Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1008 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Some may like this car cozysporty goodacceleration

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Easy to drive sporty quick subwoofer cool car"

Cons: "small not cheap bad in snow not good mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"80% of the reason I bought the car was the salesperson claimed 32mpg average. Turns out one person got 32mpg with straight highway driving. I'm getting 24-25 with 90% highway driving and cold weather. NO long warmups. Not easy to enter/exit for a fit 60 year old, but I knew that. I just thought I could handle it. Sporty handling means jarring bumps. Low ride height means you can't see well down the road. Headlights are not the best even with upgraded bulbs (not HID). No fog lights on mid-range model?? Corners well. Brakes don't stop well for such a light car, until you're nearly stopped, then they really grab. Not easy to see out of. Four headrests and 3rd brake light occupy much of the rear view mirror. Not worth squat in snow. Tires spin and brakes anti-lock. Tires are Michelin MX4, Consumer Report's top-rated tire. Trunk is large and so is the gas tank. Most panels are held together with plastic buttons. Superficially, this is a neat car. Am I just getting old? What in the world was I thinking when I bought this car??"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome ride

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great economy,roomy,and easy to drive"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have seen these vehicles all over,and decided to trade my 02 Impala in...Best thing I ever did Loved the Impala,but love the Altima just as much..I plan to trade every 10 years or so,and im sure it will continue to be a nice ride..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great commuter/family car.

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price!"

Cons: "No negatives!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the only I owner of this car. Purchased Dec2012. Clean Carfax report. no accidents, no warranty recalls/work, no airbag deployment. Moon roof, power seat, alloy wheels, A/C, paint: Excellent. interior: Excellent. Tires have 15000-20000 tread left, Motor: clean! Average mpg is 27+. Highway is more than 30 mpg."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

great car to drie

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,627

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive. Handles well in bad weather"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed the Nissan. Handles very well. This car has had no problems."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Literally saved my life, such a safe car!

By on Monday, February 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "SAFE, comfortable, roomy, good on gas"

Cons: "Can't think of any big ones."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Okay let me just put this out here, I was OBSESSED with this car when I had it! I owned it for about 2 years. It drove so nice, was comfortable, and looked nice. So good on gas too. I drove all the time and only had to fill up every other week. The stock sound system was great in my opinion especially for only being stock! Everyone was always commenting about how my car "bumps". Well anyways I hit a tree head on the other day, and my car handled it like a champ. If I was in any other car I probably easily could have died, but the safety features on this car were amazing. Since it got wrecked I am now looking for another car, but I wouldn't be surprised if I got another Altima!"

Great car in any weather;Very reliable; economical

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,678

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, heated seats"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car in any weather;Very reliable; economical;plenty of power;best car ever!"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

BLACK 4 DOOR ALTIMA SEDAN WITH ONLY 16,000 MILES

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "16,000 miles"

Cons: "It is over 36 months, there is no warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the vehicle in July of 2011 and have literally only driven it to work and back for the past 3 1/2 years. It has cloth seats and is in excellent condition."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sorry I bought this car

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Good acceleration"

Cons: "Poor engineering of suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car does not hold it's alignment which means tire life is poor. 5 alignments in 4 years! My third set of tires are worn out. My 11 year old car that I still own is only on its 4th alignment and third set of tires with over 135K miles. All four breaks and rotors gone. The 11 year old finally had to put rear breaks on it and I tow a camper with it. 3 out of 4 air pressure sensors have already gone bad. All 4 still work in the 11 year old. The clock constantly gains time. It has been replaced 4 times with each having the same issue. It will be my first car I trade in before I hit over 140K miles. I usually can get 10+ years out of them."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This car have been trouble free..

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very afordable."

Cons: "every one on the road have one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My experience with my Altima has been a fill me up and go ,It is fun to drive very stylish and and overall well made car."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast, fun to drive"

Cons: "poor paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"While I love my Altima I was disappointed in the quality of paint used on my model. The paint chipped quickly and I had to get my hood and front bumper re painted from normal wear and tear after 1 yr. My car had the mass air flow sensor go out right at 65000 which is a pretty hefty expense which left my mpg stuck at 27.2 not the 38 they advertise. After it was replaced it never got good gas mileage again. :("

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This car is great for a 4cyl vehicle.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price, sleek body style"

Cons: "no power seats, sound system could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is beautiful on the outside. I would recommend to get the 3.5L instead of the 4cyl since there is not much get up and go compared to a V6 but it is a great car none the less."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Two head gaskets replaced

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great power and lower price point"

Cons: "Requires PREMIUM gas which is more expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"We have had 2 head gaskets replaced in 2 years. between 62,000 and 82,000 miles....spent Approx $5,500 and 5 weeks in the DEALER's shop. This car is not built for longevity. 3.5L motor is fast and furious, but head / block design is inferior."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Smooth quiet ride, spacious, reliable

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, spacious, drives excellent."

Cons: "Can't think of anything I would change."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded down to a more economical sedan and chose the Altima. I thought I had to give up comfort and power. Not the case. The Altima is an awesome ride, no engine/performance issues in 40,000/4 years, interior and electronics still like new. Economical to drive at a cost of about 30 mpg. Interior is more comfortable and spacious than other mid size sedans. Love my Nissan! No compromising with the Altima."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economic"

Cons: "can't afford it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,598

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So very reliable and easy to drive, lots of room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fits my needs perfectly."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

solid dependable and affordable

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "value for the price"

Cons: "needs more movment in the drivers lumbar support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is about the 9th nissan our family has owned and its as reliable as the others and built very well. great value for the price point , did not get navigation, i have that in my phone. gas mileage runs about 33-34 highway if you stay around 73mph. in town is about 19 mpg. i will most likely purchase a new one when this one wears out."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great control, confident on the turns, Awesome CVT"

Cons: "blind spot, you have to adjust the mirror right"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The design of the car centered on the driver. The control is awesome, turning as if on track. The CVT is so smooth that you do not notice the change of gears. The sound quality is great. I always enjoy the music from the premium sound. The key less feature is so convenient and will not allow key be locked inside."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Pretty cool even though.....

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "like it"

Cons: "so far none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Its a nice car even though I am barely 4'9". I am very short but yet this car is nice to drive, carry passengers and some cargo like a wheel chair or walker. The V6 makes it feel sporty but the issue with the car for me is that I had to give up my money to my brother so he can buy himself one even though this car was a gift to him. I was going to trade it in but I am reconsidering of just keeping it for at least 6 years. Its my first car, even though it was a hand down in mint condition (inside) from my brother to me. Now that I have it, I am taking care of it and now I have it so clean that my brother is regretting getting a new car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive comfortable"

Cons: "Needs transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The car runs great drives nice and is extremely comfortable but needs a new transmission. It's great on gas getting about 25 miles to the gallon"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My 2010 Altima SL is an awesome sedan!

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and reliable; fun to drive sedan"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2010 Altima SL for 5 years and have had NO problems whatsoever. It is fun to drive (great pick-up) and very comfortable - even for my 6'3" 200 lb. husband. I recently had a 100k mile check-up, and the only things the mechanic did were to replace the spark plugs and a serpentine belt, and check everything out. He reported that it was in GREAT condition. I actually had to ask friends for a recommendation for a good mechanic because I have never needed one since owning this vehicle. I recently moved to a slightly rural area, and find that I need a vehicle capable of transporting various items that will not fit in the trunk (even though my Altima has a very good-sized one). I am now interested in purchasing a mid-size SUV."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great reliable car

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 2007 Altima 2.5 SL is a great car for the money. It is one of the most reliable vehicles on the market. With the exceptional interior quality and plenty of power (for a 4-cylinder) I would not hesitate to buy this vehhicle again."

24 people out of 39 found this review helpful

very reliable, fun to drive

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only negative in 7 yrs. of ownership is a blind spot on drivers side. brakes lasted over 70000 miles."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Solid midsize sedan

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth, quiet, sharp handling, fuel efficient"

Cons: "Rear head room, trunk hinges (very minor pt)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just turned 5 yrs with my 2010 2.5SL. Not a single mechanical problem. Zero. Quiet, comfortable ride and SL (leather) package gives more upscale feel than rental-car trim of base car. Bose stereo is decent. Handling is quick for a family sedan. Fold-down rear seat very handy for hauling my bike & gear to rides and events. Real world MPG's (US gal)- 26-28 city/suburbs and 34 hwy (at low 70's mph) Really has been a great car. Recently spent 2+wks with a relative's new Accord EX-L (4cy, leather) and still prefer my '10 Altima. Honda's seats were not as supportive, handling not quite as sharp, and inferior stereo. Only advantage of the Accord was more rear seat headroom for tall (6ft) adults. My only other 2 nitpicks about the Altima are no height-adjust on passenger front seat (but no other non-lux midsize has this either) and the piano-hinges on the trunk lid can squeeze big items in the trunk."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

looking for a gas saber car? This is it. Great car

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Back seat have refreshment console"

Cons: "It is a plesure to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have two cars and because of that we only has been using this car 6 month out of the year. My husband is a nut in keeping cars in top conditions and keeping cars for many years. The car is very gasoline efficient and a very elegant looking car."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great value! purchased new for much less than comp

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, great price and great mileage, no problems"

Cons: "Lacks the GPS common today"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gets 35 MPG on freeway at a steady 70 MPH. The 4 cylinder has good power and the variable speed transmission is very smooth. The dealer found what we wanted - cloth interior with moon roof. It's a bit simple compared to high tech models today, but absolutely nothing has gone wrong. Bought a 2009 4 door for wife and liked it so much, I went looking for a used 2 door Altima coupe. Ended up with a new 2010 4 door for me at a great deal. No regrets! The trunk accepts a full size real spare tire, which I bought for both cars."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals