Go

2001 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 159 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Just the right size for what I need.

By on Friday, September 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive, great price, looks great."

Cons: "not much area to hide stuff if youre out shopping"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it new. It the same interior size as the car I had, plus xtra. I dont use mine for a work truck or to pull anything. It says it will pull 5000lbs. It's great for 'having a truck' when I need one. Really gets me down the road. Only thing the air has gone out. Also plasic Nissan is starting to come off tailgate."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the best truck for fun!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas economy for this type of truck!"

Cons: "not really!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had owned this truck for 7 years, when i get this truck i never taugh that this truck will give me a lot of fun and the most important like safety. i had crash against a minivan and my truck did not get too much damage, this is an awessome truck! i definitly recomend it! now this little truck have 194,000 miles on it. it's like new, run smooth and the engine is quiet. i love this truck!!!!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great family ruck and safe.

By on Sunday, September 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price and Value. Safe for the family with a high degree of dependability."

Cons: "Needs a little more rear leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The body line and interior creature features make for a safe and fun family or everyday truck. No issues other than monir ownership issues."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

sold

By on Friday, December 31, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have owned our 2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab supercharged for 9 years. We have 75000 miles on it and it has NEVER failed us. Gas economy is still solid at about 18.5 mpg on the road, but we only started out 19 mpg 9 years ago, so it's performance doesn't diminish with age. Besides it's normal maintenance, it was in for warranty once, for the moisture in the bed overhead lamp! Nissan really did it right with the Frontier."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good truck,still good looking.

By on Thursday, November 6, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong engine"

Cons: "Steering wheel could it be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm the only owner of this truck,boughten brand new. No problems at all I use it for work everyday . Will last for many years if maintained . Never let me down,I recommend ti.planning to drive it unil I get tired."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Tough little truck

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Manual Transmission, Comfortable seats"

Cons: "Short bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has been in the family since 2000 and it runs good. However the A.C. has not worked in a good 4 years and no mechanic/dealer in Tallahassee can figure out whats wrong with it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Relaibility has been amazing, fun truck to own.

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, comfortable, and fun to drive. Would like better gas mileage and wet weather handling around corners."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

old but good

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"these are good trucks. i have had no major problems. got it new in '02 it has 156k and still running strong. very under powered i hope someone makes a v8 swap kit, the titian engine would make this truck a keeper."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Super Reliable

By on Tuesday, February 5, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"If your a guy and are going to buy a civic, don't do it! Get one of these. Great gas mileage, looks better, & plus its a truck. I have the base model, so it stinks not having cruise control, wiper delay, or power windows. Also, some of the elements and details are cheaply put together. Reliability and Value are great though, and it is very inexpensive to maintain. Great ride for the guy who wants to put his money into an IRA instead of car payments and gas tanks!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Number 5 and counting

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solidly built, reliable, dependable"

Cons: "Cramped back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck in November 2002 it had three miles on it...it now has 283,250+ miles. Maintenance has included four sets of tires, two batteries, one starter, one AC compressor, two timing belts/water pump changes (may as well do both at the same time), two sets of shocks, ONE TUNEUP...and thats about it. It still runs like a champ. Within the last year I've driven to Ft. Myers Florida (1700 miles one way), Albuquerque New Mexico (860 miles one way) and many other long distance trips around 500 miles one way. Other than the battery giving out twice in 11 years, this has been a dependable, reliable, very tough truck. Of course I'm biased...I've owned Nissan trucks since 1978 (Datsun then) when they came out with the King Cab and am sold on these for everyday work and driving use. Of the five I've owned since my first one in '78, I've never had a bad one."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Functional

By on Friday, June 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Couldn't keep the driver side door opened."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this truck to move my musical instruments. It has served its purpose very well.My husband wanted me to get an used SUV, but I chose a new truck with a shell to keep the price down. I had no problem with this truck what so ever. I'd give 10 except I can't keep driver side door opened. It wants to close by it self. It's just minor problem, other than that I had good 13 years of driving."

17 people out of 22 found this review helpful

First vehicle I've owned

By on Wednesday, December 3, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,750

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles well, great traction in 2wd"

Cons: "rear leg room, non-adjustable pedals, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

This was in the fall of 2013

"I bought a 2001 SE 4D 4WD Frontier used at 66xxx miles in 2012. I had never had to do anything major except replace a clutch a few weeks ago. It does absolutely everything I've needed and more. It's an off-roading machine, and great on the pavement too. Overall it is a great truck, the only downside I find in it is the small amount of room in the backseat for passengers, and the fact that the pedal distance isn't adjustable."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

This was in the fall of 2013

most reliable truck i ever owned

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable ,good on gas"

Cons: "can heat up when air is on,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many trucks,go trough 2 every year because of driving so many miles. this truck had 28,000 on it when bought and i never did anything but put brakes ,tires, and oil changes....it was and is still running like new. I pull my boat and cargo trailer with it...now pushing 240,000 miles."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awesome compact truck!

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fantastic value!"

Cons: "Needs power outlet in front w/o having key on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new and have had excellent service and reliability from day one. The only items replaced are the front brakes and battery, aside from filters during normal service. It is very easy to use in town, and very comfortable on a long trip. It has been on trips of 100 to 900 miles plus each way, in all kinds of weather and has always proven itself worth every penny I paid for it. A man 6'3" can sit in the back seat comfortably. Four adults can ride in it comfortably. Car seat anchors in the back seat are a wonderful asset when I have the grandkids. I have pulled a trailer weighing 1500 lb total on 15% grades without having to downshift lower than 4th, and had no brake problems pulling the same load down the same grades."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

THE best vehicle I've ever bought

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks, great value, great reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as newer models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I love my truck!

"This truck has been remarkably reliable, and I still get comments about what an eye-catching vehicle it is. I love everything about it, although the now-obsolete 6-cylinder engine is not so efficient. However, I'm sold on Nissan, and will probably never buy another brand of truck."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my truck!

TERRIFIC VALUE

By on Friday, August 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I just purchased a 1999 Nissan Frontier pick up with 110,000 miles on it. The one, original owner took incredible care of it, considering it looks almost brand new. It drives more like a 1 year old truck, rather than a 9 year old one! With the 4 cylinder 2.4L and the 5 speed straight shift, I have been getting 23m.p.g. on regular gas! My truck came with brand new Goodrich T/A 31.5x9.0R15LT tires and she handles incredibly. ABS on all 4 wheels came standard. I only wish I had the bucket seats with the console rather than the bench. I have not tested the 4 wheel drive yet, but it is there if I need it. I would recommend this light pick up to anyone. It is on par with a Toyota Tacoma at 1/2 the price. Plus, it is made here in Tennessee by American workers!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Buy!

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Low Maintenance"

Cons: "Pretty Plain Jane, Little Room for Adults"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck I bought mine with 152,000 and didn't hesitate. Nissans are great running vehicles and I would jump in mine and go anywhere. It doesn't have a lot of luxury about it, but it is extremely reliable."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Go with the Titan

By on Monday, October 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun, looks great, powerful"

Cons: "small backseat, electrical issues, MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my frontier for 3.5 years now and have put 60,000 miles on it. I have not had any major mechanical problems but have had some electrical. My doors lock and unlock on there own and I have spent hundreds $$$ to get my taillights fixed. I had an electrical issue with one side of my tail lights and about 2 months after that was fixed the other side went bad. Also the bed light and interior lights no longer work (not the bulbs or fuses). I have the supercharged model and get 13-16 MPG. Had I known I would have just gone with the Titan. The back seat is suppose to be for 3 people but no way you could go far with 3 adults back there. The shape of the back doorway makes it difficult for some people to get in the vehicle. The good is that the truck has plenty of power, drives extremely smooth. There isnt alot that could stop this truck. I have driven in snow over the hood. Truck also has tons of power and tows like a pro. I even pulled a full size ford f-150, that was buried in the snow to its doors, out of the ditch. There is multiple locations in the bed to tie straps to. Over all a good truck. For the money and MPG I would personally just go for the Titan."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nissan Rocks!

By on Wednesday, June 22, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Rugged, stylish, rides comfortably, great truck!"

Cons: "Visors deteriorated, not a great turning radius."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different brands- and Nissan is overall the most reliable truck! Never had mechanical problems, body still looks amazing. (and it's been thru a LOT) I've seen other trucks and cars the same age as my Nissans (I also own an Xterra) and the paint is peeling and/or is faded.. both of my vehicles look like new! Interior as well; except the headliner on the Xterra- that fell for some reason? But all in all- would most definitely recommend Nissan. I have this truck sold- and already bought a 2016 Nissan Pathfinder. LOVE IT!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One of the best trucks I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Getting a family car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck brand new and it was amazing! I have owned all types of trucks (I tend to go through them rather quickly). This truck lasted the longest by far and I had almost no problems with it! I would have kept this truck until it stopped working but I had to get an SUV for my family. I highly recommend this truck to anyone looking for something that is reliable and great in the snow/off road."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I've loved this truck from the minute I bought it.

By on Sunday, March 8, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really hugs the road.Very secure/safe for me."

Cons: "none really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is trouble free. Easy to maintain. A tough little truck. Economical. Tires,wipers and two batteries are all I've replaced."

16 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Good economy vehicle low maint to mileage ratio

By on Thursday, January 1, 2015

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good value to maintenance vehicle drives great 15"

Cons: "none found so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Value on retail vehicles are more than KBB values due to market either has a limited selection of vehicles in good resale condition. Either High mileage and used up or brand new condition with high mileage. Retail replacement value is more than 20% higher than KBB rated value."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Very good

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car has been taken very good care of. Oil changed every 3000 miles and always full synthetic. There is only a small area on the front of the hood that has some rust otherwise no rust anywhere else. Clean enterior"

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Truck,purchased new.

By on Friday, December 4, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck,seems to stay like new, with lots of c"

Cons: "Gas milage not so good about 17mpg. Overall ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only replaced the a/c compressor at 100,000mi Still quiet no rattles very satisfied. Drives same as when new. One of my best vehicles ever."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Better have a good extended warranty!

By on Sunday, November 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fairly comfortable driving on the road."

Cons: "Ignition, emission, and electrical failures."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this truck with 68780 miles. First major issue started at 78000 miles. Truck has been through four starters, three distributors, two batteries, valve cover gasket failures, AC return line leak, knock sensor, mass air-flow sensor, three sets triple platinum spark plugs, new wires, three out of four catalytic converters, and three out of four O2 sensors. Has cost almost $7000 in maintenance and repairs in the three 1/2 years I've owned it. Driven around 10000 miles per year."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Frontier Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement