Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Mitsubishi Mirage

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 216 Ratings for the 1997 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Built Like a Tank

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap, reliable, very strong engine and trans, mpg"

Cons: "Cruise control would be nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have put this car through the wringer and it keeps on going. The engine and transmission will not quit. I think the doors and wheels will literally fall off before it does. After 4 years of sporadic oil changes, the need for new tie rods, leaks we haven't fixed, and a general lack of routine maintenance, it is finally slowing down. The only thing we've really done to it is replace the tires. It used to look and run really good before an accident turned it into a beater, and got around 30 mpg. I would highly recommend for a first car or as something cheap, reliable, and good on gas."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great purchase with no regrets

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Affordable to own and drive.low cost in matinee"

Cons: "Nothing is powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"15yrs old and still just as dependable as the day i bought it.i would buy it again.i have had 9yrs of no car payments & low gas cost due to having a 4cyl motor.it might be small in size but I get as much satisfaction as if it were a luxury car.i could go on all day long about this purchase"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks beautiful,good engine,good transmission"

Cons: "roof and fenders rot if you live near a beach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very sexy looking,strong running,cheap in parts,so much potential think of the evo 4,5 and 6,over 191,000 miles and still runs perfect,really nice ride and just the right amount of power to get you everywhere,very sporty and nice,i highly recommend it.I love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable car in the family

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Reliable, quick start, very easy to drive"

Cons: "No power windows or doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My car has outlasted all the others. While it may be the cheapest looking car, it will always get you from point A to point B without any troubles. It's a highly recommended first car to buy."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, December 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, reliable, reliable"

Cons: "steelies rather than aluminum rims"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"280000+ miles. original CV axles, alternator. never charged the AC system! original fuel pump. I Had a coil go on me and changed it out in the parking lot of the auto parts store. Limped there on two cylinders but made it! 37 years old and have never had a vehicle as reliable as this one!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good daily driver

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,566

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good on gas, five seater, very reliable"

Cons: "wide turning radius, DE has no power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car needing a daily driver to save me some gas money. I got that with this great car. I get about 22-25MPG and that's with out a tune up since I bought it about five months ago. I have recently changed the breaks and the belts. Installed a new stereo and XM receiver. The car runs great, it has a small engine, but that don't matter when your trying to save gas. My only grip is that I have the DE model, so I have no power nothing. It is automatic so that's a plus. I would recommend this for a first car or daily driver."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliablr

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable-- runs well"

Cons: "Needs inspected--2 tires--tie rod"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Needs inspected"

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, July 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, reliability."

Cons: "It is a plain jane."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best reliable,gas efficient car I have ever owned.looks really good with aftermarket wheels and a aftermarket rally front bumper."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

incredible value

By on Friday, February 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "extremely reliable"

Cons: "not much leg room in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car with 2,000 miles on it in '98, and have put over 220,000 on it since. Best vehicle purchase ever. Reliable. Bought in Idaho, used it to move to California and back to Idaho again, then to Michigan and back to Idaho again, then to Utah. Has done way more than a car this size should ever be used for. Never needed any major maintenance until about 190,000 when the distributor needed to be replaced."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great litte car very reliable

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"interior is alittle cheesy but comfortable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most dependable and easy to drive.

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,012

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car since new and have lent to my grandson whenever his car was in the garage. I have never been unhappy with my Mitzi as I call her, and would definitly buy another one when this one is done but don't see that happening any time soon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good for the Money

By on Thursday, August 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Mileage, Reliable"

Cons: "Paint job horrible."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought his car 4 years ago at 120K, it now has 150K. Had to change the A/C Compressor at 145K. Reliable and good on the gas. Bad paint job. Ugly Mitsy"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice Car

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,369

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent Car! Never had a problem"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Almost 12 and still purrs like a kitten!

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Inexpensive and roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in 2000. The Mirage was supposed to get 33 MPG on the highway and less in town. Consistantly for 12 years now, it has been getting 38 - 40 MPH on the highway and 30 - 33 in town. The trunk is huge for a small car, and in 12 years I've spent about $1,100.00 in repairs, and that was a little at a time. The parts that needed to be replaced were original equipment and were replaced at 100K miles. Most of the car is original. I plan to buy a new car next year and after a lot of research I am once again going with a Mitsubishi. (My original choice was Mercedes)."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great fuel mileage and dependable, so far.

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, price, roomy for two adults."

Cons: "Could use a few more ponies under the hood."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought new in 98 for $10k. Only thing that had to be replaced was a windshield wiper motor. Regular service throughout life with a tune-up, belt change, hose change, timing belt replacement, and new water pump done at the 100k mark so that I can drive it another 14 years. Currently having it painted. Fuel mileage around town is in the mid 30's and highway mileage 40 . Great car and by far cheaper to put money into it than buy a new vehicle. This has been an excellent no frills car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car for the price

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great to drive, good price, dependable"

Cons: "Seats uncomfortable on long journeys"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car as it was my first vehicle. It got me there, it was pretty dependable in the long run, and if I had taken better care of it, it would still be on the road. Not the greatest luxury car you can find, but it was good for what was given."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

3rd ive owned love em reliable gas savers

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,257

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned three mitsubishi so far and now am looking for another. they are by far the one of the best gas savers save a hybrid, they are small inside but the reliability makes up for that. first one i owned made it to over 300k miles before i sold it and still ran like a champion, very pleased!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, especially for the price

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "realiability"

Cons: "power on acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my Mirage ES since 2001. Bought it with 1700 miles on it and was able to make payments for 5 years at $204 per month. Had full warranty for 3 years/36,000. I have just changed the oil, purchased tires, changed a couple belts, replaced a broken tie rod, changed plugs, etc. No major repairs needed and everytime I have turned over the key, it has always started and got me from point A to point B....exactly what I bought it for. I am going to drive it "until the tires fall off"...only because the resale value is so low. The absolute only thing that I would like is to have more power on acceleration. But the reliability of the vehicle out-weights having power (to me anyway) anyday. I would recommend this car for those that like utilitarian cars rather than status symbols. Very cost effective buy for those wanting a reliable inexpensive vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is my Son's car and he died

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, loooks great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is in top condition. I am only selling this because I am too emotionally connected to drive We would like to sell to someone who really appreciates this car"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2001 Mitsubishi Mirage Es. 4dr. Sedan.

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very cheap and cost effective"

Cons: "no cruise control, or acceleration."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car with 160k miles for $1,500. Best car I've ever driven. Quiet, smooth, reliable, and cost effective. Requires minimal amounts of maintenance, with the exception being routine preventative maintenance like oil changes, tires, brakes, and spark plugs. The only cons are the engine isn't very strong, and the quality for the materials could be slightly better. Overall a good car, and definitely a car I will be driving for a while."

A reliable Little Car

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Gas Mileage, Sizable Trunk, DURABLE"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bout this car my Sophomore year of college (2007) at 126k miles for a great deal. I have been driving it back and forth to Knoxville from memphis (400 mile drive) and it has never given me a problem. I told myself I would drive it until the wheels fall off but they just seem to keep going. I have 170k on it now and it still rides just as good as it did when i first got it. I have taken it everywhere with me, through the smokeys, SC, NC, GA, TN, MS, AR, MO, everywhere... and it just keeps going. And it gets 35mpg!! This was the best car a college student could ever have."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,653

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical, Low maintance, just great overall"

Cons: "nothing bad to say"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5 car in 8yrs an its the most reliable ever, easy to maintain. MarryJane is great on gas in town an long distance. Accelerates slow but its ok i use it mostly in my small town. I plan on using her till wheels fall off! Just perfect for a single mom of 1!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

loved this little car!

By on Saturday, September 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, reliable"

Cons: "acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 2001 Mirage for 6 years until it got totaled by a Jetta last month. I loved that little car! It never gave me any major problems. It didn't have much pick-up or power, but was very reliable. I was so sad to see it go! The car was very light and got great gas mileage. 30-33 mpg. Great for a young person and very economical."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, September 17, 2011

I want this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, awsome milage"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good car

By on Friday, September 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"gas and ruuning great"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mitsubishi Mirage near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details