Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 471 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

dependable, runs like a new car

By on Friday, September 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price, reliable , great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"best car i've ever owned"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"300K trouble free miles and still running great! If not for the New England winters and resulting rust I would keep it forever. Can't wait to buy another Altima."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very nice cart

By on Wednesday, June 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this GXE model basically new (was a demo)in 2001 and it has been a FANTASTIC car ! Whitey, as my 9 year old and I affectionately call it, has never left me stranded in 11 years. I have had to replace general parts from wear, but nothing major. This is my 2nd Altima, I bought my 1st one brand new and another driver ran a red light and hit my wife and I broad side. It took the impact with great protection to us, but totalled the car. My wife and I were fine except she got a cut on the top of her head somehow, but not too bad. The other vehicle was an older model Chevy Suburban which is like a tank, going around 45 to 50 mph ! My Altima took a severe impact right in the drivers side door. I was amazed at how strong and protective that little car was and thank God and Jesus for it's protection and Theirs more !! GREAT cars; hats off to Nisssan !"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

it is great

By on Thursday, June 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the only bad thing is that every four years the voltage reguator gose bad"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Get one if you can!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great value!"

Cons: "I cant buy another just like it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great Car-Great Price

"I bought this car with 150,000 miles on it. Perfect interior, dents down the driver side front and rear door but that's all. Mechanically perfect, never have done any work to it. Frequent oil changes to keep it running smooth and lots of love this car has been so good to me!It now has 260,000 and still runs like a champ! Awesome car! Negative: the seat starts to hurt my bottom after long car rides, and the leather seats can burn in the summer or freeze you in the winter"

28 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Great Car-Great Price

Questionable Reliability

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I've had this car for 11 years. Bought it with 58,000 miles on it. It has questionable reliability. I've had new front brakes 3 times, back-1 time (city driving), new tires, water pump, radiator, alternator, shocks/struts, new dashboard dimer switch (I lost all my lights on my dashboard), new on/off switch for air/heat (it would only work on high) and a new air conditioner. The driver side window is the only window that works and the back, passenger side door lock does not automatically lock. Oil has been changed every 3-3.5K and has received a tune up. The car made it from Chicago to Boston without a problem. All this being said, I still really love this car as it feels very solid on the road.....and probably because it feels so familiar after sitting in it for 11 years."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER!!

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,378

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolute tank. out of the 12 i have owned this vehicle, only 2 sets of brakes and 2 sets of tires. THATS IT!!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

First Car\

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "inside color"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first car and has been easy to fix and extremely easy to mainttain. I love my car and although it is small it still fits everything i need even when i move around."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car, very reliable!

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: I moved to Chicago, and started using public transport as my primary means of transportation.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, great trunk space, and affordable"

Cons: "It rides a little low to ground for hillier cities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for almost 8 years, and I recently sold it because I am moving away. This car worked through thick or thin, and always got me where I needed to go."

very good value and reliability

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable, economical, good fuel economy"

Cons: "road noise, comfort, not a bmw"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"For the money, I couldn't have done better in its class. This car was thousands cheaper than comparable honda or toyota models and I've only had minor routine maintenance costs. I've owned the car since 20K and have about 150K now on it - I've replaced the alternator, the tires, shocks/struts, given it one tune up, and changed the oil about every 5K miles. it doesn't leak any fluids. It's fairly comfortable. road noise is average or higher slightly. fuel economy is about 30 mpg avg (still). I've taken winter and off road conditions in this car. and I've never been stranded in it....I'd rather be driving a 7 series BMW, or a BSA...but...."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for five years now, and I have to say it is a great vehicle. I used this car to deliver pizza's for three years, which is very high stress driving for a vehicle. And my Nissan never gave me a single problem because of it. Other than normal maintenance I never had to drop a dime in this car."

very good vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very confortable car for it's size."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very dependable,good driving vehicleGood and still gets 20 plus mile to the gallon."

Reliable and very cheap

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy and cheap maintenance"

Cons: "This is not a fun car, is only reliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car if you are looking for a dependable and easy to maintain vehicle. No major problems after 130K miles, still gives me good mileage (28MPG)"

Best car for the long haul

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this car for 14 years and has been in the shop twice. Got everything services according to mfg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I like this car because it is good on gas

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I don't own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have heard a lot of good things about this car and i like it."

Great first car

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looked kinda sporty with the sunroof"

Cons: "I don't like the shape of the trunk!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this as my first car, a little expensive as a first, but sporty enough for me! I love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Economical Car, Very Reliable, Handles Well

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, fun to drive, Good Mpgs"

Cons: "Could use more power, Cramped back seat, Flimsy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own a 2001 Nissan Altima SE, it is my first car. So far it has been very reliable with no mechanical problems whatsoever. It is also good on gas, I get about 18 MPG in mostly city driving. The front seats are suprisingly roomy and comfortable. The stereo is very good but the speakers are poor quality. The AC is cold. The 2.4 liter engine is suprisingly quick, but as with any car more horespower is always desired. This car handles excellent in dry weather, but when it rains or snows... BE CAREFUL! This car is light and doesnt have ABS or traction control so it is easy to lose control. Also the car doesnt really feel that solid, the doors and trunk are very light and it doesnt make you feel that safe."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great gas mileage, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my Altima with 50,000 miles and have put another 100,000 on her. The only maintenance that has had to be done is brakes and tires. This past year I have replaced her belts and tie rods as preventative maintenance. She runs great, is great on gas mileage, and I love the quickness I have with the manual transmission. I am going to be giving her to my daughter for her first car, and am looking to purchase a newer one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lasts forever

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for five years haven't done anything but change the oil an brakes over the years"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Extremely happy

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Altima used and it's been great for me. No outrageous repairs, just replacements for general wear"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the most Icomfortable reliable car

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "the dash design, while turning things fly out wind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, its comfortable, its reliable. and it looks great!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This auto has only cost me the regular maintence bakes and tune-ups in 10 years. I purchased the extended warranty package and never had to use it. I live in Chicago, IL and for 10 years of winter weather with no garage in 20 below temps., always started. Great Great car Hat off to Nissan!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Engine Intake manifold gasket fails often

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very unreliable car I am surprised at so many positive reviews of this vehicle on this site. I had 3 times replaced intake manifold gasket costing around $900.00 each time. also radiator failed 2 times, other than water pump CV joints, every time I feel this is the last repair and everything will be fine and tend to keep the car. I got this new and this has been a big disappointment"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tight steering"

Cons: "CD player does not work, but hey it's over 10 yrs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We had such good luck with this car, we bought another 2yr.old one off lease one. We change the oil religiously every 5,000 miles and transmission fluid once a year-At 225,000 miles, it still runs like it was brand new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals