have had a generator put on and brake pads. This has been and still is a great truck. I have had several Datsun/Nissans and there's not a better engine."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck ever made.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding"

Cons: "None that I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Frontier SE brand new back in 2000. This truck is outstanding and built to take whatever you throw at it. I am hard on a truck as I use it mostly in the woods for trapping minnows, leeches in the summer and carrying firewood. After 165,000 miles,it still has the original muffler and the only thing I had to replace outside of normal maintenance was the rear springs, most likely from all the weight I carry. Can't say enough good things about my Nissan SE."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

best vehicle ive owned

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 425,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "4 cylinder, cabin space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2013

"i have owned my 2002 frontier for 10 yrs. bought it at 23k and selling it now at 425k. yes that is 425 thousand mi. used it for my delivery job i had. no problems ever, only basic maintenance. i followed the maintenance schedule in the manual. major parts didnt start being replaced till over 200k, like water pump, radiator, etc. timing chain, alternator didnt go out till after 300k. i used synthetic blend oil always. only replace with nissan belts and brake pads for best results. i did have the 4cyl, manual trans."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2013

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier King Cab near Honolulu. See local deals