Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 483 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Nissan Altima...Great Car

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pick up ,dependability, comfort"

Cons: "need more space up front for extra items."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have leased/owned altima's for the last 20 years. Best feature of this car is the pick up. When merging onto a highway you can rely on this car to get you going. It has been extremely reliable, even through the past few extreme NY winters, I never worried that my car wouldn't start in the morning. It never crossed my mind because it never happened. If you get this car serviced once a year, you can count on reliable and comfortable transportation for many years."

No problems

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, comfortable, spacious"

Cons: "low front bumper, windows get stuck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car as a family 'hand me down' in 2011 with about 130k miles on it. Since I got it I haven't had any significant issues! It runs great and it's never broken down or stalled out. Great acceleration. The catalytic converter and a few other things have been replaced throughout the years but nothing unfixable. The only issues the car has had are 'cosmetic'... my passenger side window got stuck down and is currently duck taped up (had to cut the belt to move it) and some of the windows get stuck or squeak loudly sometimes. Also, the lever to open trunk/fuel tank broke so I have to open my gas tank through the trunk. The front bumper is also very low so I've had to get it repaired often because of curbs/steep hills (my own fault)... Havent had any problems with the actual performance so far and it gets me to where I need to go and has survived many many roadtrips... hope to have many more years with this car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Got my moneys worth!

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable AND fun to drive 5spd SE model."

Cons: "City gas mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car brand new and it has never let me down. Just usual maintenance and battery replacement thru the years. Just now finally had to replace a couple of things on it: water pump and valve cover seal gasket(changed plugs and plug wire w/ that). Plus power steering high pressure hose finally gave out last yr. The car's 14yrs. old, so, to be expected. Love driving it w/ the manual 5spd. Not sure how an automatic would have held out. It pains me to have to even think about the day i HAVE to trade it in."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

LOW MILES BASED ON HIGWAY MILES

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "EXELENT VEHICLE, ALMOST LIKE NEW"

Cons: "TWOO HUNDRED HIGH WAY MILES"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"THIS IS A EXCELENT VEHICLE, RELIABLE"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 Nissan Altima SE

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, style, luxury, comfortable"

Cons: "window trim, paint durability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Only owner and driver since 2001 reliable and has cost little in maintenance $, trim around the window has deteriorated, Altima label on the back has come slightly unglued, donut tire was bad and blew out as soon as it was mounted, 6 CD changer quit working, but everything else works I would say that it was built poorly because it only has 73k miles and is falling apart maybe due to age or FL weather I changed the oil every 5K since owning it, so engine seems sound and haven't had any engine trouble I did replace the head gasket when it appeared to leak, but that wasn't necessary cause it never leaked I was misled by techs, I'll review it again when it hits 100,000"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I got my moneys's worth from this vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Altima 2001 and I must say I got my money's worth from this car. I never had a problem with this make and model I will buy another one it's time for my baby to retire."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Definitely going to buy it again!

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used and have owned it for 6 years. It is super reliable; I've kept up with all maintenance and it just keeps humming along! I'll definitely be getting another Altima when this one dies ... but who knows when that will be!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car and Very Reliable

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Fuel Efficiency, Style, Quality"

Cons: "Wheel caps are noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 07/2001 and I have never had any major issue. Only repairs are the EKG valve and one cylinder in the break system, which meant less than 300 dollars. With 13.5 years and 130K, this car still going very strong and with very good fuel efficiency (~30miles/gallon). I plan to keep my car for several years to come. I don't see why to spend 20 grand on a new vehicle. This car needs only gasoline and regular oil changes. I bought a Nissan Quest 2011 for my wife. She is extremely happy."

Bought it new. NEVER left me stranded.

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Relibility, fun to drive"

Cons: "FWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Regular oil changes and maintenance have kept this 2000 Altima GLE running smoothly for 130,000 trouble free miles. never had any major problems. Need an AWD so will be replacing with a fourth Nissan."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolutely the best car I have owned!!!!

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, reliability, value"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daddy alway told me to stick with Nissan vehicles and he is soooo right!! The car keeps going and going!! It has phenomenal gas mileage @ ~28mpg still after 14 years. Of course regular maintenance is key to keeping the life of the engine. Currently at ~216,000 miles and counting! Nissan knows engines!!"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Energizer Bunny of Cars

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,422

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "The gas tank door lever got stuck after 13 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 7 years after buying it from a guy who owned it for 7 years before that. It's begun to groan a bit, but that will happen after 196,000 miles. It might need a new battery, but I have full faith it will make it through to 200,000 miles. No big repairs or problems in the last 14 years; this is just a very reliable vehicle."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car is good in driving

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good condition to drive"

Cons: "Rust in the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Even though 1999 car, this car is very good engine, not noise and good transmission, interior is very good. But it has some mechanical problems , Rust is damaged some places, tires are not that much good and one glass of the door is little hard to close it ."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

best car

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its awesome"

Cons: "none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car of all time. love it."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This car just keeps going

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Still going strong after 220,000 mi"

Cons: "Not the most stylish, but not bad for 16 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used with 65,000 mi and I now have over 220,000 mi on it. As long as I do the regular maintenance, this car may outlast me. No major problems, still good gas mileage (30+ mpg) and no reason to expect less than 250,000 or more miles."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I love my "Alty"

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Altima new and it has been a great car for the last 14 years. I hate to get rid of it but, we just don't need it anymore."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 13 years and have only done regular maintenance and a few minor repairs. I bought this car after two Toyotas crapped out on me. This is absolutely the best car I ever owned."

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

I love my car and want another Nissan.

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great durability and driveability, holds up well"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 13 years ago and I simply love it but, like all things do, she has aged (I call her Ruby!). I have had only minor to semi-serious repairs (water pump, cv joints, new window motor) but otherwise she has served me well. And these repairs have only come about in the past year or so. This is my favorite make."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

God Almighty I'm going to miss this car.

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Highly reliable, great engine perf and gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought at 160K miles in 2008 and it sputtered it's last today at 340K+ miles. Had to replace high mileage wear/tear engine parts over the last 2 years. When it died on the highway it was still getting 30+ mpg, great pick-up and engine performance and with a rebuilt A/C you could hang meat in the front seat. Great leg room in the front seats. Nissan made a great one with this model. If you find one in the 100K mile range, buy it before I do."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good overall Car

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice features, Comfortable, Good fuel economy"

Cons: "Lacking in power, Sometimes difficult to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car this year with 79,000 miles on it. So far it is pretty great , it handles nice, it is comfortable, and the GLE has nice features. The only downside is the lack of power. I haven't had any problem with intake but i have heard it is pretty common to have problems. Also some usually simple repairs (like replacing the headlights)where a little challenging. I like it a lot but plan to upgrade to something with more power and a little newer!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Almost at 300,000 and still Running!

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 284,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, good running car"

Cons: "Depending on climate, parts replaced more often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 98 Nissan Altima GXE. The first owner purchased brand new and took very good car of it (regular maintenance and all). They drove a lot of miles so I had a concern, but spoke to a family mechanic and he told me Nissan Altima's have good engines and my car probably could go to 300,000. I purchased it in 2001 and have had it ever since, its currently at 284,000. I keep the car maintained and have not had major problems. Of course I have had to replace raditors, control arms, etc., but car does not have timing belt so no worry about that. The engine still sounds good and air conditioning and moon roof are original. People have told me that the air conditioner is the first to go on these cars but I have not had any problems. I consistently got my oil changed every 3,000 miles. Sometimes I use synthetic oil sometimes I don't. I think the key is regular oil changes. The only negative are the CV boots. I have driven the car in Florida and Arizona. While living in Arizona the CV boots and Alternator went out sooner than expected (CV boots like 2 or 3 years, alternator about the same). While in Florida no problems with either so I think it has a lot to do with the harsh summers in Arizona. Take care of this car and it will keep running. I plan to sell it soon because I want a newer car and updated features."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

285000 And STILL GOING

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's not fancy and doesn't look as good as once did but it keeps going even for someone hard on their vehicles, 285,000 with basic maintenance really says it all"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The front bumper is only 6" off the ground.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The front bumper is only six inches off the ground and it get stuck and damage on parking curbs. I have had a Nissan from my first Datsun B-210 but now I am getting a Toyota Camry (Clearwater Blue) because the colors that Nissan offer are so bland and Yukkie."

The front bumper is only 6" off the ground.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The front bumper is only six inches off the ground and it get stuck and damage on parking curbs. I have had a Nissan from my first Datsun B-210 but now I am getting a Toyota Camry (Clearwater Blue) because the colors that Nissan offer are so bland and Yukkie."

The front bumper is only 6" off the ground.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The front bumper is only six inches off the ground and it get stuck and damage on parking curbs. I have had a Nissan from my first Datsun B-210 but now I am getting a Toyota Camry (Clearwater Blue) because the colors that Nissan offer are so bland and Yukkie."

215,000 MILES GOING STRONG

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, good gas mileage, cheap maint, stereo"

Cons: "cup holders too small, CD player got stuck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my '98 Altima GXE her name is Goldie because the paint is gold on outside. This car is very reliable last purchased brand new in 1998 now she has 215K miles just replaced a timing chain and gave her fresh tune up. It might not be the keenest car ever but a reliable car considered on how its maintained and keeping up all the service up to date maintenance. Still looks good on age it is and 4 cylinder is excellent giving me the most gas mileage out from it on 28 mpg with a 2.4L Gasoline motor. Drives like a new car its roomier with a bigger trunk only things I've done replacing were CD player was stuck so had replaced with aftermarket one, brake lines and calibers all done at 140K, sunroof broke at 117K, fixed at affordable price, timing chain replaced at 211K, struts/axles were replaced recently with current mileage. I will put another 250,000 miles on this car using high synthetic oil because odometer has 215K miles runs like a champ good acceleration and doesn't smoke or overheat living in desert area of town. LUV MY '98 ALTIMA after driving for 16 years never let me down hope can last at least 300,000 miles because truly a trustworthy car going anywhere."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals