Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2003 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 149 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Extremely tough, reliable truck

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very little maintenance. Have done all the major services. Brakes wear out at about 44000. Extremely reliable. Wet weather handling is subpar. I'm very happy with this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Loved this car and did its purpose

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: car was starting to require engine repairs

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Not very comfortable for adults in rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. The supercharge made it a fun, faster ride. I used this car well for porting all of my gardening tools, supplies, and plants, as well as all of my children's equipment and bicycles. Wish it would have lasted forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice small truck value

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable. Performs well in snow/ice"

Cons: "Very average MPG, yet under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchase vehicle used almost ten years ago. Mechanically very reliable."

Great Truck

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Ride/Driving/handling is very good for a truck."

Cons: "Fuel Mileage is not that great for a 3.3L V6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned for 8 years. Best Truck I have ever had. No repairs whatsover other than regular maintenance. Not great fuel mileage for the engine/power but otherwise, incredible truck. Mine has the Rockford Fosgate factory stereo option (9 speaker system) which is incredible as well."

awsome bumper

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "air conditioning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love my truck"

Great Truck! Goes anywhere, reliably everytime!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, off road capability, towing 5000 lbs."

Cons: "Back seat,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Clean machine

"I have owned my Frontier for over 9 years and with regular maintenance and care it still runs as good as the day I purchased it. Current mileage is 217,000 without any engine or transmission work. Fuel economy still sits at new vehicle rating of EPA 14 Mpg city and 17 highway and it doesnt burn or leak a drop of oil. The only complaint would be the back seat isn't built for full size adults for long trips but my 3 small kids fit comfortably. It could use a shoulder belt for the middle rear seat. Fantastic ride. Far more comfortable than any Toyota I have owned or ridden in and just as capable off road or on."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Clean machine

SUPER RELIABLE

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"VERY ROUGH RIDE AND POOR GAS MILEAGE, BUT VIRTUALLY NO REPAIRS WITH REGULAR MAINT."

Economical and reliable

By on Wednesday, February 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable, cost efficient"

Cons: "not comfortable for long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1998 XE sigle cab, 5 speed manual. I am the original owner and I still have it. I have been very satisfied; it is fuel efficient and the engine and transmission have never faltered. It's not the most comfortable ride ever, but that's a bench seat for you. The only problem I have had is that the battery goes out WAY too often. I have investigated other causes, but to no avail. I just have to buy a new battery every year. There are worse problems."

this is my 3rd Nissan truck and I loved all of the

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, hardly anything outside regular maint"

Cons: "no real cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my 3rd Nissan truck and I loved all of them; just cnsidering #4"

Best vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "awesome vehicle"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought brand new"

Would hate to give this truck up!

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and looks good!"

Cons: "I have nothing to offer for the cons on this truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this truck from a friend in 2005 and have driven it many miles since then. I have never had to put any money into it except for normal maintenance which I am diligent about. This vehicle functions as a car when needed or as a truck to haul. I have oulled a loaded down trailer behind it from Montana to Louisiana and never had a problem! What a vehicle! I will buy another Nissan truck when I am ready to buy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best truck for fun!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas economy for this type of truck!"

Cons: "not really!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had owned this truck for 7 years, when i get this truck i never taugh that this truck will give me a lot of fun and the most important like safety. i had crash against a minivan and my truck did not get too much damage, this is an awessome truck! i definitly recomend it! now this little truck have 194,000 miles on it. it's like new, run smooth and the engine is quiet. i love this truck!!!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ive Ever Owned

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty looks lots of power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any problems"

Old Blue

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Maintenance is simple and inexpensive"

Cons: "Bench seats are never comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck ten years ago with thirty thousand miles. It wasn't the prettiest vehicle, but it was a great investment. With simple do it yourself maintenance, this truck will last you a life time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

like the power and agility.

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had problems with gas tank. always rusting at the top and than not able to find replacement"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just started having some issues. 220k. Love the truck."

great truck

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great power"

Cons: "no room in back seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this truck new in 02 its the most realible truck ive ever owned. great in the snow and ive never had any trouble out of it besides minor stuff"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST TRUCK, I'M GETTING ANOTHER!

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Took a lickin' and kept on tickin'"

Cons: "Gas mlg cldve been bttr, but I expcted that"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First let me say I LOVED this truck!! It had it's minor issues, but was almost 10 years old. But that's not what killed it. On 12/5 it rolled twice and hit 2 trees for it's demise. I'm still mourning the loss. It only gets a 3 out of 5 for roll over in the crash test ratings, but I survived this crash with a bruise on my shoulder where the tree laid the roof down over the back seat and I got clipped by a branch, I'd say it handled the rolls much better than a 3. I turned the truck off (it was still running). Because it was a roll over and no frontal impact, the airbags did not deploy. That's actually a good thing. Since I was unhurt, it just would've caused injuries. The rest I know was just luck, the tree impacted the back seat roof, but just missed me. But I want to give the truck credit here...I lived! I'm going to miss her, I'm going tomorrow to get another Frontier."

First Nissan, Not Last

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliable truck, had over 100000 miles when I bought it. Tough, still many miles left. Good work truck, great in the snow will most likely buy another"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quick response, fantastic handling!"

Cons: "Limited OEM tire replacement. High dollar tires!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck new in January of 2001, I thought it was a little pricy, but the styling had me sold. Leather throughout, supercharged V6, and this truck still runs as good as the day I bought it. It has 108000 miles on it and I have had to replace a window motor, and 2 batteries. Squirrels got into the main wire harness and caused some major problems earlier this year. Since the truck is over 10 years old, the wire harness was not easy to find and State Farm almost scrapped it. I finally found a place in Elgin Illinois that could make a wire harness from scratch to original specs. This truck has been a huge part of my life! I don't know if I am lucky or if Nissan is just that good. I sure like the way the new ones look. I will probably invest in a new one when I can bring myself to parting with my 2001 black beauty."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very good overall thus far. Still enjoy drivin!

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gets the job done!"

Cons: "Dam headliner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice truck!"

Great Small Truck

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, 4x4 great in snow"

Cons: "factory stereo was awful, had to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought one used off craigslist. My mechanic didn't find anything wrong, so I jumped on it and have been super impressed since. Driving is great, gas mileage is average, smooth ride."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best accelerator !!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice vehicle to carry loads"

My 2nd Nissan truck

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good handling, color (yellow), speed (V6 turbo)"

Cons: "original price, gas mileage, needs flat fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love it, driveability, color (yellow!!), speed, manuverability, everything. PS original battery on this one lasted 7 yrs beautifully! That's quality. My 1st Nissan truck was the 83 or 84 special, 32 valve, mileage was amazing, normally around 30-32 mpg,"

THE best vehicle I've ever bought

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks, great value, great reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as newer models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I love my truck!

"This truck has been remarkably reliable, and I still get comments about what an eye-catching vehicle it is. I love everything about it, although the now-obsolete 6-cylinder engine is not so efficient. However, I'm sold on Nissan, and will probably never buy another brand of truck."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my truck!

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals