Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 154 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Solid Daily Driver

By on Sunday, March 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliabilty and compactness, well put together"

Cons: "MPG/HP"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this trk in 2006 and while I wish it had better MPG and HP it is a rock solid vehicle. Other than reg maintenance and add ons, I haven't had to put anymore $ into this vehicle. MPG is at an all time low (14-15) and my best has been 17 all highway. The paint is still great for an outdoors trk that gets washed every 3-5 months (silver is the best color to have!). The interior is in great shape also and still looks new although there really is no room in the back for anyone. All in all a great little truck."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not state-of-the-art, but it will make 200,000

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,076

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable enough to get 200,000 miles."

Cons: "Two major mechanical issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The Frontier was not top of the line when I bought it, but it will make and exceed the 200,000 mile mark. I encountered two major problems. First, the cruise control failed in the fourth year of ownership. Never fixed it because the dealer wanted $800.00 for the repair. Second, I had two oil leaks. Major pain to get it fixed both times. Newer Frontiers are more refined. I will look at the Frontier for my next truck, but other brands will be on my list. By the way, I had a 1989 Nissan Hard Body pickup that got over 200,000 miles."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Been a great reliable car and utility vehicle

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very Functional, good gas mileage , reliable"

Cons: "Back seat too small for car seats or large family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Handling is sloppy due to off road package. Riding at high speeds in windy roads or high winds tends to bounce the truck about (not like my sport car) but I suppose that is to be expected. Its been a great truck/passenger car. You don't want to haul your whole family a long way, the back seat is comfortable for smaller people for long rides. Large adults would not be happy back there a long time, only real drawback."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Gonna miss this truck...

By on Sunday, June 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap to operate, very reliable"

Cons: "4 cylinder doesn't have a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would first like to say I'd vote for having this truck in an accident. I recently had a head-on collision and walked away with just a scratch from the air bag deployment. Right after the accident, this truck started right up and was able to drive itself off the road. As for reliability, I can't complain. Just replaced the original alternator at 140k miles. Replaced the battery twice since owning it. Just regular maintenance and this truck runs like a charm. It could use more power, but for a 4 cylinder, I can't complain. It still gets about 22 mpg. I would recommend this truck in a heartbeat."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Just the right size for what I need.

By on Friday, September 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive, great price, looks great."

Cons: "not much area to hide stuff if youre out shopping"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it new. It the same interior size as the car I had, plus xtra. I dont use mine for a work truck or to pull anything. It says it will pull 5000lbs. It's great for 'having a truck' when I need one. Really gets me down the road. Only thing the air has gone out. Also plasic Nissan is starting to come off tailgate."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the best truck for fun!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas economy for this type of truck!"

Cons: "not really!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had owned this truck for 7 years, when i get this truck i never taugh that this truck will give me a lot of fun and the most important like safety. i had crash against a minivan and my truck did not get too much damage, this is an awessome truck! i definitly recomend it! now this little truck have 194,000 miles on it. it's like new, run smooth and the engine is quiet. i love this truck!!!!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great family ruck and safe.

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price and Value. Safe for the family with a high degree of dependability."

Cons: "Needs a little more rear leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The body line and interior creature features make for a safe and fun family or everyday truck. No issues other than monir ownership issues."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

sold

By on Friday, December 31, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have owned our 2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab supercharged for 9 years. We have 75000 miles on it and it has NEVER failed us. Gas economy is still solid at about 18.5 mpg on the road, but we only started out 19 mpg 9 years ago, so it's performance doesn't diminish with age. Besides it's normal maintenance, it was in for warranty once, for the moisture in the bed overhead lamp! Nissan really did it right with the Frontier."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good truck,still good looking.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong engine"

Cons: "Steering wheel could it be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm the only owner of this truck,boughten brand new. No problems at all I use it for work everyday . Will last for many years if maintained . Never let me down,I recommend ti.planning to drive it unil I get tired."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Relaibility has been amazing, fun truck to own.

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, comfortable, and fun to drive. Would like better gas mileage and wet weather handling around corners."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

old but good

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"these are good trucks. i have had no major problems. got it new in '02 it has 156k and still running strong. very under powered i hope someone makes a v8 swap kit, the titian engine would make this truck a keeper."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Number 5 and counting

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solidly built, reliable, dependable"

Cons: "Cramped back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck in November 2002 it had three miles on it...it now has 283,250+ miles. Maintenance has included four sets of tires, two batteries, one starter, one AC compressor, two timing belts/water pump changes (may as well do both at the same time), two sets of shocks, ONE TUNEUP...and thats about it. It still runs like a champ. Within the last year I've driven to Ft. Myers Florida (1700 miles one way), Albuquerque New Mexico (860 miles one way) and many other long distance trips around 500 miles one way. Other than the battery giving out twice in 11 years, this has been a dependable, reliable, very tough truck. Of course I'm biased...I've owned Nissan trucks since 1978 (Datsun then) when they came out with the King Cab and am sold on these for everyday work and driving use. Of the five I've owned since my first one in '78, I've never had a bad one."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

First vehicle I've owned

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,750

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles well, great traction in 2wd"

Cons: "rear leg room, non-adjustable pedals, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

This was in the fall of 2013

"I bought a 2001 SE 4D 4WD Frontier used at 66xxx miles in 2012. I had never had to do anything major except replace a clutch a few weeks ago. It does absolutely everything I've needed and more. It's an off-roading machine, and great on the pavement too. Overall it is a great truck, the only downside I find in it is the small amount of room in the backseat for passengers, and the fact that the pedal distance isn't adjustable."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

This was in the fall of 2013

most reliable truck i ever owned

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable ,good on gas"

Cons: "can heat up when air is on,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many trucks,go trough 2 every year because of driving so many miles. this truck had 28,000 on it when bought and i never did anything but put brakes ,tires, and oil changes....it was and is still running like new. I pull my boat and cargo trailer with it...now pushing 240,000 miles."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awesome compact truck!

