Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 MINI Cooper Countryman

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 54 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Great fun car to drive

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sporty, fun, reliable"

Cons: "small, limited storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been a joy to drive. The four door countryman is still sporty and the manual transmission brought back many great memories of younger days. The small size is inconvenient and requires a family with multiple vehicles for any activities that require storage."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Year 1 Review

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Driving dynamics, look..."

Cons: "Gas mileage, sunroof shade"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had my Mini Countryman for 1 year and thought it time for a review. What do I like. The looks, driving dynamic, brakes, fun factor, quality build, transmission, engine get up and go, I can fit 4 people and easy access to back seat, added space for carrying stuff in boot and fact that it's a unique car that not a lot of people in my area own. What I don't like. Mediocre gas mileage for a car this small, uses premium gas, mesh sun shade on sunroofs which lets in way too much heat and light, run flat tires, limited interior storage and badly placed, and too small, cup holders. Overall this has been a great car. I'm leasing and will I keep in when lease ends -- still undecided on that issue."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great looking - but underperforms

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,100

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "looks good"

Cons: "bad interior, terrible transmission in base model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I wish I had bought the "S" model, because the automatic transmission in the 2012 Countryman is far below expectations in terms of getting off the line. "Sport Mode" helps to improve the transmission performance, but it must be enabled every time you start the car (and there are some drawbacks to the use of "sport mode"). The 2012 Countryman has a bunch of BAD (which we considered "quirky" when we bought it) design features. Nearly ALL of these bad choices have been fixed in the next year's models. (for instance, window controls moved to from console to door, back seats converted to bench without the separating rail, standard center arm rest) I have had buyer's remorse with this car since month one. It is essentially a highly styled, expensive "Toyota Matrix" but without the zip. I was shocked to drive my mother-in-laws 5+ year old Matrix only to find out that it was a much better drive than my Countryman. Disappointed!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY MINI!

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"FUN CAR! HANDLES THE MN WINTERS REALLY WELL (I HAVE COUNTRYMAN ALL WHEEL DRIVE)."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nice car for younger people

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great car ,not enough power,rides very rough"

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great speed, fun interior, flexible use

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Unique, thrilling, comfortable, fun tech, eco"

Cons: "Pricey, not meant to be automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I don't know many cars that can haul down the highway, fit four-five passengers comfortably, offer decent gas mileage, take on the snow/rain/dirt like champ, and all at a reasonable price. Having BMW build this car puts me a little more at ease with the bumper-to-bumper warranty and the excellent safety ratings. This is my second MINI and by far my favorite. It's different--not your day-to-day sedans everyone and their mother owns. Trendy but efficient. MINI offers thousands of customizable options to create your unique car. No car is perfect and I'm not looking forward to the expenses after the warranty runs out, but that's a problem most cars and their owners run into. I've always owned GM cars, but wanted something out of the ordinary. MINI certainly delivers. I get compliments everywhere I go and have had people roll down their windows mid-highway to ask me how I like the car. I'm a little bias, but I feel cars like MINI's are meant to be manual. All turbo, small-liter cars should be manual; and the manual doesn't disappoint. Smooth shifting, light clutch, and so much fun to drive."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

It has a Lo jack installed & interior & exterior p

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive...nice sounds system"

Cons: "You can charge your phone, w/o the key"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

With two sunroofs

"It has a Lo jack installed & interior & exterior protection for 5 years"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

With two sunroofs

Love the car, not the pickup

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, space, functionality, sunroof"

Cons: "Pickup, MPG, cost of repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If I were to do it again, I'd pony up the extra cash for the 'S' model. I had a Clubman S, and downgrading to the base is very noticeable. The pickup on my car is terrible and the gas mileage isn't so great either. I hope with the redesign in 2016-2017 we see these 2 items addressed! Otherwise, I am a die-hard Mini fan - love everything else about my Countryman."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love the car, not the pickup.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, interior, sunroof, functionality, space"

Cons: "Pickup, gas mileage, repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If I were to do it again, I'd pony up the extra cash for the 'S' model. I had a Clubman S, and downgrading to the base is very noticeable. The pickup on my car is terrible and the gas mileage isn't so great either. I hope with the redesign in 2016-2017 we see these 2 items addressed! Otherwise, I am a die-hard Mini fan - love everything else about my Countryman."

