Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1229 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

had car since new. very reliable. still looks good

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value. I love the 3.5 engine."

Cons: "Gas cap release replaced 2x."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car owes me nothing. I like the fact that after 12 years the design has remained basically the same."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle for last 6 yrs

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased car in 2008. Its a 2006 & I have taken great care of it. Its been a great vehicle for me for last 6 yrs. No real issues. I would buy another Altima for the right price."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No oil or catalytic converter issues after 12 yrs

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,411

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "stylish, gas mileage, powerful, low maintenance"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats, minor repairs spending"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought it new in 2002 now she has over 265K miles without doing nothing but scheduled maintenance and oil changes as recommended. The car did have some goofy repair coming up other than that I am happy my Altima is going very flawless while gas mileage is 28 mpg on 2.5s model I've purchased. The interior considered to be (''MINT'') air conditioner blows ice cold. It runs and drives well after reading terrible reviews on this model from the year mines is surprised this car is keeping me happy on letting me take care of it while having oil changed performed at 3k miles and all maintenance recommendation. I will never get rid of it while it's peppy not closed to its last leg but it's powerful fast under a 175hp 4 cylinder not the quietest car to drive overall a good vehicle to own as long doing proper maintenance and oil changes every 3k miles. The car will go on longer trips never overheats or smokes but don't drive long distances anymore as car beginning to reach the high miles mark just drive around town while paying for rentals otherwise appreciate money worth getting after 12 years love this car. If anybody doesn't trust a car brand like Nissan than it's something wrong because these are great cars ever hit the roads have mechanics telling me it's one of the best cars ever. When it retires my next car will be a Nissan again."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

You can't go wrong with Nissan

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Perfect balance - sporty yet practical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned 3 altimas, 1 maxima, and a murano. This 2003 altima has been wonderful, comfortable, and dependable. Purchased it new and was the main family car for a time and then went consecutively to two teen drivers. Now at 181K miles we have no problems. Have always followed a maintenance schedule, used plus gasoline."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2003 2.5 S Sedan- A very solid sedan!

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, features, and room for the price."

Cons: "Wanted a color other than silver, that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very solid car! I purchased my Altima three years ago with 117,000 miles, and it now is right at 156,000, so I've owned this car during it's later years. I travel from the Raleigh area to Charlotte several times a month, and the comfort and quality is very solid for the price you pay. Im sure the 6 cylinder is nice, but the 4 cylinder has plenty of power. I've never had an uncomfortable moment merging into highway traffic. I average around 26 mpg with me driving around 60% highway miles. I have plenty of headroom and legroom, and I'm 6'3". Power seats and sunroof are a definite plus. Never had a problem with it beyond routine maintenance. I definitely recommend one for a first car, especially for a high school/college student."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great car, great value. Never had an issue.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful Car inside/out"

Cons: "Turning radius improvement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car all the way around."

Unremarkable but reasonably reliable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Reasonably reliable"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats, annoying self-braking feature"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car seems reliable enough but needed a new catalytic converter last year according to dealer that serviced it. The seat is uncomfortable and I don't particularly enjoy driving this car. The automatic braking feature when going downhill is rather annoying. I obtained the car for free from a parent who no longer drives, but otherwise I would have chosen another make."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car- very reliable!

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy inside"

Cons: "door locks; re-locks too soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car - thinking of buying another one with hopes it is just as reliable - only selling now due to mileage"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Altima Se-r

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, sporty but practical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car until I totaled it. Owned 2 se-r's. Best type of Altima out there. Comparable would be a maxima."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

One of the best cars I've owned

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Besides normal maintenance, we have only had to change the top oil gasket."

03 nisson altima 2.5S

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Excellent car. Great in the snow. Great ride. I love Altima's but; the opening to get to the gas cap does not work the bottom of the car is rusting away this should not happen to a car that only has 120,000 miles on it the engine and the transmission are great and I am getting 25 mpg"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Sports Car

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fast. Fun to Drive, Affordable, Roomy Interior"

Cons: "Noisy and stiff ride, prone to tire/wheel problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased the car used with approx. 60k miles and it currently has 125k and i have owned the car for 5 years. As a lover of sports cars i have really enjoyed owning this vehicle. Has great acceleration and is still a practical car. Car isn't the best in snow, but for a sports car its not too bad. Not the best mpg and the ride is a little stiff and noisy and when you hit bumps it really resonates in the car. Sometimes hitting bumps will give a sound of rattling plastic that seems kind of cheap. Low profile tires are also vulnerable to flats and dented rims which I've had a problem with here in NJ. The problems I've had with the car are minor and have never needed any expensive repairs throughout ownership compared to my last car, '98 Audi A4, which required maintenance pretty frequently always costing at least 1,000 and often more. All in all, the Altima SE-R has been good to me and I would definitely purchase it again and recommend it to others."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The car is in good condition. All maintenance has

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"been kept up."

Except for exterior paint, good car.

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good trunk storage & sound system."

Cons: "Center console difficult to clean..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Exterior paint has pitted on the front of the car. I paid extra for Armour guard, and I do not tailgate, so this is an annoying disappointment every time I look at the car. Other than that, I still enjoy the comfort, design & reliability of the Altima."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awkward

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very Awkward to drive - owned it since day one and still sit too low to see enough to effectively feel like I can drive car like old car (Camry). Turning radius horrible."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

These cars are junk! 2.5L QR25DE Engine is junk!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Good on gas before they start having engine issues"

Cons: "Multiple engine failure issues, poor interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Trust me, I know cars- I've worked for a salvage yard for the past 18 years and rebuild these engines all the time. This is one of our top selling engines. We know they have the same common catastrophic engine issues. First the poorly designed catalytic converter integrated into the exhaust manifold fails, it starts producing a sand like residue that travels into the engine cylinders, it scars the cylinder walls, damages the pistons and rings, it starts to smoke when you first crank it and uses anywhere from a half quart of oil a week to 2 quarts depending on how severe the internal damage is. Usually I see head gasket issues as well with these engines which is another byproduct of the cat converter overheating and warping the head. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE CARS! Do some google research or call the junkyards and ask about the engines in these cars. Some of these cars were recalled regardless of the mileage or who owns it for engine replacement but they are VIN specific, likely the dealership will tell you yours isn't part of the recall. If you don't hassle them about it they will hope you just move on. They are also told to say it's not a common issue but don't let them lie to you. Nissan should own up to their huge mistake on this engine and this car."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Loved this car from day one.

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything at hand. Spacious trunk/ passengers"

Cons: "more cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A comfortable, reliable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Altima means Ultimate Car

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Saves gas, fun to drive, roomy, looks good, value"

Cons: "jumpy on stop and go traffic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Looks New, Drives New, Keeps it youth, Red or black best color,

"Purchased in 2009, my '05 Altima @ 38000 miles. Great car. Just wonderful, powerful engine for a 4 cylinder. Saves gas!!! Great acceleration, good brakes. Shifts up & down flawless on Automatic Trims. I'm a big muscular build 6'2" 250 has a LOT OF LEG ROOM!!! Very comfortable ride, very powerful drive. Now @ 84000 miles drives just as good as the first day I drove it. Only one problem in 5 years Camshaft had to be replace, that's ALL!!! NO ISSUES after that, just normal wear, getting new brake pads, rotors, oil change. Fyi------Castrol GTX oil 4quarts w/ 1 bottle of Lucas Oil Stabilizer every oil change, real Improves Engine Performances, Cold Engine warms up faster, and Engine Oil last longer!! My Best Personal Review."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Looks New, Drives New, Keeps it youth, Red or black best color,

Car is a beast

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good storage, reliable, great engine compartment"

Cons: "No rear vents, heating could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car on my very own when I turned 19 and it was the best investment I could of made. The car has been nothing but reliable and trustworthy. I have yet to have a problem with it and it is far from a lemon. Very attractive car, good looking inside and out and people mistake it for a newer car all the time. Comfortable and convenient with good storage. I live in Montana and live in very harsh weather conditions and it has done nothing but keep me safe, handles the snow very well and the driving dynamics are great very good to drive in the snow. Overall this car is a beast and I'm so glad I bought it would recommend to anybody!"

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very dependable and good gas mileage

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage great"

Cons: "no air vents in the backseat a must in Texas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was one of the best cars I have owned. It is roomy inside, handles well and gets good gas mileage. The only down side was the air vents were always blowing in my face and the back seat didn't have air vents. Otherwise this is a great car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

gret car

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "dont know"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most reliable car ive owned by far"

Very reliable car!

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very confortable, good size,good gas. I love my car!! I will be buying a new car soon and I am sure I will miss my Altima!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals