Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2012 MINI Cooper Convertible

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 312 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Love this car. superfun to drive, cute reliable.

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cute, fun to drive, reliable, great engine, safe"

Cons: "i can feel bumps in the road more than my other ca"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only think i don't like is the feel of the road. There are a lot of potholes where i live and i feel them more in this car than my last car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love it. not very comfortable, but I knew what I was getting in when i bought it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun car when it wasn't in the shop

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Mechanical problems

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Mechanical nightmare"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought brand new. Chain tensioner issues began at 5k. Valve job at 24k. Fuel pump and thermostat replacement. New motor at 54k. Expensive to fix and not reliable. I will never own another BMW product."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car till something goes wrong

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Really fun to drive"

Cons: "Eceptionally expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Really enjoyed this car-fun to drive, pretty good gas mileage, quiet even with the top down. But, at 95000, the transmission went out. Dealer says $8500 for a replacement. My son bought the same car at the same time. His main computer went out with 38000 miles. A $3000 repair. I won't be buying another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FUN car I ever owned

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GO-Kart feel, sophisticated"

Cons: "poor suspension(standard), thermostat issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I love my MINI, so lets get that out of the way. The handling is ridiculous and the fun factor really speaks for itself when driving a MINI. This is my second MINI. I've owned a 2008 Cooper and now this 2011 Cooper S for three years. It's had it's share of ups and downs. The great part has been driving this car on vacation averaging 35mpg combined. The bad part has been the quality of the parts on the car made. I've had a thermostat that needed to be changed at 24k miles, 50k miles rear sway bar endlinks replaced(OEM parts stink), and 54k miles the valve cover needed to be replaced. There are some squeaks and weird rattles that occur at times, you would think for a $27K car it wouldn't be an issue but it is. My friends Focus, 200, and Escape has better quality than poorly made suspension on the car. I love my MINI, but it has been a love-hate relationship. I'm at my whits with this car, I'm thinking of fixing the rattle from the suspension. But I'm also thinking of trading it in for a 135i this summer."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great high performance little car. Not for bigs.

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, fun car. Great convenience features"

Cons: "Tires are run flats and don't last long."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Third mini. Liked them all. Turbo gets better gas mileage than 2005 w/supercharger. Timing chain guides backed out but all under warranty. Left front brake caliper seized and required new one as well as new rotors and pads. Need to keep close tabs on engine oil. Electronics very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have EVER owned.

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price. Fun to drive. Reliable. Comfortable."

Cons: "Back seat & cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No reliability issues. Great performance. Have 6-speed and love it - excellent acceleration. Exterior paint looks like new & it's a 2008. Have driven cross country and back in great comfort. Takes the winds in Oklahoma like they are not there. Front seats very comfortable. Climate control excellent. This wonderful vehicle is a 1-2 person auto. The only disadvantage is cargo room - hate having to put down back seat to have space for excess cargo transport. Difficult to access back seats from front doors and the back seats basically serve no purpose except to transport pets - they, however, must enter from rear of car. 'Course I recognized this when I purchased the Mini. I STILL LOVE THE CAR!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car is so much fun. Great pick up

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Fun to drive. Great pickup. Does not feel small"

Cons: "Passenger must be agile to get in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love to drive this car and it is perfect for the island on which I live. I am a nervous driver, but do not feel anymore intimidated driving on the interstate than I did with my Honda Passport. I can zip around things more quickly - it so quick. Car feels solid. Friends have remarked that it does not feel like driving in a small car."

super fun car with pep and mpg

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great little car and easy to handle"

more fun to drive than my 2011 mustang

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price pep"

Cons: "the don't hall alot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 50 years old and owned my share of cars but this one is my favorite So far very reliable and very fun to drive everyone should at least test drive one of any year they are nice cars"

more fun to drive than my 2011 mustang

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price pep"

Cons: "the don't hall alot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 50 years old and owned my share of cars but this one is my favorite So far very reliable and very fun to drive everyone should at least test drive one of any year they are nice cars"

GREAT little car!!!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent handling, fun to drive, well built and great gas mileage - an outstanding value. Still have the original clutch."

Fast Car

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love Love Love my Mini. The only thing I do not like is when it rains. I do not use the Mini, its very slick on the roads. Virginia Beach, VA the weather is pretty good 90% of the time, so it is a great vehicle"

I love this car. Driving this car is always fun!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good: Every dealer I have dealt with in fixing anything or routine service has been amazing. I had financial issues and needed something fixed and I got a discount rate. Bad: The apple connection cord is tiny."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My most car fun to drive

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive and pretty economical at 31 mpg"

Cons: "Stiff ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first car in high school was a VW Beetle and this has that same small car feel with a lot more power and handling. It will run like a top at 90+ MPH and you don't realize you are going that fast but the cops will! The ride is tight and you feel every bump but that is the price you pay for great handling. The interior is rather spartan but heated seats are great in the winter. I had a 2008 Cooper S until a truck crushed it. The JCW is much more fun to drive with better brakes, suspension and more power. MINI service has been very good and recalls and warranty have covered most of the work. I will be concerned about price when I have to pay the bill myself. The front brakes have been squeaky and I have had them replaced twice in 49K miles. Once on warranty and once on recall. I have a very light brake foot so it is not like I slam on the brakes much."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great fun car to drive. Go cart on steroids

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You have to ownone at least one time in your life. Cheers"

Great, fun car, pricey with all options

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, fast, corners well, very roomy, svc warrany"

Cons: "Blind spot, noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Big blind spot with top up, little noisy, as well. Accessories (windscreen, spare key,) very pricey. Terrific fun quotient and extra responsive in "s" mode. Love these cars"

My impressions for the Hardtop Mini Manul Trani

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Performance, gas sipper, fun to drive"

Cons: "road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a super fun car for the single individuals. Awsome on gas and performance. Handling is great. Price is reasonable. For a basic car it comes with a lot of features. I purchased this car with the cold weather package and panaromic roof. The only thing that I dislike about this little bug is road noise. Love the stereo sound quality for a basic sound system is not so basic. the HD radio is awsome."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "A blast to drive and easy to park"

Cons: "Cabin noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good car for city (San Francisco) driving. Also very comfortable on long drives. Cabin noise is moderate to high. Great visibility. Although small this is a safe and safe feeling car. Overall wonderful car."

A Totally Fun 3 season car

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fun to drive"

Cons: "poor visibility w/top up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Can't help enjoying the outdoors, fresh air and peaceful feeling driving this car on country roads. So far, totally reliable with zero issues other than a replaced break light strip in the rear. Wish it had better visibility with top up. Refused to give it up after a 3 year lease and bought it."

Great drive, mechanics has issues

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive."

Cons: "Has spent most of its life being repaired."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car is so much fun to drive it's hard to describe. That being said, the car has mechanical issues I find hard to live with. 20K - new clutch. Told this is not uncommon. 28K - water pump recall. 32K - timing chain tensioner failed and then a recall was issued the next month. 32K - complained about using quart of oil for 600 miles - told it is not uncommon to use a quart every 300 miles - AND there is no low light! Dealer told me it was my responsibility to check the oil weekly. At 300 miles a quart, daily is more like it. 33K - new wheel hub b/c someone - not me, inspection station or tire dealer - cross threaded wheel studs. I owned a cheap Cavalier for 100K and had no problems at all! The dealer just shrugs and charges high prices. My mechanic of 30 years doesn't even want me to bring it over. So disappointed. I have two other BMWs - X3 and 335i - that we love. I really wanted to like this car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sports car dynamics and econobox mpg

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Quick go kart handling 32mpg BMW quality"

Cons: "High maintenance. 3100rpm @ 75 in top gear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Best handling car i've owned and hard to drive slowly. Lots of low end torque. Comfortable for two and the rear seats are almost worthless. Averaged 32mpg on 91 octane fuel and has been pretty much trouble free. She is a high maintenance girl though but rewards you with the quick and nimble handling, especially on mountain roads. Hard to recommend because of the polarizing styling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

fun to drive.....excellent reliability

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive....good mileage"

Cons: "If you want a cushy ride....pass on the MINI"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have the 6 speed manual transmission with the turbo-engine....it is a go-kart with pizzazz!"

2nd to worst car I ever owned !

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Mechanical issues

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Fun to drive when it runs correctly"

Cons: "Too many major mech. issues to list in 50 letter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my Mini brand new in 2007, it was garage kept, washed weekly and maintained better than mini specs. It was nothing but problems ! It always rattled when I first started it, leaks oil, and antifreeze I spend major money trying to fix the car because it was fun to drive. The last straw was when the timing chain tensioner issue a.k.a the death rattle stopped the car in its tracks. I put in on a roll back and sent it to the dealer for repair. They did the timing chain recall but did not replace the bent valves which were a product of the tensioner issue. I would stay away from this car or hope the dealer in your area is honest."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great price, ride, look, fuel economy, etc!

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The car is a blast!!!"

Cons: "You can't have 4 tall people in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving my 2010 MINI Cooper Hardtop (base), 6 - speed manual transmission. I drive 90 miles daily on the highway for my commute, and am getting closer to 41 mpg. The car accelerates promptly if you have it in the right gear and learn how to get the most out of the car...it really helps to connect with other MINI drivers out there to get the most from this car. People rave about it for a reason.I love driving my 2010 MINI Cooper Hardtop (base), 6 - speed manual transmission. I drive 90 miles daily on the highway for my commute, and am getting closer to 41 mpg. The car accelerates promptly if you have it in the right gear and learn how to get the most out of the car...it really helps to connect with other MINI drivers out there to get the most from this car. People rave about it for a reason. The interior is certainly small, but for two people, it is perfect. It isn't a family car, but it is phenomenal for a couple. Some have commented on a very complex control scheme, which it is, but once you learn it, it makes so much sense. It is a perfect blend of user interface and style. Few cars possess the finesse that MINI has brought to the road. It is worth the price because although the service/maintenance can be on the very pricey side, they use quality products and 1 oil change lasts almost 10,000 miles (depending on how you drive it). It can be a bumpy ride, but it is a small car. It is sporty, and having that stiff suspension is part of the package....I tell ya...whipping around in my car on an actual go-kart track is the greatest experience......that's where the car TRULY shines. But it makes the country roads a blast too! It's not bad in the winter either. Like I mentioned, 90 miles a day...and I drive through NY winters."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My video 

See it whip around!

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching MINI Cooper Convertible near Honolulu. See local deals