Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2012 MINI Cooper Convertible

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 343 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

This is a great car

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. Just did a 500 mile trip (400 hwy/100 city) at got 38.5 mpg for the trip."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car I've ever owned. The only problem is "Winter""

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Too many probs. Expensive repairs.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Too many problems

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Lots of power. 32 MPG average."

Cons: "Codes: P0300 and P0304"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I owned a 2008 Mini Cooper S (6-speed automatic) for 5 1/2 years. I ended up doing a trade in as I didn't have the heart to stick a private party with my problem. A problem from day one (with only 10 miles on the car): The driver's side power window was always flaky. On occasion if I'd close it, it would automatically come back down a few inches. After 30,000 miles the major/costly problems were: 1. Excessive oil consumption. It got worse over time and in the end I was adding one quart every 1,000 miles. 2. Dead battery. The dealer charged me $300. I was told they have to enter new info into the computer...you can't just buy a new battery and replace it on your own. I still question this. 3. At 33,000 miles, four new tires at the dealer...need run flat tires. $1,100. 4. Windshield replacement. A nationally known company told me with MINI they only use OEM parts because they have had too many fit problems in the past. $600+ 5. Two flat tires. Tire shops don't want to deal with run flats. Back to the dealer and their solution was to replace not plug the tires. Tires cost $275 each! 6. Carbon buildup, more than once. 7. Failed fuel injector. It filled #4 cylinder with fuel and fuel was actually coming out of the tail pipe. $1,400 Possible damage to the catalytic converter...ouch! 8. It ran rough after starting it in cold weather. On one occasion I got the low power light. 9. Numerous check engine lights, both red and yellow. NOTE: Red means park the car and get it towed. 10. Stretched timing chain. (dealer wanted $2,000 to fix it) After some research on the internet, I have since learned that the R56 Gen 2 Mini Cooper S, from 2007 to 2010 with the N14 engine is "problematic." Happy Motoring!"

30 people out of 38 found this review helpful

I love my mini

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,737

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Haven't found any,cause I love it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always wanted a Mini Cooper,while my daughter wants a bigger and badder truck. Me I've Always wanted a Mini Cooper and I finally got the chance to buy one,I couldn't afford to buy new but I was able to buy used with low miles I've finally gotten my dream car and I love it"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!!

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,680

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, fast, a real looker!"

Cons: "Seat belt is not made for short people!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car after lusting after Minis for years. I walked into the dealership and bought it without hardly any thought behind it. I am so glad I did. However, I am a fanatic about driving only in good weather (hence the low mileage) so that the other crazy drivers don't mess up my pretty little car. I love everything except one thing about my MINI - I hate the seat belts! I am only 5'2" and the seat belt cuts across my throat to the point where I end up with seat belt burns. I have tried installing the factory seat belt clips but they are cheap and come off easily. I would love to put a five-point harness or something similar in my MINI to get rid of the current seat belt."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

want too upgrade too 2014 with heated leather seat

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,478

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great looks fun driving"

Cons: "no heated seats , no led lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

parked

"great sports car"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

parked

I LOVE IT!!!

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, loud"

Cons: "service to much"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love the sport mode. it has the best sound system."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best ever. This is my 3rd Mini. Want new Mini.

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas price, fun, fun, fun."

Cons: "No gps."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent handling, great gas mileage. Like new. Excellent condition. Like new."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It only looks good

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"If you just like a fast car that looks good and don't mind the discomfort from the noise, the inadequate suspension and high cost of maintenance this is your car but in my opinion you you are better off buying a Japanese car which will give you more bang for your buck and simplicity on the maintenance side. I bought my daughter a Hard top S on September At around 15k miles it had the carbon build up issue which we did not mind cause it was repaired free and the advice to us was to use 91 octane gas instead of 89 octane, we did. At around 64k miles check engine light pop out again, it throw a code of 300, 301 and 304, I changed the sparked plug and 300 and 301 was gone but the 304 persist. I brought it to the dealer they told me its a multiple misfire caused by carbon build up again. I was told to use Chevron or Shell don't just use any brand but you don't see that in the owners manual. I read all the thread in the internet and its unanimous that it mostly happened to S type because of the design in the direct fuel injection system that accumulates the carbon in those intake holes messing up the ignition in the cylinders. The carbon build up will happen many times in the life of your Mini and the only way to remedy it is by walnut shell blasting which cost about $800 a pop. This is not good for a car that has not reach its 100k mark. Even if you use Chevron or Shell this thing will happen but the good thing is it will warn you with engine check light."

20 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Great commuter car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Mini convertible is a super fun car to drive. It gets great gas mileage, handles well, good pick up on hills. Minor negatives - wish the car had armrests for comfort. Armrests are optional equipment and can be added at extra cost. There is also a lot of road noise, but you do get use to it. Overall, I love my Mini!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching MINI Cooper Convertible near Honolulu. See local deals