Love the car, not the pickup.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, interior, sunroof, functionality, space"

Cons: "Pickup, gas mileage, repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If I were to do it again, I'd pony up the extra cash for the 'S' model. I had a Clubman S, and downgrading to the base is very noticeable. The pickup on my car is terrible and the gas mileage isn't so great either. I hope with the redesign in 2016-2017 we see these 2 items addressed! Otherwise, I am a die-hard Mini fan - love everything else about my Countryman."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the car, not the pickup.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, interior, sunroof, functionality, space"

Cons: "Pickup, gas mileage, repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If I were to do it again, I'd pony up the extra cash for the 'S' model. I had a Clubman S, and downgrading to the base is very noticeable. The pickup on my car is terrible and the gas mileage isn't so great either. I hope with the redesign in 2016-2017 we see these 2 items addressed! Otherwise, I am a die-hard Mini fan - love everything else about my Countryman."

Love the car, not the pickup.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, interior, sunroof, functionality, space"

Cons: "Pickup, gas mileage, repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If I were to do it again, I'd pony up the extra cash for the 'S' model. I had a Clubman S, and downgrading to the base is very noticeable. The pickup on my car is terrible and the gas mileage isn't so great either. I hope with the redesign in 2016-2017 we see these 2 items addressed! Otherwise, I am a die-hard Mini fan - love everything else about my Countryman."

Did I make a mistake.......

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good styling, ALL4, Options and handling"

Cons: "Under powered engine, poor fuel efficiency, expens"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I had MINI Cooper S 2011 hardtop, that was an amazing car I ever had. Loved it crazy! But it had its own reliability issues and was terribly bad on snow. Hence, I decided to change for ALL4 Countryman and chose to take the AUTOMATIC instead of stick shift due to the fact, that wanted my wife MINNIE to drive a MINI. Which I suppose was a BIG mistake, this car crawls compared to hardtop, really CRAWLS. I even asked the dealer if I can return it, it was that bad. I liked all other features on countryman it is well built but the engineers at MINI, even after 4 years of launch they never listened to all complaints from existing customers to change the engine or to lose some weight. During my test drive, I really did not think about the pickup b'cos thought going from stick shift to automatic, I would feel the sluggishness and thought it will fade away after few drives, but not..... The cost of the vehicle cannot be justified at all for this performance. I am a MINI fan and hence got it but I would not suggest for others. MINI need to change a lot for me to recommend this to others (I did recommend hard top and people did buy and are enjoying). I would definitely change the vehicle ASAP if, I get my ROI covered. Fuel efficiency in pathetic for such a small car and also they should recommend users for regular gas instead of premium, anyway for this weight the car is being dragged and there is no MINI fun and then what is the point of using premium fuel."

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great deal, very fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just purchased my 2013 and I LOVE it. It is fully loaded and very fun to drive."

Not worth the price

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Looks cute from outside"

Cons: "Every thing else is wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My biggest disappointments : Car won't beep when you lock it (MINI and BMW's gift to car owners) Manual seat control is horrible Poor design with controls. Way behind in technology that you get for 30K cars We own it for about a year, over all it is a decent car, but if I am give a chance to go back and think about my purchase I won't buy it. This car has many design problems that MINI didn't care for years. Open car door quickly water will spill on seats on rainy days. Got check engine light and had to replace a part in engine at less than 2K miles. Some times I wonder can we return cars, like we do with other merchandise. Like BMW, they are selling these vehicles on brand name and looks. Save your money and buy a more practical and useful car. Don't get tempted by its looks."

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Oversized mini lost the go cart feel

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "roomy for a small car"

Cons: "harsh ride, reliability poor weather braking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It is not a bad car but.... Larger size lost the go cart feel. I have had a number of repair issues including having the 3rd clutch put in. The AWD works well in the snow but not a lot of clearance for deeper snow but the brakes in wet weather and snow are the worst I have ever driven. I can't explain it but in mild snow depths I would skid and slide down the slightest inclines. Also I have the sport suspension and it rides way to harsh for the benefit gained in handling. It ale has a very annoying bounce on rough curves. You feel like you are losing control. What is the point of a good handling car if you can't throw it into a turn. I got a fully loaded minus Nav and in 20/20 hind sight I could have purchased many other better cars. A stripped down s is a good option but don't put lipstick on a pig with the option packages."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Too many noises

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "all of the warning noises/cupholder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is relentless in making noises. Don't fasten the seat belt, it won't shut up. The gas tank is so small that with a 1/4 tank left in it you get the gas warning over the digital speedo and it gets even worse when the tank gets to two bars. You can't just reset it and have it go away... with the not-so-good gas mileage, the tank empties rather quickly. The tires are so sensitive that you get low tire warnings when the weather changes and the stupid warnings again over the speedo, you clear them and they still keep popping up. Yet, when you need an oil change it doesn't really warn you in any way....the most important maintenance item and its quiet... Let's not even talk about the horrible cupholders and no center armrest, and the lack of acceleration from a dead stop. The car is fun to drive, but all of the periphial noises, warnings are enough to drive you nuts. Not going to buy another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

MINI OWNER FOR LIFE

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Blue Tooth speaker for hands free sucks, iPhone co"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am on my 2nd Mini and LOVE those cars! They are so much fun to drive, great looking, handle just like a BMW, and the service is AMAZING! They go out of the way to make sure you are taken care of with no hassle and irritating problems."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Truely Surprised!

By on Tuesday, October 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bang for the Buck"

Cons: "Can't find any at this point"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just bought the Countryman All4 S. The experiance at MINI was great! I am very pleased with the performance and handling of this vehicle. The 6 speed manual is a blast. My other vehicle is a Jeep Wrangler and this is as much if not more fun to drive! I have owned Mustang GT's and a Trans AM GTA and this ranks up there on the fun factor! If you need an all wheel drive 4 door vehicle that is fun, this one's for you!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best fun car ever

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "noisy run flat tires which do not last long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"fun car to drive and very dependable. does well in any weather"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worst car I ever owned!

By on Sunday, October 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Looks pretty on the outside"

Cons: "Terrible functionality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned the Mini Cooper S Countryman for two years now. In less than a year of ownership, the car had engine problems relating to the fuel pump, which they repaired a year ago. Now, a year later, the same problem reoccured. My car was definitely defective from the production line. Additionally, the functionality of this model has been hard on me as a driver. This was a very expensive car, financially and emotionally;because of the engine problems, and it has been quite unreliable to drive. From the Mini Cooper service department, I have accumulated 15 invoices in 17 months of ownership. The dealership continues to ignore my plight with the vehicle they sold me, so after the engine repair I will buy a different car."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

$1300 cup holders!

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "cute car"

Cons: "cupholder design flaw will cost me $1300 plus"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The salesperson won't tell you this, but you should NEVER place a cup with any fluid beverage in the cupholders. Why? First, the poorly designed cupholders can and will puncture any styrofoam cup at some point. What's the big deal...it's just a mess to clean up...right? No, MINI designed a cupholder that allows any liquid (or even condensation) to leak through the cupholder and onto the electronics below which control the gear shifter. Worse than paying $1300 on something they say is customer negligence (I say engineering negligence!) is that the extended warranties I paid over $2000 for will not cover it. My cupholders will have yellow hazard tape over them for the life of my car now as I can pay $1300 to have the repair done today and have another problem develop again and again until I finally sell this piece of junk. Has happened to many owners. Google it and see for yourself!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Fun to drive

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went from owning an AUDI A4 2.8 and find more power out of this 1.6 liter engine with turbo plus the ride is more responsive than most european cars. This puppy is so much fun to drive . LOVE IT!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I'd buy another!

By on Thursday, August 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice design, great handling and gets lots of looks"

Cons: "There's not enough places to store glasses"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Mini. I like the convenience of 4 doors and when you put the rear seats down, the storage space for travelling(w/2 people) is outstanding. It performs well, handles great and gets 27MPG daily and 31 MPG on trips. I got 22K miles out of my first set of tires, the RFTs(run flat tires)are hard and you feel the bumps; but, that's what Minis do. If you want a soft cushy ride buy something else. This is a drivers car."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great responsive driving

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,954

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun responsive......4 door and hatch entry great"

Cons: "a little small for husbands wheelchair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"...great city car....hiway driving is stable and feel very safe at higher speeds"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching MINI Cooper Countryman near Honolulu. See local deals