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fantastic value!"

Cons: "Needs power outlet in front w/o having key on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new and have had excellent service and reliability from day one. The only items replaced are the front brakes and battery, aside from filters during normal service. It is very easy to use in town, and very comfortable on a long trip. It has been on trips of 100 to 900 miles plus each way, in all kinds of weather and has always proven itself worth every penny I paid for it. A man 6'3" can sit in the back seat comfortably. Four adults can ride in it comfortably. Car seat anchors in the back seat are a wonderful asset when I have the grandkids. I have pulled a trailer weighing 1500 lb total on 15% grades without having to downshift lower than 4th, and had no brake problems pulling the same load down the same grades."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

THE best vehicle I've ever bought

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks, great value, great reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as newer models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I love my truck!

"This truck has been remarkably reliable, and I still get comments about what an eye-catching vehicle it is. I love everything about it, although the now-obsolete 6-cylinder engine is not so efficient. However, I'm sold on Nissan, and will probably never buy another brand of truck."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my truck!

Great Buy!

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Low Maintenance"

Cons: "Pretty Plain Jane, Little Room for Adults"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck I bought mine with 152,000 and didn't hesitate. Nissans are great running vehicles and I would jump in mine and go anywhere. It doesn't have a lot of luxury about it, but it is extremely reliable."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Functional

By on Friday, June 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Couldn't keep the driver side door opened."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this truck to move my musical instruments. It has served its purpose very well.My husband wanted me to get an used SUV, but I chose a new truck with a shell to keep the price down. I had no problem with this truck what so ever. I'd give 10 except I can't keep driver side door opened. It wants to close by it self. It's just minor problem, other than that I had good 13 years of driving."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Go with the Titan

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun, looks great, powerful"

Cons: "small backseat, electrical issues, MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my frontier for 3.5 years now and have put 60,000 miles on it. I have not had any major mechanical problems but have had some electrical. My doors lock and unlock on there own and I have spent hundreds $$$ to get my taillights fixed. I had an electrical issue with one side of my tail lights and about 2 months after that was fixed the other side went bad. Also the bed light and interior lights no longer work (not the bulbs or fuses). I have the supercharged model and get 13-16 MPG. Had I known I would have just gone with the Titan. The back seat is suppose to be for 3 people but no way you could go far with 3 adults back there. The shape of the back doorway makes it difficult for some people to get in the vehicle. The good is that the truck has plenty of power, drives extremely smooth. There isnt alot that could stop this truck. I have driven in snow over the hood. Truck also has tons of power and tows like a pro. I even pulled a full size ford f-150, that was buried in the snow to its doors, out of the ditch. There is multiple locations in the bed to tie straps to. Over all a good truck. For the money and MPG I would personally just go for the Titan."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of the best trucks I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Getting a family car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck brand new and it was amazing! I have owned all types of trucks (I tend to go through them rather quickly). This truck lasted the longest by far and I had almost no problems with it! I would have kept this truck until it stopped working but I had to get an SUV for my family. I highly recommend this truck to anyone looking for something that is reliable and great in the snow/off road."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car has been taken very good care of. Oil changed every 3000 miles and always full synthetic. There is only a small area on the front of the hood that has some rust otherwise no rust anywhere else. Clean enterior"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good economy vehicle low maint to mileage ratio

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good value to maintenance vehicle drives great 15"

Cons: "none found so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Value on retail vehicles are more than KBB values due to market either has a limited selection of vehicles in good resale condition. Either High mileage and used up or brand new condition with high mileage. Retail replacement value is more than 20% higher than KBB rated value."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I always loved Nissan.

By on Sunday, April 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,378

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nissan My Love I will miss you and My doggies"

Cons: "Better CV Joints but Everything Else is Perfect!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned a Nissan since 1982 includes 300Z, Sentra and last Nissan is a Frontier. I still love my Frontier but I'm getting bored of driving the same pick up since 2004. The only issue/problem with Nissan is CV Joints. Every single Nissan with the exception of the 300Z I had to replace CV joints. My pick up can give me another 5 years of pleasure but I need a change. I might be purchasing a Toyota Tacoma which has better mileage. Will see...."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Reliable. Drove across usa

By on Saturday, May 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have owned"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I've loved this truck from the minute I bought it.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really hugs the road.Very secure/safe for me."

Cons: "none really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is trouble free. Easy to maintain. A tough little truck. Economical. Tires,wipers and two batteries are all I've replaced."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals