Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 387 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Best car I ever had

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, something descent for any age"

Cons: "manual windows, no cruise control.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

8/18/2014

"Bought my 98 Nissan Frontier in 2000 when I was 18 used. I still got it to this day..14 years later I havent had as many issues as the average person I believe. Looking now to finally get something else. Of course it needs some odd jobs done to it but nothing major (ex spark plugs etc) but I think its just time for me to part ways but DEF the best I could of asked for!!...especially from a crazy driving 18 year old to 31 year old lol. i'd even recommend it for parents who are in the market for a "first time" vehicle for their teen."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

8/18/2014

Excellent

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Extreme reliability, relatively simple maintenance"

Cons: "4 cyl is a bit lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Unsurpassed in reliability. Really holds its value well. I hate to sell it as I know it has another 150,000 miles in it but the family is expanding and it's minivan time. I've seen other people really abuse this model and you just can't kill it with a stick."

Good dependable pickup

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this truck new in 2001, and have had minimal problems with it. Even at 213k, it still runs great! I've only done the normal maintenance to it. Great little hauler - I have a utility trailer that I haul 2000 lbs with it all the time and it doesnt miss a beat. Its not geared to take off fast from a stop, which bugs some people - so keep this in mind if you want that. 4wd is very good - never been stuck even with stock wheels."

Interior crammped.A little guttless.Still I likee.

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have'nt owned the truck for long yet but so far so good. my right knee presses on the console cause I'm sort of a wide load and I wish I had had the option of a bench seat-what ever happened to them-but I'm getting used to it. I do like the tough put-together-with-bolts look. Mileage is so-so at about 16-17. I really wanted to get a full sized truck but couldn't afford one of the newer, better than 10 mpg ones and at $5200 for a good to very good condition , reliable work truck, I feel this little load will fill the bill nicely. Stay tuned for future review update however since, as I said, the Nissan and I haven't been together long yet."

2000 nissan frontier 4x4 2.4l

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Red is the color of the truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Interior has wear and has no ac. Exterior has wear and some light body damage the engine bearings have a little wear because when start up engine knocks a little until oil pressure builds up motor still runs good purs like a kitty. No leaks any where except power steering hose small minor leak my dad has had it sense it was new there's only been two owners my dad and me. The truck still has a way to go most reliable truck we had in the family I can till you every thing about the truck"

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Wonderful small truck. Handles well.

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Does well in snow and rain"

Cons: "No power windows, no intermitten wipers or cruise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No rust. Has cap. Taller Michlin tires perfect vehicle for 1 or 2. People."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

I love my truck. She's been wonderful all the time

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it "La Gaviota" and we really love it!!. Runs great!. Never let us down!"

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

great reliable trans

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "hook up to motorhome and go"

Cons: "nothing fancy,good simple transport"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is set up to be towed by a motor home. It has falcon 2 tow bar Roadmaster 9700 Brake system. Wired for charging line to battery Also has weather proof lockable bed cover on the 6 ft bed."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best purchase I've made with a new vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and comfortable not bad power for 4cyl."

Cons: "hit wipers on,hard get between seat. traction fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven across this beautiful country and many miles between and never had a single problem. I bought knowing that the early nissan and datsan were dependable. Keep it taken care of and love it like you mean it and it will love you back with many non worry dependable miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Super little truck, comfortable ride

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable ride, outstanding condition, no interior wear"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, gas mileage, dependability, style,"

Cons: "Cab room, sound system, horn"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is an amazing truck. It has been thru 3 moves, 2 remodels, numerous camping trips, hauling trailers and more. I would buy another one of these in a heart beat. The truck is reliable and comfortable. My truck has 185000 miles and I have not had a single major repair that has needed to be done. LOVE IT!!! Nissan all the way."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Low maintenance cost of ownership

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low maintenance and good miles per gallon"

Cons: "Can not win a drag race but is dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable and dependable vehicle I have ever owned. Very low maintenance and good overall mpg at 22. A recent engine compression test is still around factory specs at 150. Hopefully I will get another 100000 miles out of it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good mpg,reliable,pretty much maintenance free"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"First set of tires were changed at 103000 miles. Plugs at 160k miles and really did not need it. It is very reliable and comfortable. I have thought of getting rid of it but have thoroughly enjoyed this vehicle. It constantly gets 27-28 mpg in combined driving. I have several Nissans and would continue to buy them. They make a great vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have owned truck for 9 years without serious prob.

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have found this to be a great, inexpensive utility truck for light to medium hauling."

very nice truck

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"his truck is in excellent condition. been smoged."

BULLET PROOF

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Bullet Proof Truck"

Cons: "Toyota gets all the credit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just turned over 490k miles. I had to rebuild the transmission (auto) at 420k. This truck is unbreakable. What else do I need to say?"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle i ever owned

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "takes you anywhere without any problems"

Cons: "could use a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 15 years. Never had any major problems. Love this vehicle. Great on gas. I would recommend this nissan frontier to all who are looking for a small very reliable truck."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best trucks I have owned!

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price with reliabilty"

Cons: "noise level,payload,ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The last Nissan truck I had for 13 years a 1990 Pathfinder! The Frontier was the same truck only more modern. Someone hit me in a parking lot and the insurance wants to total it? I don't see a new truck that will compare to this? Why?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great little truck

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all most every thing"

Cons: "could have a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I,ve hauled any thing that would fit in or on and never had a problem change oil every 4000 still runs great"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier King Cab near Honolulu. See local deals