Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 146 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

fair condition

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good"

First vehicle I've owned

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,750

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles well, great traction in 2wd"

Cons: "rear leg room, non-adjustable pedals, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

This was in the fall of 2013

"I bought a 2001 SE 4D 4WD Frontier used at 66xxx miles in 2012. I had never had to do anything major except replace a clutch a few weeks ago. It does absolutely everything I've needed and more. It's an off-roading machine, and great on the pavement too. Overall it is a great truck, the only downside I find in it is the small amount of room in the backseat for passengers, and the fact that the pedal distance isn't adjustable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This was in the fall of 2013

Good truck,still good looking.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong engine"

Cons: "Steering wheel could it be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm the only owner of this truck,boughten brand new. No problems at all I use it for work everyday . Will last for many years if maintained . Never let me down,I recommend ti.planning to drive it unil I get tired."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable performer.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed bigger truck

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "A bit small for anyone over 6' tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck was there, working, anytime I needed it for 14 year and 2 teenage drivers. Mine had no options other than PS, PB and rear-wheel ABS. I wish they still made a compact truck this basic, rugged and reliable. Never a minute of regret or trouble from this 2000 Nissan Frontier."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best 4 wheel drive Ive owned in 34 years driving

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is excellent gas mileage very easy to put into 4 wheel drive, dependable very comfortable ride"

this truck is a great starter truck mine runs good

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 315,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it drives well and runs great if it is taken care"

Cons: "the steering isnt the best but good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the truck will last a long time I have driven mine a lot I suggest getting one for a starter truck they handle nice drive smooth and are really reliable trust me I bet it will last until you get board trust me"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good service and reliable"

Cons: "it's not as big as the new frontier."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had wanted the SC version for years. I upgraded from the 1995 Nissan truck. This was a great truck. Had great service out of the truck. Changed the supercharger pulley and intake, and helped this truck alot in power and milage."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

03 Nissan Frontier crew cab SC 4x4

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,309

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truc or approx. 2 1/2yrs and have had no major probles with the engine or anything else, its has been an all around been Great Truck!!!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Been a great reliable car and utility vehicle

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very Functional, good gas mileage , reliable"

Cons: "Back seat too small for car seats or large family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Handling is sloppy due to off road package. Riding at high speeds in windy roads or high winds tends to bounce the truck about (not like my sport car) but I suppose that is to be expected. Its been a great truck/passenger car. You don't want to haul your whole family a long way, the back seat is comfortable for smaller people for long rides. Large adults would not be happy back there a long time, only real drawback."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

reliable and useful

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "long milage, good off road ability"

Cons: "catalytic convertors expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a vehicle last this many miles, almost 200,000. The only problem was costly catalytic convertor replacement and there are 2 of them ! I used it for commuting highway and for off road camping and on weekends volunteering at an ecological reserve with very bad roads. Only rarely could 1st gear not get me where a 4 wheel drive could go. 2 wheel drive VERY bad for snow even with chains."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I love the truck. Does what I need it to do.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks great. Drives well and tows a lot."

Cons: "Not great on gas. Cost of repair is high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The truck is great reliable and fun to drive. I've had two and gave the old one to my daughter for her first vehicle. She loves it. Good enough for her first truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Based on fact that I have been the only owner

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "It needs the windshield washer fluid pump replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was purchase by me in 2001 (new) the maintenance has been outstanding and I feel that it is a very good utility vehicle,"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Number 5 and counting

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solidly built, reliable, dependable"

Cons: "Cramped back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck in November 2002 it had three miles on it...it now has 283,250+ miles. Maintenance has included four sets of tires, two batteries, one starter, one AC compressor, two timing belts/water pump changes (may as well do both at the same time), two sets of shocks, ONE TUNEUP...and thats about it. It still runs like a champ. Within the last year I've driven to Ft. Myers Florida (1700 miles one way), Albuquerque New Mexico (860 miles one way) and many other long distance trips around 500 miles one way. Other than the battery giving out twice in 11 years, this has been a dependable, reliable, very tough truck. Of course I'm biased...I've owned Nissan trucks since 1978 (Datsun then) when they came out with the King Cab and am sold on these for everyday work and driving use. Of the five I've owned since my first one in '78, I've never had a bad one."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love everything about this truck. I have had this truck for 10 years now."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Buy!

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Low Maintenance"

Cons: "Pretty Plain Jane, Little Room for Adults"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck I bought mine with 152,000 and didn't hesitate. Nissans are great running vehicles and I would jump in mine and go anywhere. It doesn't have a lot of luxury about it, but it is extremely reliable."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Never Dies

By on Monday, December 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable reliable reliable"

Cons: "back seat way to small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my truck since it was 2 years old and had 40000 miles. all I have done is replaced a injector (found out it was just the connector that was bad) , and the nobs on the window cranks have fallen of in the front seats. On top of that I was not nice to it. I was a senior in High School, and was the typical teenage boy. also it was a construction truck where it was loaded well beyond what should have been put in the bed or towed. I plan on giving this truck to my son when he can drive and he is only 4. The only major con is the size of the back seat, it is way to small."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Tough little truck

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Manual Transmission, Comfortable seats"

Cons: "Short bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has been in the family since 2000 and it runs good. However the A.C. has not worked in a good 4 years and no mechanic/dealer in Tallahassee can figure out whats wrong with it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not state-of-the-art, but it will make 200,000

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,076

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable enough to get 200,000 miles."

Cons: "Two major mechanical issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The Frontier was not top of the line when I bought it, but it will make and exceed the 200,000 mile mark. I encountered two major problems. First, the cruise control failed in the fourth year of ownership. Never fixed it because the dealer wanted $800.00 for the repair. Second, I had two oil leaks. Major pain to get it fixed both times. Newer Frontiers are more refined. I will look at the Frontier for my next truck, but other brands will be on my list. By the way, I had a 1989 Nissan Hard Body pickup that got over 200,000 miles."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

fun to drive on or off road

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "the cd player has a cd stuck in it, which I will r"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything in the truck with the exception of the interior has been replaced. New tires, hoses, radiator tune ups,regular oil changes. This truck has been my baby very well taken care of tinted Windows. Extended bed rack towing package. I have all maintenance paperwork."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Tough little truck...

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Tough, reliable, and fun."

Cons: "Lack of horsepower, tight interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm glad I bought this truck, it's one little tough truck! Very well made, it fully expect to get another 125000-150000 more miles out of it, maintenance is easy, but I'm a do it yourself'er. I only wish it had more horsepower and torque."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck for the money

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect small truck for in town and basic use."

Cons: "Lacks rear legroom in the 2000-2004 models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd Nissan truck since 1990 and the 1st car or truck I have put over 100K miles on. Still runs like new, looks like new, and some people think it is new. Great driving truck, rides car like, and handles smoothly. The 2001-2004 model has retained it looks over the years. Do basic maintenace and truck will last into 200K miles. I convinced by brother-in-law to purchase a 2001 Crew cab and they had 140K on it before they sold theirs. Quality is there and these trucks were made by Americans in TN."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

nice truck

By on Thursday, June 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "2 cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"fun to drive driver door is broken , the key do not open that side of the truck."

Nissan is true to my experience, great products.

By on Saturday, April 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "some what under powered for towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my fourth Nissan product, and I feel they are very good quality products, hold there value, have good engineering, are comfortable and fun to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid Daily Driver

By on Sunday, March 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliabilty and compactness, well put together"

Cons: "MPG/HP"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this trk in 2006 and while I wish it had better MPG and HP it is a rock solid vehicle. Other than reg maintenance and add ons, I haven't had to put anymore $ into this vehicle. MPG is at an all time low (14-15) and my best has been 17 all highway. The paint is still great for an outdoors trk that gets washed every 3-5 months (silver is the best color to have!). The interior is in great shape also and still looks new although there really is no room in the back for anyone. All in all a great little truck."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Awesome compact truck!

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fantastic value!"

Cons: "Needs power outlet in front w/o having key on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new and have had excellent service and reliability from day one. The only items replaced are the front brakes and battery, aside from filters during normal service. It is very easy to use in town, and very comfortable on a long trip. It has been on trips of 100 to 900 miles plus each way, in all kinds of weather and has always proven itself worth every penny I paid for it. A man 6'3" can sit in the back seat comfortably. Four adults can ride in it comfortably. Car seat anchors in the back seat are a wonderful asset when I have the grandkids. I have pulled a trailer weighing 1500 lb total on 15% grades without having to downshift lower than 4th, and had no brake problems pulling the same load down the same grades."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals