Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2012 MINI Cooper Convertible

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 312 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next

Love this car. superfun to drive, cute reliable.

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cute, fun to drive, reliable, great engine, safe"

Cons: "i can feel bumps in the road more than my other ca"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only think i don't like is the feel of the road. There are a lot of potholes where i live and i feel them more in this car than my last car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love it. not very comfortable, but I knew what I was getting in when i bought it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun car when it wasn't in the shop

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Mechanical problems

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Mechanical nightmare"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought brand new. Chain tensioner issues began at 5k. Valve job at 24k. Fuel pump and thermostat replacement. New motor at 54k. Expensive to fix and not reliable. I will never own another BMW product."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car till something goes wrong

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Really fun to drive"

Cons: "Eceptionally expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Really enjoyed this car-fun to drive, pretty good gas mileage, quiet even with the top down. But, at 95000, the transmission went out. Dealer says $8500 for a replacement. My son bought the same car at the same time. His main computer went out with 38000 miles. A $3000 repair. I won't be buying another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FUN car I ever owned

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GO-Kart feel, sophisticated"

Cons: "poor suspension(standard), thermostat issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I love my MINI, so lets get that out of the way. The handling is ridiculous and the fun factor really speaks for itself when driving a MINI. This is my second MINI. I've owned a 2008 Cooper and now this 2011 Cooper S for three years. It's had it's share of ups and downs. The great part has been driving this car on vacation averaging 35mpg combined. The bad part has been the quality of the parts on the car made. I've had a thermostat that needed to be changed at 24k miles, 50k miles rear sway bar endlinks replaced(OEM parts stink), and 54k miles the valve cover needed to be replaced. There are some squeaks and weird rattles that occur at times, you would think for a $27K car it wouldn't be an issue but it is. My friends Focus, 200, and Escape has better quality than poorly made suspension on the car. I love my MINI, but it has been a love-hate relationship. I'm at my whits with this car, I'm thinking of fixing the rattle from the suspension. But I'm also thinking of trading it in for a 135i this summer."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching MINI Cooper Convertible near Honolulu. See local deals