Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 484 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,250

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, sporty, great gas mileage, sturdy"

Cons: "no map light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is incredibly reliable! It is a 5-speed GXE and I still have the original clutch. It has been incredibly reliable and I've only spent about $2500 on repairs in the 13 years that I've owned it. I've owned Toyotas and Mitsubishis and, by far, this is the best. I would buy another Nissan in a heartbeat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fantastic car!

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drve, handles nicely, 6 CD changer"

Cons: "no jack to plug in my ipod, could use better gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 17, a ew driver and just got my car 4 months ago. Unfortunatley I was in an accident with it which was not my fault. I'm pretty sure my car is totaled now and it is not drivable. however I loved this car, it got me where I was going and did a great job at it. I paid $7k for it and got $4k worth of repairs done on it, which i now see was far too much, however the car was fantastic."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nissan gxe

By on Friday, June 11, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"good car reliable and safe very little problems with it its a good back and fourth to work car little maintance and overall this is a good car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Got mad love

By on Wednesday, June 09, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car new back in 2000 and to be honest, I have put it through a lot of things. (wrecks, off roading, etc.) It now has 144,000 miles and has never let me down or left me on the side of the road. I truely love this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Perfect for me

By on Tuesday, June 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my Altima GXE with 72,000 miles, has 93,000 miles now. Very reliable, just standard maintenance, tires, a belt, radiator flush, brakes,etc. Very smooth driving, has security option, gives you break on insurance, a definite plus. Only problem, I have only one chip key. Replacement is very expensive, nearly $200. It's my easy out to tell my kids they can't drive my car. Love this car, I can't miss googling at the more luxury Altima's. Have read reviews not as high rated overall as this baby. I would buy another, no question. Friends who have had Nissans say only good things about them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Strong and Dependable

By on Monday, September 29, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this car for 7 years now. It has been a very reliable car with very few issues. I have had normal upkeep routine services. Only major issue I have had, which is a normal routine upkeep service in and of itself is having to get a new clutch at 98,000 miles. 100k out of the clutch? That's a good number. I bought the car used with about 20k on it, and now have put 90k on it myself. There have been 2 downsides. 1- I have found is that the radio buttons have broken off. Nothing that can stop me from playing my CDs but I lost a couple of radio station presets. 2. The paint on my rear bumper has flaked off, I got it repainted and it still flakes off."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"For an 8 year old car this car is great. All we've done is regular maintenance and it still rides new. There are no leaks, etc at 85K and no mechanical issues. I know I can jump in my car and drive anywhere! It gets decent gas mileage and has good power for a 4 cylinder. The best part is that it holds it's value pretty well compared to the American cars even though it was built in Tennessee. Thanks Nissan"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wish they were all Altimas!!!

By on Friday, December 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I've ever owned. Bought '00 Altima GXE new from dealer. Done nothing but tires and oil changes on my way to 182,000 miles. Still has original clutch & unbelievably "original brakes" too. Paid 15k dollars for it brand new and it has rewarded me with worry free driving ever since. Never missed a start in our cold New England winters."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"great car 250000 and still going"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Thursday, September 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I got my 2001 Nissan Altima LE as a used car. It had around 39000 miles when i got it. Now just crossed the 101k mark and i decided i need to write about the my amazing car. It has not given me any issues at all. ever. Still it gives me 23 in city/suburb driving in atlanta. I have done a couple of 1000 miles+ highway trips and this car in very solid. Gives me 30 on highways even after so many miles on the car. Also this car has a metallic timing belt. So i dont ever have to replace it. (Saved me money on 100k service). I have not invested anything in the car other than regular stuff like oil change,service,brake pads. No special lubricants etc. I am ready to buy another new car but this car doesnot give me any reason to get tradein. I Checked the new Altima/ Camry/ Accords and all had around same milage. I will drive this car may be for few more years easily. Will keep you updated."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car new in the Fall of 1997. I currently have over 200,000 miles. It is very reliable and a great investment. I would recommend a Nissan Altima to anyone!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still Going Like A Bunny

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have a 98 Altima purchased used in 01 with 68K on it. I'm zeroing in on 250K and it's still going strong. Aside from brakes, tires, tune up, and other normal stuff this car has not missed a beat. Put a clutch in at 214K, does have a oil leak, but should I be surprised at that. Body still good. Would have issues in jumping in the car and driving a long distance. Granted alot of highway miles, but a quater of a million on a 4 banger. May be I'll wash it when I roll 250K. This car owes me nothing. Best used purchase I've ever made!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

second worst vehicle of 50 + that I've owned

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "economy only redeeming quality"

Cons: "too many to list. Terrible in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"wasn't too bad up to 100,000 miles but literally disintegrated after 100K. Replaced fuel injectors, valve cover gasket,spark plug seals, alternator. Mileage fell from 30 mpg to 23. It was never a power house, but it exhibited a major decline in performance after 100K."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, gas mileage

By on Monday, May 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value, gas mileage, standard"

Cons: "reversed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun to drive and 5 speed is just a blast. It picks up very quick. No problems in gearing or steering except for reverse seems to be difficult to change into. ( I think its something to do with the safety feature so you don't shift to reverse on accident.) Great car overall im getting 32 mpg"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent little car!

By on Monday, October 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought it used with around 65000 miles a year ago. Had to replace two mass air flow sensors. Other than that no problems and the car has great pickup for a 4 cylinder."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car for the long haul

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this car for 14 years and has been in the shop twice. Got everything services according to mfg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lasts forever

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for five years haven't done anything but change the oil an brakes over the years"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This auto has only cost me the regular maintence bakes and tune-ups in 10 years. I purchased the extended warranty package and never had to use it. I live in Chicago, IL and for 10 years of winter weather with no garage in 20 below temps., always started. Great Great car Hat off to Nissan!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tight steering"

Cons: "CD player does not work, but hey it's over 10 yrs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We had such good luck with this car, we bought another 2yr.old one off lease one. We change the oil religiously every 5,000 miles and transmission fluid once a year-At 225,000 miles, it still runs like it was brand new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Quintessential mid - small sized sedan

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, conveniance, mpg (30-34hwy), zippy,"

Cons: "youll never get rid of it,(it will alwayshave life"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was/is my first car, (i got it 6 years ago (at 130000 miles) and im still using it and plan to use if for years still) This car has NEVER had any major issues, the worst that had happened was a rust hole in the exhaust (it sounded cool for a few weeks) But other than that it still runs like a champ and always starts in the minnesota winters. GREAT CAR!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my car, ive had it for 2 years it has a new engine and transmission that the previous owner did.. im the second owner, never had any mechanical issues runs smooth leather in in tact. oh! i have gotten my left axle fixed that was about 60 bucks. i put 30 in the tank it last me about 5 good days. overall great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable and Practical

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid car"

Cons: "Nissan could have done a better job designing the back end of the car. It looks terrible."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle when it had 55,000 miles. It was previously a rental car so I bought the bumper to bumper warranty. I never used the warranty as the car did not give me any problems. Within the last four years, I've changed the tie-rods, radiator and alternator. I did the work myself so it didn't cost me much. Overall, I think this car has been great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Grea vehicle

By on Thursday, February 24, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Most reliable car we have ever owned. Have owned this car since it was brand new. Unlike our Chevy Malibu, it has never seen the inside of the shop @ the dealership! Our first repair was a new battery when the car was7 years old!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Point A to Point B

By on Wednesday, February 09, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car with 112K on it 8 months ago and have put 27K on it since and have been incredibly pleased. Extremely reliable, comfortable enough, sufficient creature comforts (i.e. cruise control, power windows), and enough power to cruise comfortably at 75 mph. Gas mileage is good- the best I've gotten is 32. It will not turn heads, but that's not why I bought it. No major problems- only slight coolant and oil leaks. Highly recommended!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best ever

By on Monday, January 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Altima for seven yrs and its been a great dependable n comfortable car. I love my little Altima it's been a life saver."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals