Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1995 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 221 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

great car

By on Thursday, April 01, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 93 altima for about 6 months i bought it off a car lot i love it its a great car i have not had to do any repair yet my mom owns a honda i do more repair on it then anything"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Sunday, March 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my nissan altima for about 5 years now these cars are great I have only had 2 repairs other than maintenance and that was for the muffler and axel .My fiancee bought a fairly newer vehicle (2000 model mercury) and we have had far more repair with his vehicle than mine . My next car will be a nissan Im very impressed with the durablity of this vehicle its my "trusty rusty" lol"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this Altima

By on Saturday, January 02, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 97 Altima with 83000 miles-now has 109000 miles after three years.Folks if you take care of this car it will take care of you.The good part you can work on it yourself if you know basic mechanics.Another fantastic thing about ths car is that it will always take you home-quiet engine-start in sub-zero weather-goes through high water and any snow beats any suv in bad weather-Nissan does not make cars like this anymore folks-but keep your car maintained-change the oil at least four times per year-a few sensors will go bad now and then but they are not too expensive-and you will find parts easily for this car-Ilove my car so much that I change the parts even thou they dont failas a precaution-the car talks to me-I have a magnaflow muffler on her and any thing you do the muffler tells you -serious-I would cry if I should part with this baby-so I part with you folks out there by saying -long live first generation Altimas-made for the USA only."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Thursday, September 03, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just sold my 1996 Altima GXE (bought 10/95) in 2009! I bought an Infiniti G35 almost two years ago but kept this car and liked better than G for mileage, ease of driving and low costs to maintain and insure. Never thought I'd have the car over 5-7 years but if you get one, they seem to last forever. Easy to resell too - I intend to sell the G in a few years and get another Altima! A little road noise but a great value for your money. :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good first car

By on Wednesday, September 02, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been driving a '94 Altima ever since I got my license 9 years ago. Despite my neglect, the car has been extremely reliable. I would keep it forever if it wasn't for the rust. While the automatic transmission can be at times a little reluctant to downshift, it has decent power. Overall, its been a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great on gas

By on Sunday, September 14, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"i purchased my car at 80k and it is still running great with 104, very reliable car and excellent gas miles!!! i think the style could have looked better but a great starter car.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 1993 Altima in 2005. It was a high mileage car when I bought it and it ran wonderfully for several years until it was wrecked. It was hit from the side and the back and all the passengers were safe and the car drove away! Wonderful car, I will be purchasing another altima!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

NISSAN??

By on Saturday, July 12, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I owned a Toyota prior to purchasing my used nissan. I would pefer the toyota over the nissan anyday! The nissan has very cold AC but nothing special other than that. It could never compare to a Toyota."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this new in November 1993. My daughter was 2. She is now driving the car. It has 235,000 miles on it and still runs very well. The car is like that battery...it just keeps going and going. I would say that this car was better than all my Honda's which also were great cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

solid value

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my daughter a 97 after she and my two sons tried, unsucessfully, to destroy our 93, which is still soldiering on with over 160K miles and at least one dent on every surface. The 97 was continuing that unflappable tradition when it was totalled by a "Sunfire strike" in the back bumper. In its death the car demonstrated one of its most important features: occupant protection. My daughter was only slightly injured, but the Altima had its back bumper pushed into the back seat. The front doors still opened and glass was broken in only one rear door. Looking for another one to replace it. One of the best car values I've ever run across."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great value

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"for the money the 92 to 96 altimas are probably one of the best values out there. I am second owner, car now has 144k on it. No major mechanical breakdowns, just keeps going. Just drove it on a 2000 mile trip with NO problems. Gets 25 mpg! Hate to see it go but family just got bigger"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"my wife and i bought a 1997 gxe limited ed. brand new. we are now ready to sell it. best car we have ever owned.164000 miles,no major problems.still runs great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Altima is great

By on Saturday, February 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is extremely reliable, good on gas , no mechanical problems, best of all no timimg belt, easy to tune up you can do it yourself."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Total reliability

By on Monday, January 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 1995 Altima GLE and have had for 12 years. My car has only required normal maintenance and repairs. I live in the midwest and it always starts. I'm buying a new Nissan this year and giving my old one to my 16 year old daughter because I know it's a trustworthy vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Car

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car was a gift to me by a family member. I love this can and will drive it till it dies on me. Which, with the way it is going, will be a long time from now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

200,000 Miles Plus & Still Rollin!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "DEPENDABLE!!! nothing else matters"

Cons: "turning radius definitely lacking on this model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this 1997 Altima used with about 55,000 miles on it. We've been driving it for about 11 years now & that's a first for me! I am a driver as you can tell by the miles most cars only last me a year or two before they start falling apart. I don't mind maintenance costs on a good car but nickle and dime costs can make you crazy! We have never had this problem with this car! Last time we took it in for scheduled maintenance we thanked our mechanic for keeping it going as we had just passed the 200,000 mile mark. He smiled and said thanks! and you'll probably get another 100,000 out of her if we just keep doing what we're doing! Needless to say we love it!...and when the time does come to retire this car you can bet we'll be looking at whatever Nissan has to offer first!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Cheap, affordable Nissan

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, reliability"

Cons: "tilt steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only have 107k on my Altima. Not too much to complain about. Only gripe I have is the steering wheel doesn't go up high enough for my legs to clear the bottom of the steering wheel as I'm getting in and out. Other than that, No problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Since I purchased it I haven't got any problem.

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price. Gas consum car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well kept. Still wake up and drive condition. what is not great about it the year is old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It Just Keeps Going

By on Tuesday, September 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Hands down, this is the best car I have ever owned. Minimal issues with only normal wear and tear. I wish all cars lasted as long as this one. I have 199,000 miles after 15 years and I expect another 100,000 miles before major problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Im amazed with my nissan altima. It just not very often that a car like this has great gas milege ( around 28+ ) and has the power when needed. I know its not the fastest car ever built and it may not look like a sports car, but it dose have some giddy up and go and has a nice clean look to it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Car - Most Reliable

By on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my Altima for 10 years & it's 12 years old - I have had to replace the tires & the battery. That's IT in 10 years. I drive in SoCal traffic daily & have taken my Altima cross country over a dozen times. All of my friends usually start having issues with their Fords & Beemers within the first few years. My car is awesome & I get numerous offers for it & it's not even for sale! My mechanic had a 97 Altima that had 280,000 miles on it & ran like a charm before it was STOLEN! No doubt by a Nissan owner wanna be..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great small car

By on Wednesday, August 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I had minor mechanical problems with this car over 2 and a half years and it is at 170,000 miles. So really it's handled it fairly well. Other than that it has everything I need."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worth every cent

By on Monday, February 09, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have nothing but good things to say about my Nissan Altima 1994. I bought it new and still have it after 230,000K miles. It has the original clutch, YES original. Outside of normal wear and tear the car has lasted me forever. I swear it has 9 lives! As it is older I wanted a "newer" vehicle and kept my Altima as a back up car for emergencies or when people come to visit and need a car. So, I bought a newer/used car from my step-mom with under 50K miles and in the past year I have had more problems with that car (Buick) than I care to discuss. I am about to trade in the Buick and bank on my good fortune with Nissan and buy a used 2003 model. I hope I get the same results from that purchase!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals