To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2015 Nissan Altima Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,711 - $22,117.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,135

Fair Purchase Price $21,175
Fair Market Range ($20,711 - $22,117)

Invoice $21,928

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Info valid for your area through 08/04/2016

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 8.3 of 10

10/8.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 269 Ratings for the 2013 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 ... 54 | Next

Not built to last

By on Monday, September 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Driver's seat, great mpg on highway trips"

Cons: "Some poor quality parts, poor electronics in SL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car was great, at first. While it still gets much better than the posted mileage (I have taken it on long highway trips and got up to 42.4 mpg) the CVT is HORRIBLE in the cold. Single digits mean double digit warm up times if it is going to "shift" at all. If you are in a rush in the cold be prepared for high rpms and much engine noise. Depending on the "mode" of drive it is in (regular or sport) it has different CVT chatter zones. I've figured out you can usually switch between modes to get rid of the noise if it bothers you...other than between 40-50 mph. You are often going to hear CVT chatter there no matter what you do in that extremely common speed range with the 2.5. On that note, the sunroof (I have the SL) constantly rattles. On a good noise note, the extremely loud A/C blower quieted down to what it should have by about 30k. Before then when the AC was on high it sounded like it was going to explode. Oh yeah, the AC compressor failed at 40k (2 years of ownership). Just past normal warranty range. Brilliant job Nissan. I drive cars for 10 plus years apiece and I've never had to replace an AC compressor in a car I bought new...to include a Dodge and an Isuzu. Finally, the back up camera is junk. Every other oil change I have to have the techs look at it. It can never decide if it is day or night so far as illumination. Sometimes it just shows black. The techs always say that the connection came loose. They never fix it, just say they've jammed it back in and that it should be a problem anymore, but it always is. If it's as they say, it's a poor design and they are incredibly cheap to refuse to permanently fix it. I bought the extended warranty out to 100k so well see who flinches first (hint, not me). Oh yeah, the front driver seat is awesome. Most comfortable I've ever sat in of any car. I wouldn't buy the car for the seat, but it is the best feature of the car. Too bad the rest doesn't match up. Especially with the tan interior, black accent pieces, and the light gray roof (how's that fit in?) Long and short of this, while I'll drive this car to it's end (because that's what I do when I buy new cars) I wouldn't buy another Nissan. Too many glitches for the money. I'd expect them from a lower cost brand like Kia or Dodge, but Nissan should be making better products. They started with potential and ended with disappointment."

18 people out of 26 found this review helpful

A well designed auto.

By on Saturday, May 2, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Average price model with options, well appointed."

Cons: "Noisy, choppy ride, CVT performance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have owned Nissan automobiles for many years, primarily Maxima types. This model has been a true gasoline saver with the 2.5L 4 cyl engine, The average fuel use averaged around 33 miles per gallon. The motor was a real eye opener, the pick-speed is on par with previous V8's, passing also tops. However, the ride is choppy with a very bothersome tire/road noise. The CVT transmission is a wonderful addition in the heavier Maxima, in this lighter model it does not perform as smoothly."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

RECALL

By on Thursday, April 9, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Auto up pasgr window, touch screen, push to start"

Cons: "CVT Transmission Malfunction, small door poquets"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I love the look of the car inside and out. I love the features and the feel of the car at higher speeds. Unfortunetly, after only 26000 miles and less than 9 months with my Altima SL I had to get a new transmission. You can feel the troubleshooting while parked, first and second gear."

26 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Unreliable, poorly put together

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast (V6), comfortable seats, handles well"

Cons: "totally unreliable and poorly put together"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm taking my 2013 Altima 3.5 back to the dealership next week for 5 (FIVE!) separate problems. Whistling sound from outside, center console latch doesnt work, hard plastic rattle in the dash, something rattling in the trunk lid, and a droning sound coming from the blower fan. This car has been to the dealership 4 times in the last year for a multitude of problems. A side to side shuddering at high speeds that they kind of fixed when they rotated the tires. It still shudders, just not as much. They replaced the drivers side mirror to stop the whistling noise, but it made it worse. The only thing the dealer actually fixed was a vent rattle, but that made the center console rattle worse. This is the worst car I've ever owned, by a mile. I actually didn't think they produced cars this poorly made anymore. I wanted it to be reliable so bad, because I actually like it. It handles well, accelerates very well, and it's comfortable. But I just have no faith in it. A little over a year old and with less than 9,000 miles, and it's a been a constant problem."

24 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Just bought my first nissan..and I love it

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nearly everything, design, look, way it drives"

Cons: "haven't found any yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a Nissan before, always been a mustang/charger or suv type of guy, however I finally purchased the Altima after listening to people talk about it and I love it. Best car I have ever driven to this point. highly recommend it."

18 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 ... 54 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
Advertisement