Go

1997 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 222 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Excellent car

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this new in November 1993. My daughter was 2. She is now driving the car. It has 235,000 miles on it and still runs very well. The car is like that battery...it just keeps going and going. I would say that this car was better than all my Honda's which also were great cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

solid value

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my daughter a 97 after she and my two sons tried, unsucessfully, to destroy our 93, which is still soldiering on with over 160K miles and at least one dent on every surface. The 97 was continuing that unflappable tradition when it was totalled by a "Sunfire strike" in the back bumper. In its death the car demonstrated one of its most important features: occupant protection. My daughter was only slightly injured, but the Altima had its back bumper pushed into the back seat. The front doors still opened and glass was broken in only one rear door. Looking for another one to replace it. One of the best car values I've ever run across."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great value

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"for the money the 92 to 96 altimas are probably one of the best values out there. I am second owner, car now has 144k on it. No major mechanical breakdowns, just keeps going. Just drove it on a 2000 mile trip with NO problems. Gets 25 mpg! Hate to see it go but family just got bigger"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"my wife and i bought a 1997 gxe limited ed. brand new. we are now ready to sell it. best car we have ever owned.164000 miles,no major problems.still runs great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Altima is great

By on Saturday, February 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is extremely reliable, good on gas , no mechanical problems, best of all no timimg belt, easy to tune up you can do it yourself."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Total reliability

By on Monday, January 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 1995 Altima GLE and have had for 12 years. My car has only required normal maintenance and repairs. I live in the midwest and it always starts. I'm buying a new Nissan this year and giving my old one to my 16 year old daughter because I know it's a trustworthy vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Car

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car was a gift to me by a family member. I love this can and will drive it till it dies on me. Which, with the way it is going, will be a long time from now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

200,000 Miles Plus & Still Rollin!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "DEPENDABLE!!! nothing else matters"

Cons: "turning radius definitely lacking on this model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this 1997 Altima used with about 55,000 miles on it. We've been driving it for about 11 years now & that's a first for me! I am a driver as you can tell by the miles most cars only last me a year or two before they start falling apart. I don't mind maintenance costs on a good car but nickle and dime costs can make you crazy! We have never had this problem with this car! Last time we took it in for scheduled maintenance we thanked our mechanic for keeping it going as we had just passed the 200,000 mile mark. He smiled and said thanks! and you'll probably get another 100,000 out of her if we just keep doing what we're doing! Needless to say we love it!...and when the time does come to retire this car you can bet we'll be looking at whatever Nissan has to offer first!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Cheap, affordable Nissan

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, reliability"

Cons: "tilt steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only have 107k on my Altima. Not too much to complain about. Only gripe I have is the steering wheel doesn't go up high enough for my legs to clear the bottom of the steering wheel as I'm getting in and out. Other than that, No problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Since I purchased it I haven't got any problem.

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price. Gas consum car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well kept. Still wake up and drive condition. what is not great about it the year is old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It Just Keeps Going

By on Tuesday, September 7, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Hands down, this is the best car I have ever owned. Minimal issues with only normal wear and tear. I wish all cars lasted as long as this one. I have 199,000 miles after 15 years and I expect another 100,000 miles before major problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Im amazed with my nissan altima. It just not very often that a car like this has great gas milege ( around 28+ ) and has the power when needed. I know its not the fastest car ever built and it may not look like a sports car, but it dose have some giddy up and go and has a nice clean look to it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Car - Most Reliable

By on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my Altima for 10 years & it's 12 years old - I have had to replace the tires & the battery. That's IT in 10 years. I drive in SoCal traffic daily & have taken my Altima cross country over a dozen times. All of my friends usually start having issues with their Fords & Beemers within the first few years. My car is awesome & I get numerous offers for it & it's not even for sale! My mechanic had a 97 Altima that had 280,000 miles on it & ran like a charm before it was STOLEN! No doubt by a Nissan owner wanna be..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great small car

By on Wednesday, August 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I had minor mechanical problems with this car over 2 and a half years and it is at 170,000 miles. So really it's handled it fairly well. Other than that it has everything I need."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worth every cent

By on Monday, February 9, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have nothing but good things to say about my Nissan Altima 1994. I bought it new and still have it after 230,000K miles. It has the original clutch, YES original. Outside of normal wear and tear the car has lasted me forever. I swear it has 9 lives! As it is older I wanted a "newer" vehicle and kept my Altima as a back up car for emergencies or when people come to visit and need a car. So, I bought a newer/used car from my step-mom with under 50K miles and in the past year I have had more problems with that car (Buick) than I care to discuss. I am about to trade in the Buick and bank on my good fortune with Nissan and buy a used 2003 model. I hope I get the same results from that purchase!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

been good to me

By on Friday, November 14, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I purchased this vehicle with 16k miles and it now has 193k. It has not been problem free but I would say it has been very reliable. I will probably buy another Nissan but not until this one refuses to go another mile."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Product

By on Wednesday, October 1, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"5 speed drives like a BMW 3 series but for much less cost and maintenance and ego issues. Lasts forever. They do not make cars (or quality parts) like this anymore. Nissan should go back to this engine and 5 speed manual for a new car they are as they are matched perfectly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Well Worth the Money

By on Wednesday, July 9, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is well worth the money for more than one reason. 1) They are very reliable. 2) Nissan made the same model for more than 3 years, so many parts are transferable. 3) They last for over 200,000 miles easily, if you take care of them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I worry about when I have to give this car up!!

By on Thursday, July 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 1997 Nissan Altima used in 2001. At the time it had 35,000 on it, it now has 145,000 and it's still driving like new. I've driven this car all over the Eastern coast as well as into Canada and out west and it still works great!This car will last and you just have to give it that basic general care. Other than a few minor problems, that will occur with any car with age (new brakes, muffler, etc.) I haven't had to do anyhting other than the usual upkeep. As my title says I'm afraid for when I have to replace this car because it's going to be hard to find a car that lasts as well as this one, GREAT gas mileage too!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Sunday, June 22, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car a year ago with 150,000 miles.. replacing the break pads right now but other than that.. only major fix is replacing the radiator which was about $150.. runs and runs.. great value"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car ive owned, but wish seating was better

By on Monday, June 2, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"this has been the best car ive ever owned. The major proble this car has is the distributor goes out after a while and it is a $400.00 part from the dealer. I got over 160,000 miles out of this car and spent about $1000.00 in repairs. This car has been on mountainy dusty roads and once we put eight people in the car and drove from phoenix to flagstaff! The only thing is the funky styling and the seating is not that comfortable. The car still gets 28 mpg and runs great on the highway!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

97 Nissan Altima Rating

By on Friday, May 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Owned since 1997 and car has been nothing short of excellent. Extremely reliable. Gas mileage in City about 25mpg and on HW about 30mpg."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement