Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1216 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

Comfort and reliability of Nissan are unparalleled

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price for a great valued car"

Cons: "No Bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had two Nissan Maxima's before my Altima. I love all of them. They are the most comfortable and reliable cars. I kept up with all manufacture required maintainance recommendations and never had any problem with the car. I love my beautiful car. I decided to buy a hybrid car because of the high price of gas."

This car runs great.

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the paper work to show the car has a new Transmission, new cadlatic concerter, new heater and air conditioner. Plays both AM-FM, and a CD player. Black tented windows and the car is raring to go. I have all the paper work to prove the work done on the car."

I love this car!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, fun to drive, great in snow"

Cons: "'01 - '03 has known engine issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is SO much fun that I actually hunt out roads with curves to drive! The reason I gave it a 6 out of 10 overall rating is due to the poor engine design for that year. It's got 134,000 miles & needs a new catalytic converter. The first (apparently it has 2) converter was put too close to the manifold & the heat breaks down the ceramic inside the converter. I had 2 mechanics (1 works for a Nissan dealership) tell me that pieces of the broken down ceramic gets sucked into the engine causing ring damage & causes it to burn oil. For now, I still have 3 yrs until I can look at a new vehicle. Meantime, I'm going to baby this great driving fun machine until I can get a newer one."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good car, lots of pep.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pasaenger side seat hard to get in and out of for older or less agile people. Had trouble in the beginning with electrical system, windows had a mind of their own and went down after it was parked. Seems to be corrected now. Lots of pep, slight rattle near front wheel cannot find source. Overall its been a good dependable car, rides nice. I would definately buy another Nissan"

Great car.

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, leather interior, sun roof,"

Cons: "Do not need two cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Kept this car when I purchased my Maxima also a great car but I Don't need two cars any more my wife and I are now both retired and one is all we need. I'm looking to sell the 2006 Altima that's in great condition..."

My Car

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,509

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have driven this car for 11 years without any major issues. I have not really taken it any long distance but it has been very reliable over the years. Just last year I had to replace the heating coil and the tire rod but, overall it has held up. Only reason I am getting rid of it is to give it to my son who lives out of town he needs a reliable car to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car was excellent. I would buy another. The only thing I can say bad about the car is the carpet didn't hold up well. And some of the other interior stuff didn't hold up well. So hopefully they have changed that in the new ones. But I would buy again."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car to own, recommended,

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,540

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Kept its value, great on the road"

Cons: "replacing sensors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the vehicle used at a dealership. Leary at first, relieved after awhile, glad I bought the car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Affordable and reliable

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great sound system, low maintenance."

Cons: "Goes through brakes, CVT tranny."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have owned this car for 6 years. Initially had some issues but mostly due to the cold climate in upstate NY. Once those were repaired it was just a matter of oil changes, and rotating the tires. Very reliable and would trust it with my daughter going off to college."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,143

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great car for a great price!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my best vehicle ever

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun and affordable"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the most reliable,safe,gas economical,and great looking car."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Altima!!

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Altima brand new in 2002 with only 14 miles on the odometer- We've been so in love with this car! It still gets 30+ mpg- We drove it from Colorado to Disneyland and only filled the tank twice! Same when we went to Chicago! :-)"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

had car since new. very reliable. still looks good

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value. I love the 3.5 engine."

Cons: "Gas cap release replaced 2x."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car owes me nothing. I like the fact that after 12 years the design has remained basically the same."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle for last 6 yrs

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased car in 2008. Its a 2006 & I have taken great care of it. Its been a great vehicle for me for last 6 yrs. No real issues. I would buy another Altima for the right price."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No oil or catalytic converter issues after 12 yrs

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,411

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "stylish, gas mileage, powerful, low maintenance"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats, minor repairs spending"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought it new in 2002 now she has over 265K miles without doing nothing but scheduled maintenance and oil changes as recommended. The car did have some goofy repair coming up other than that I am happy my Altima is going very flawless while gas mileage is 28 mpg on 2.5s model I've purchased. The interior considered to be (''MINT'') air conditioner blows ice cold. It runs and drives well after reading terrible reviews on this model from the year mines is surprised this car is keeping me happy on letting me take care of it while having oil changed performed at 3k miles and all maintenance recommendation. I will never get rid of it while it's peppy not closed to its last leg but it's powerful fast under a 175hp 4 cylinder not the quietest car to drive overall a good vehicle to own as long doing proper maintenance and oil changes every 3k miles. The car will go on longer trips never overheats or smokes but don't drive long distances anymore as car beginning to reach the high miles mark just drive around town while paying for rentals otherwise appreciate money worth getting after 12 years love this car. If anybody doesn't trust a car brand like Nissan than it's something wrong because these are great cars ever hit the roads have mechanics telling me it's one of the best cars ever. When it retires my next car will be a Nissan again."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

You can't go wrong with Nissan

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Perfect balance - sporty yet practical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned 3 altimas, 1 maxima, and a murano. This 2003 altima has been wonderful, comfortable, and dependable. Purchased it new and was the main family car for a time and then went consecutively to two teen drivers. Now at 181K miles we have no problems. Have always followed a maintenance schedule, used plus gasoline."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2003 2.5 S Sedan- A very solid sedan!

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, features, and room for the price."

Cons: "Wanted a color other than silver, that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very solid car! I purchased my Altima three years ago with 117,000 miles, and it now is right at 156,000, so I've owned this car during it's later years. I travel from the Raleigh area to Charlotte several times a month, and the comfort and quality is very solid for the price you pay. Im sure the 6 cylinder is nice, but the 4 cylinder has plenty of power. I've never had an uncomfortable moment merging into highway traffic. I average around 26 mpg with me driving around 60% highway miles. I have plenty of headroom and legroom, and I'm 6'3". Power seats and sunroof are a definite plus. Never had a problem with it beyond routine maintenance. I definitely recommend one for a first car, especially for a high school/college student."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car, great value. Never had an issue.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful Car inside/out"

Cons: "Turning radius improvement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car all the way around."

Unremarkable but reasonably reliable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Reasonably reliable"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats, annoying self-braking feature"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car seems reliable enough but needed a new catalytic converter last year according to dealer that serviced it. The seat is uncomfortable and I don't particularly enjoy driving this car. The automatic braking feature when going downhill is rather annoying. I obtained the car for free from a parent who no longer drives, but otherwise I would have chosen another make."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car- very reliable!

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy inside"

Cons: "door locks; re-locks too soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car - thinking of buying another one with hopes it is just as reliable - only selling now due to mileage"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Altima Se-r

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, sporty but practical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car until I totaled it. Owned 2 se-r's. Best type of Altima out there. Comparable would be a maxima."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

nice car.no problem with car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"no mechanical problem.everything in working condition.own the car for ever since I bought it new."

One of the best cars I've owned

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Besides normal maintenance, we have only had to change the top oil gasket."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details