Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1017 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Very reliable. Owned since new

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,231

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely satisfied. Would buy again!!!!"

This vehicle is an amazing machine.

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,090

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of power, leather seats, bose audio, AC"

Cons: "Slots for coins could hold a little more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving this car for a little over a year now, I have no complaints. I am paying above KBB for the car but that was to be expected, my credit wasn't the best. The thing that softens the blow is how amazingly comfortable this car is, as well as how reliable it has been. The features are many and the comforts are just as plentiful, I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to purchase."

Great fun to drive for value.

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,988

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Zippy, fun to drive . Good gas mileage."

Cons: "Bumpy rough ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great price bumpy ride over bumps. Good gas mileage."

very satified

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "Balky CVT transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Altima has never had a mechanical failure. I'm happy with the comfort, seating space and trunk space. I'm satisfied with the handling and gas mileage. At 77,000 miles and 7 years, I have replaced nothing but the tires. At low speeds, the CVT transmission is sensitive to gas pedal and takes some getting used to. I have heard that later Altima model years have not been as good."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Excellent Car For Normal Use

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, excellent ride."

Cons: "Speedometer calibrated in 20MPH steps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Had the Altima for three years and never a problem. Dealer easy to deal with for required maintenance."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good and dependable car for 7+ years.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value and comfort for the money"

Cons: "Required additional set of snow-worthy tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been excellent for both in town and road driving over 7+ years. Physically and in performance it has met or exceeded all expectations. Best car I have ever had as to value and performance to costs."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Hybrid is fun to drive. Good mileage.

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Additional power from hybrid."

Cons: "Smaller trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My favorite thing is the added power from hybrid drive. It let's me accelerate nicely from stops."

Power when you need it!

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Better than ice cream.....go buy one now!"

Cons: "Poor visibility when looking rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my Nissan coupe! I have all the power I need to use when necessary, like moving beyond a vehicle who suddenly swerves into your lane, or driving safely up and down steep mountains, or ending a game of "pass me at 75 & then drive 60" - now I can, within seconds! Okay...basically I think this car is nice looking too...I have leather, heated power seats...Bose sound, moon/sun roof, Bluetooth, auto headlights etc., none of which I have had before....this is all a lovely, fun, and since used, affordable dream to me, which I absolutely deserve. And yes, I do drive carefully....... I think everyone should own a car like this at least once in a lifetime....most definitely !! Unless you are a cat with 9 lives...then take your time doing what is on your bucket list . Me? Next will be a new coupe!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Smooth ride, bottoms, out, HORRIBLE in snow

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this car in the summer when there was no snow. I purchased it because of the ratings on gas mileage and because it is roomy inside but still looks somewhat sporty. I have driven in snowy/icy road conditions for thirty years and this is by far the worst handling car I have ever owned for these type of conditions. This is with new all weather tires. The ride is smooth on pavement but if you go over any type of speed bump, enter/exit a parking lot with any type of hump/bump you will bottom out. And that is going as slow as possible and still actually moving. It's also got some type of felt like/fabric covering on the wheel wells, which I don't understand. Snow and ice builds up on it and rubs the tires consistently. I do like the fact that it is roomy and comfortable to drive and I get about 28 mpg highway in cold temps."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Some may like this car cozysporty goodacceleration

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Easy to drive sporty quick subwoofer cool car"

Cons: "small not cheap bad in snow not good mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"80% of the reason I bought the car was the salesperson claimed 32mpg average. Turns out one person got 32mpg with straight highway driving. I'm getting 24-25 with 90% highway driving and cold weather. NO long warmups. Not easy to enter/exit for a fit 60 year old, but I knew that. I just thought I could handle it. Sporty handling means jarring bumps. Low ride height means you can't see well down the road. Headlights are not the best even with upgraded bulbs (not HID). No fog lights on mid-range model?? Corners well. Brakes don't stop well for such a light car, until you're nearly stopped, then they really grab. Not easy to see out of. Four headrests and 3rd brake light occupy much of the rear view mirror. Not worth squat in snow. Tires spin and brakes anti-lock. Tires are Michelin MX4, Consumer Report's top-rated tire. Trunk is large and so is the gas tank. Most panels are held together with plastic buttons. Superficially, this is a neat car. Am I just getting old? What in the world was I thinking when I bought this car??"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals